AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2003, 08:05 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

Unhappy 8rda+ lost all FSB cabability over 133

Yes this does sound weird

I've run my system totally stable @ 200 fsb for the past 2 months or so but now something REALLY strange came up.

I was playin some games when it suddenly crashed (1st time in these 2 months i've had this board) and when I rebooted it just gave e bluescreen on boot devices not found etc etc. Then I finally dropped clocks to standard and ta-daa - it works.

Next I pushed the FSB up - same thing again, registry errors etc, barely got to windows and then bluescreen.

Then I tried pulling my 1700+ as far as i could on 133 FSB using multipliers and it clocked normally (past speed & voltages as reference point)

So it is NOT
a. a cooling issue, cpu temperature is zub-zero
b. a dyingcpu issue as it hasn't lost its potential

I suspect:
a. a faulty memory stick
b. another nforce2 breakdown (yes, i've had some)

It just amazes me that I did no config changes, didn't even physically touch the hardware when all this happened

Naturally I've tried with various bios settins etc etc
__________________
Athlon XP 1700+ @ 1890 mhz @ 2.31 volts | Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2003, 08:06 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

It sounds like something broke.

Im also thinking the board or memory, got any spares ?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2003, 08:22 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

Not yet but I can test the stuff over at my mate's place. Now took the evaporator off and switched to air cooling, it runs nice and steady @ default clocks now
__________________
Athlon XP 1700+ @ 1890 mhz @ 2.31 volts | Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2003, 08:37 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

if you're running more than one stick of memory try removing some.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd

Last edited by flytek; 17th May, 2003 at 08:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2003, 09:11 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

Only one stick, I'm quite confident its the faulty piece now. After writing that last post it crashed, then got no mem check at all, booted, after that came a booblock bios promt, booted, after that nothing.

Then I went to sauna & shower and when I came back I booted just to see if mirracles happen and they sure do, it booted up normally.
__________________
Athlon XP 1700+ @ 1890 mhz @ 2.31 volts | Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2003, 09:45 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

lol - nice work. how much vdimm had you applied and what brand mem?
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2003, 09:51 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

they've been running on 2.9 volts since new It's just some cheap OEM with samsung chips
__________________
Athlon XP 1700+ @ 1890 mhz @ 2.31 volts | Epox 8KHA+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2003, 11:42 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

My Corsair PC3500 just died on me, I was running it @2,9V for a few month....
Dammit...
You could see if ur Mem is faulty by using memtest or something.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost Strongwolf CRASHED! 20 2nd April, 2007 06:41 PM
WU lost chrisbard ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 46 31st December, 2004 02:56 AM
To those who lost a GF4 on 8RDA+ Caper EPoX MotherBoards 37 22nd December, 2002 03:49 AM
How I lost £180 loop Betty's Rants and Rages 12 28th May, 2002 10:37 PM
£130 !!!! Get lost M$ Holst OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 30th January, 2002 07:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0