AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

8KHA+ problem

Just recieved a new 8KHA+ an having reboot problems even with 8KHAL00 bios. When it trys to resart it goes straight to ff. Tried reset button an nothing happens.(no reboot) Have to use power button an hold it in till it shuts off. Hit power button again, it may resart or not an have to got thru same procedure to shut down. It may take a couple time but it will resart. This at default not overclocked. (133 fsb) Have tried 3 different bios's an same situation. Not quite as easy as 8K7A+ was to install an use, but sure it can be fixed just need a little help. I am back to the beta bios now.

400watt antec +5v-5.11 +12v 12.28
__________________

Last edited by WinXP; 13th December, 2001 at 07:00 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 09:04 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Could you check to see if this problem is still apparent when powering the board on top of a book outside of the case using a short across terminals to power the board.

This can prove if the case or front panel connectors are an issue in this instance.

Please note that the 5v rail meausrement of 5.11v may not be of any relevance. 5v rail importance is related to current strength and current stability - not just voltage level.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 02:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

I believe the problem is a heat issue on mobo. I noticed last night if I shutdown an left off for a few minutes , it would boot fine. This morning when powering up no problem an restart 4 times no problem. But after 30 minutes it will not reboot without going to ff an not restarting. Shut down for a few minutes an will boot ok , just can't do a restart. I am water cooling so there are no fans blowing on mobo, will put some fans blowing on mobo today an see if problem disappears.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 03:08 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Give us some information regarding your CPU and motherboard temperatures at load and idle states?????


Paul.K

PS It does sound like a temperature related problem. Do you have your waterblock properly installed on top of your CPU....
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

There is a black chip at upper left hand corner of motherboard. It is about a 1" long an 3/8" wide. Has cs5301 marked on it. I measured temp of it with a digital probe an temp was 73c. I have put a 60 mm ys tech fan blowing on it an now not having any reboot issues. So far running 175fsb. Cooling this chip has stoped my not rebooting problem so far. Been running for an hour now an will restart every time before after 15 minutes it would not restart. Have not remeasure temp of chip yet.
__________________

Last edited by WinXP; 13th December, 2001 at 08:06 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 08:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

Well this is one crazy mobo. My reboot problems are gone, everytime I do a restart. It boots up fine even from bios. It will max the fsb options at 210fsb an run an reboot fine at 210fsb.

I disconnected the fan blowing on the cs5301 chip an rebooting problems started all over again at default speed. Now have it reconnected an blowing on cs5301 an reboots fine. This chip get to hot an maybe the rebooting problems I have read about.

http://www.geocities.com/winxp/Bench...?1008300052759
__________________

Last edited by WinXP; 14th December, 2001 at 04:46 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 08:30 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Does the manual tell you what the chip is for?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 08:32 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Hi WinXP,

Now the chip in question is the voltage regulator chip (CS5301). Yes this chip does run hot after a while, however your temperature reading of 72C is way to hot. There is only one explanation for this, have you performed the Vcore mod on this chip. The extra current from the Vcore mod to pin 2 could be the cause of the extra heat you are encountering. I would also recommend placing a small heatsink (e.g modified ramsink) onto this chip and then have the fan blowing onto the heatsink. Also WinXP what is your temperatures of your CPU and mainboard from your hardware monitoring software....


Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 08:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

I have performed no vcore mod on this mobo, I just recieved it yesterday afternoon an installed an loaded win 2000. My vcore max in mbm5 is 1.89v.

Mobo temp 35c idle 41c load
Mainboard 32c
amibent 28c
__________________

Last edited by WinXP; 13th December, 2001 at 10:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8kha+ c1 problem Munro EPoX MotherBoards 2 19th February, 2003 12:42 PM
8kha+ fsb oc'ing problem Azhreal EPoX MotherBoards 13 12th January, 2003 12:28 AM
8KHA+ FF problem ;/ chris1337 EPoX MotherBoards 1 30th December, 2002 08:05 PM
Problem with 8kha AmbientFiction EPoX MotherBoards 0 7th April, 2002 05:38 PM
Big Problem With Gf4 And 8kha+ The Spyder EPoX MotherBoards 4 6th March, 2002 11:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0