AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

agp apeture 8rda+ radeon 9700

well, crashed again, after vdd mod this time. would someone please remind me what the best setting is for agp aperture in bios for 8rda+ with a radeon 9700 pro. i thought it was 128, but can't remember. currently at 64, getting all kinds of problems, but after upping fsb, vdd voltage, etc. it could be any number of things. sig is current.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

i dont think agp aperture size has anything to do with your instibility, but ive heard either 128 or 64
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 07:40 AM
n00by's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Far East
Posts: 26

Sounds like a IRQ conflict. Some pci slots share agp slot irq so see so check manuel and see which pci is sharing and change it to another slot.

Also might wanna try disableing the palette to vga option in bios and see if that helps. AGP aperture size is irrelevant to instability. Ive even heard that the higher the aperture the better it runs....
__________________
Epox 8rda3+
AMD 3000+ Barton
Thermalright SLK-800
512MB Corsair XMS 3200LL
FIC 9800 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 08:57 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

I have mine set at 256, Im sure the EPoX tech told me to do that! Anyways, it didn't seem to make any difference over 128!
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 11:21 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

set AGP aperture to 256MB.

Check that the IDE controller has its own IRQ.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 12:38 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Generally double your graphics memory is a good place to start, so I run 256 on 9700.

But you may want to experiment with different settings, setting too high or low can cause instability.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2003, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

thx for the responses. radeon at irq 19 by itself. set agp aperture to 256 and improved somewhat. probs are apparent when a prog tries to load new page or 3d especially. acting like memory is the prob, so decreased fsb slightly and will burn into the higher fsb settings slowly. hopefully i didn't do the vdd mod for nothing.
note: wrote down all my bios settings so won't have to bug people again.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2003, 05:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

went back and looked. IDE controller and USB host are both on 21. can you point me in right direction to fix this.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2003, 08:54 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

(PCI) 21 NVIDIA(R) nForce(TM) Audio Codec Interface
(PCI) 21 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
(PCI) 21 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller

(ISA) 14 Primary IDE Channel
(ISA) 15 Secondary IDE Channel

You have the NVIDIA IDE miniport controllers installed don't you?
You really need to roll back to the Windows IDE controllers!
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x



Last edited by jimbobaggies; 5th June, 2003 at 08:59 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big Problem with Radeon 9700 Pro and 8RDA!!!! Please help! Trooper Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 16th October, 2003 02:17 AM
gamma problem Radeon 9700 & 8RDA+ r1.1 due to AGP driver ?? Sylvester EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd April, 2003 11:22 PM
Epox 8RDA+ nForce2 and Radeon 9700 pro problem Nick EPoX MotherBoards 9 7th March, 2003 02:38 PM
8RDA+..problems with Radeon 9700 drivers Omypoo EPoX MotherBoards 6 24th December, 2002 06:19 PM
?@Radeon 9700 and 8RDA+ JNav89GT EPoX MotherBoards 2 10th December, 2002 08:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0