AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2003, 10:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 43

com port

has anybody had any problems with the com ports. i am using a smart card programmer and winexplorer...i get a lot of time out errors or problems with the reader and com1. have tried the reader in another pc w/ no problems. any ideas.


thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 08:34 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

What motherboard are you using ?

EP-BXB-S ?
EP-3VBM ?
EP-4PCA3+ ?


A clue to your system setup would really help to get the ball rolling for you :clown:
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 03:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 43

com woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
What motherboard are you using ?

EP-BXB-S ?
EP-3VBM ?
EP-4PCA3+ ?


A clue to your system setup would really help to get the ball rolling for you :clown:
sorry about that, using 8rda+ (3129 bios) w/ xp2700 @11x220 5,2,2,2.0
corsair pc3500, radeon 9800 pro
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 03:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 15

I am having the exact same problem. let me know if you are able to fix it. I am using 8rda+ 3609 bios, have twinmos/winbond 256 * 2 pc3200, radeon 9700 pro, and running xp2100+ at 200 * 10.5.

edit: I tried with system at normal settings (not overclocked) and I still get the errors on both com ports.

edit: I also tried a fresh install of win xp
__________________

Last edited by brens; 23rd June, 2003 at 04:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 43

com port

Quote:
Originally Posted by brens
I am having the exact same problem. let me know if you are able to fix it. I am using 8rda+ 3609 bios, have twinmos/winbond 256 * 2 pc3200, radeon 9700 pro, and running xp2100+ at 200 * 10.5.

edit: I tried with system at normal settings (not overclocked) and y still get the errors on both com ports.

finally, somebody that feels my pain. have tried everything from stock settings to a fresh install of win xp. still having problems...

epox please help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 02:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 15

any updates epox tech?

edit: have read on some testing sites( i don't know if I can post, so I won't) that this is happening to people with nforce2 boards.
__________________

Last edited by brens; 25th June, 2003 at 02:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 02:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 43

com port

Quote:
Originally Posted by brens
any updates epox tech?
i will be buying a usb to serial adapter so that i can use my smartcard reader.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 03:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtymabel1
i will be buying a usb to serial adapter so that i can use my smartcard reader.
let me know if that works for you because in the meantime all nforce2 users are SOL. It appears to be an issue with the high baud rate (115200).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 06:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 17

The problem is ACPI and APIC option in bios.......

You must disable these in the bios, the bad part is you must reinstall the OS......

1. Disable ACPI and APIC in bios

2. Format and reinstall OS.....

3. Comm ports will now work correctly.....
__________________

Last edited by alabam; 27th June, 2003 at 07:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 43

apic is disabled, acpi is not. would hate to do another fresh install. could i repair the windows install
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 43

answered my own question, yes it works...thanks for the fix guys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2003, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtymabel1
answered my own question, yes it works...thanks for the fix guys.

My com port now works fine with just APIC disabled, I still have ACPI enabled.

Epox Tech, why must APIC be disabled, nothing changed in the irq assignment to the com port after I switch from APIC to non APIC. What gives?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hub uplink port GrahamGarside General Hardware Discussion 7 8th October, 2004 04:41 AM
Port Program Microgers87 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 9 26th November, 2003 10:34 AM
Silly old PCI port johntaylor Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 21 17th February, 2003 02:39 PM
Belkin 4 port KVM- The Spyder Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 21st August, 2002 09:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0