AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 10:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 5

8RDA RAM Problem

Hey all.

I just built my new rig:

Epox 8RDA
XP 2200+
2*256mb 2100 generic DDR (CAS 2.5)

The comp will post fine with one stick of RAM in the first dimm slot. When I try to put the second in either the 2nd or 3rd slots the comp wont post.
I've tried both sticks by themselves and they both work fine.
I've also tried running a single stick in the 3rd and second slots and the comp will once again not boot.

Do I need to change bios settings?
Could it be a mobo problem :S ?
Or is it because of my cheap generic ram and the all so fussy Nforce 2 chipset ?

BTW- I don't have any other ram to test it with *sigh*

Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 10:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

Go into the bios and change your memory timings to 7-3-3 at cas 2.5, add voltage to the memory, default is 2.5 v, go to 2.63 or 2.77 volts, save and exit bios, retest.
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 10:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally posted by golfer49
Go into the bios and change your memory timings to 7-3-3 at cas 2.5, add voltage to the memory, default is 2.5 v, go to 2.63 or 2.77 volts, save and exit bios, retest.
I'll give it a go.

Is this a common problem ?

Thank you so much - :beer:
__________________

Last edited by ZIzani; 22nd June, 2003 at 10:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 12:14 AM
mcvpjd3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 1

Sounds like the same problem I have.

Are you sure it's safe to up the voltage on the RAM?

Regards
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 01:16 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Any voltage below 1.90 should have little or no effect on the life span of your RAM. Above that it slowly degrades it as setting go up. I run at 1.95 for stability in overclocking. How long do you want your RAM to last? I feel mine should be good for two or three years, well beyond my need of it.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 12:16 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

I think he meant 2.9v
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 06:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 8

I'm having the exact same problem, I've made a thread about it...I have 2*512mb PC2100 DDR266, I get a 'C1' error when I use DIMMs 2 or 3. Glad to hear my board isn't bust!

What settings should I be aiming for?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie_Manic
I'm having the exact same problem, I've made a thread about it...I have 2*512mb PC2100 DDR266, I get a 'C1' error when I use DIMMs 2 or 3. Glad to hear my board isn't bust!

What settings should I be aiming for?
Yea- can someone reccomend settings for us ?


Jamie- e-mail Epox tech support and ask them for a fix. I tried but because I bought my board from Komplett it's not under epox warranty .
__________________

Last edited by ZIzani; 23rd June, 2003 at 07:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ 2.1 AND O/C problem WinterX EPoX MotherBoards 0 13th February, 2005 12:55 PM
8RDA+ and FSB problem Axel EPoX MotherBoards 0 11th April, 2004 12:16 PM
8RDA+ problem chrislip EPoX MotherBoards 3 6th December, 2003 08:52 PM
8rda+ problem? or cpu problem? m1ke101 EPoX MotherBoards 4 15th May, 2003 09:58 AM
8RDA+ Lan problem quietmike EPoX MotherBoards 8 23rd April, 2003 05:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0