AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2003, 10:07 PM
Veky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 269
Send a message via ICQ to Veky Send a message via AIM to Veky Send a message via MSN to Veky Send a message via Yahoo to Veky

TwinMOS PC3200 ram

with TwinMOS chips on it, is it any good?

__________________
Epox 8RDA3+ Pro
AthlonXP-M 2500+ @ 2.45GHz (11 x 225)
2 x 1024MB PC3200 Geil Value
PNY GeForce 6800GT
Seagate 250GB SATA
Tagan 430W PSU
Windows XP SP2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2003, 10:40 PM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

depends what your definition of 'good' is...

My chips run great... I can go as high at 440mhz with 2x256 sticks at 2-2-3-5...
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2003, 10:46 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Using Winbonds BH5 or CH5 chips, they simply rock.
U can easily achieve 220Mhz with fastest timings - theyare quite cheap but they seriously beat some more expensive ram!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 12:41 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

I'm pleased to see some people are getting over 200Mhz with their TwinMos/Winbond modules. I cant seem to get past 200 just yet, but they are only 2 days old so maybe with some burn in they'll go to 220!? Time to loop 3DMk01.

Laz
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 01:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to chiyau

i am using the BH5 ram and currently at 210*10 2.8v. 2-2-2-6 timings. got some nice akasa ram heatspreaders to keep them cool.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 01:40 AM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

of course most of them need 2,9V to run at 220Mhz with fastest timings
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 04:01 AM
MasterAtArms's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 700

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiyau
i am using the BH5 ram and currently at 210*10 2.8v. 2-2-2-6 timings. got some nice akasa ram heatspreaders to keep them cool.
I got some heatspreaders but my RAM is single sided. Can you use heatspreaders on single sider ram? Have they helped overclocking?
__________________
My regards and Specs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 07:22 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

What about the 5ns TMD's 2.5CL, cant get the CH5's and BH5's here... though there are DDR333 CH-6 chips available.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 07:45 AM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

Quote:
Originally Posted by ral
What about the 5ns TMD's 2.5CL, cant get the CH5's and BH5's here... though there are DDR333 CH-6 chips available.
my TMD's can hit 440mhz at CAS 2,2,3,5 at 2.77v

my BH-5 can get up to 430mhz at CAS 2,2,2,5 at 2.77v

I think it's mostly luck of the draw and a good burn-in...
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 07:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 28

I have both the TMD 50B and the Winbond CH-5. I've tested them on my 8K5A2+, which is KT333 and probably isn't the best board for using high-speed PC3200+ RAM with, but right now it's all I've got as I'm in the middle of waiting for an upgrade.

Anyway, I tested the 50B in my Intel 845PE board before I sold it and it was stable at 200 with 2-3-2-5 @ 2.7V. It would not do it with less voltage, so I'm pretty sure it wasn't going much farther on that board.

Anyway, I tried it in the 8K5A2+ (locked CPU so 40/80 PCI/AGP) and at 2-3-2-5 @ 2.8V it would lock hard at post and show a corrupt Energy Star logo. The CH-5 however would do 2-3-2-5 @ 2.8V and run memtest86 all day. It would fail at 406 however.

Basically, this isn't the most robust testing since I'm limited by my hardware options, but I would definately say the CH-5 is better. I tested 5 sticks of 50B and 4 of the CH-5, and the CH-5 was much more reliable in terms of OC.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to chiyau

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterAtArms
I got some heatspreaders but my RAM is single sided. Can you use heatspreaders on single sider ram? Have they helped overclocking?
The Akasa HeatSpreaders has a spacer included in package which is used on the side of the ram with the chips so when the 2 heatspreaders are joined together they will ensure a perfect fit.

setting me ram to 2.8v makes it warm so adding the spreaders should help it, i've not tried clocking higher atm but i decide to increase voltage to 3.0v, at least i know it will be sufficiantly cooled.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 12:22 PM
Veky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 269
Send a message via ICQ to Veky Send a message via AIM to Veky Send a message via MSN to Veky Send a message via Yahoo to Veky

So like, should I tell my friend to or not to buy it?
__________________
Epox 8RDA3+ Pro
AthlonXP-M 2500+ @ 2.45GHz (11 x 225)
2 x 1024MB PC3200 Geil Value
PNY GeForce 6800GT
Seagate 250GB SATA
Tagan 430W PSU
Windows XP SP2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 12:53 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Winbond chips are always a good choice. But I would rather go with some BH5 chips because they like 5-2-2-2 and the CH5 often need 5-2-3-2 to run flawlessly.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 12:58 PM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcool
Winbond chips are always a good choice. But I would rather go with some BH5 chips because they like 5-2-2-2 and the CH5 often need 5-2-3-2 to run flawlessly.
difference from TRCD of 2 to 3 isn't all that huge... At least not enough to make or break a purchase decision imo...
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 01:29 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Additionally, there are some known issues with CH5 chips
The BH5 is "guaranteed" to run flawlessly in any mobo...
My pal bought some CH5 for his Canterwood Board and it wouldn't even run 210 without crashing. After putting his BH5 back it, all was well again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 01:30 PM
MasterAtArms's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 700

A review I like to quote:
http://www.vr-zone.com/reviews/TwinMOS/PC3700-3200/

The review says in the conclusion that the pc3700 is suited to intel boards which don't benifit from tight timings rather high FSB at low timing. The CH-5 is the one recommended for tight timing, with high FSB. BH-5 is not included in the review, only TMD -50D which is twinmos own brand I believe.
__________________
My regards and Specs

Last edited by MasterAtArms; 29th June, 2003 at 01:38 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 05:20 PM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

I have the Twinmoss own brand I believe, these ones from komplett.co.uk, timings in my signature will also run at 190fsb stable.

Can't wait to get the Vmod done!!
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 09:58 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

jimbobaggies, your memory should and will run at 190FSB as its designed for 200FSB. Will your board not let you get to 200FSB?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah

Last edited by Lazgoat; 29th June, 2003 at 10:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 10:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

My TMD chips runs pretty good on 8RDA+
220 fsb fastest timings stable.
Just got a pair of Corsair XMS 3500 C2 wich cannot achive it on 8RDA+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 12:14 AM
MasterAtArms's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 700

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterAtArms
A review I like to quote:
TMD -50D which is twinmos own brand I believe.
TMD -50D is the standard twinmos pc3200 with twinmos chips part, see here:
http://www.techconnect.nl/modules.ph...t&id=43&page=3

Slough of memory reviews:
http://www.amdboard.com/ddr400.html
__________________
My regards and Specs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TwinMOS pc3200 komis General Hardware Discussion 3 22nd September, 2003 04:30 PM
Twinmos PC3200 and 8RDA+ Epox Maniac EPoX MotherBoards 11 16th May, 2003 01:17 PM
twinmos pc3200 and 8rda+ lonegun EPoX MotherBoards 6 22nd March, 2003 06:13 PM
TwinMOS PC3200 Borich EPoX MotherBoards 3 19th March, 2003 09:22 PM
Twinmos 256MB PC3200 w/ Twinmos chips on 8RDA+... Swifty2002 EPoX MotherBoards 9 27th February, 2003 05:46 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0