AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 10:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 25

4PCA3+ and 4PDA2+ REV2.0

I heard that epox starts 4PCA3+ and 4PDA2+ REV2.0 shipping soon, True? and Vcore adjust is better too? can i use rev2.0 bios in rev1.0 mobo? I hope so..or new bios to 4pda2+ whit better Vcore settings, 1.52V is too low. 1.6V in bios is truely 1.52V
__________________
2.4C@3600MHz 1.52V *Water*
Epox 4PDA2+
2*Corsair PC3500 256Mb 3.2V DDR467 Cas 2-5-2-2
R9700 Pro 400/350 no mod´s *AIR*
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 89
Send a message via ICQ to -CTPAX-

Dont trust too much on the readings, my 12v line shows 11.55v and is infact 12.05, checked with multimeter.
__________________
P4 2.4@3.3 (18x275, 1.55v) EpoX 4PCA3+ rev.1.2, 2x256 DDR450@440 A-Data (5:4, 2.5-7-3-3)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 08:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 25

I allways check voltages whit multimeter, Mem and CPU voltages..i dont trust bios or mbm etc readings.
__________________
2.4C@3600MHz 1.52V *Water*
Epox 4PDA2+
2*Corsair PC3500 256Mb 3.2V DDR467 Cas 2-5-2-2
R9700 Pro 400/350 no mod´s *AIR*
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 11:22 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

There are already BIOSes for 4PCA3+ and 4PDA2+ that support rev. 2.0 PCB, and there is no change in the max VCore so don't hold your breath for a new BIOS with more VCore.
Thing is, the rev. 2.0 of these boards only add support for Willamette CPUs, nothing more.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 89
Send a message via ICQ to -CTPAX-

Well, i still hope there will be a bios with more vcore. This easy can make both boards the best overclockers available...
__________________
P4 2.4@3.3 (18x275, 1.55v) EpoX 4PCA3+ rev.1.2, 2x256 DDR450@440 A-Data (5:4, 2.5-7-3-3)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 11:53 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Try telling that to the people at EPoX Taiwan.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 11:54 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Quote:
Originally Posted by -CTPAX-
Well, i still hope there will be a bios with more vcore. This easy can make both boards the best overclockers available...
There is a strictly beta bios on this forum which adds more vcore so it is possible todo. and i would of thought the willamette cpu's need the extra core V dont they ?
I'd also agree moniter settings are usually naff, trust what you set it at to be what it is from my experience of delving in with multi meters

K
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 11:59 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Yes, there is a BIOS, but lack the improvements of the latest official releases.
As for the Willamete, yes, it does require 1.750V default, but if you use a Northwood, you'll still be limmited to 1.60V max
Let's all spam the guys at EPoX Taiwan for a new BIOS with volts (just kidding).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 12:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 89
Send a message via ICQ to -CTPAX-

If that helps why not :-))

I wonder do the guys at Epox Taiwan realize, that this only setting (the Vcore) is considered a big drawback in every review of the Epox boards, and this produces a bad image of an otherwise exellent mobo.

Oh well, i suppose they know this better than me :-))
__________________
P4 2.4@3.3 (18x275, 1.55v) EpoX 4PCA3+ rev.1.2, 2x256 DDR450@440 A-Data (5:4, 2.5-7-3-3)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 01:33 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I doubt they do realise that a higher VCore and some optimizations to the memory speed(a la IC7) would put the 4PCA3+ on top of Canterwood boards.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 05:51 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

It is about compliance with VRM9 or 10, not overclocking.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2003, 10:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 57

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
It is about compliance with VRM9 or 10, not overclocking.
It seams that VRM9 mode if for older CPU's and 10 for newer.
Epox chose to put VRD10 mode for both CPU's,and the max output of VRD10 is 1.6v
The max output of VRM9 is 1.85v
Still trying to mod thing thing

Edit: Acording to my m8 @ Epox, when rev 2.0 is released to the market, a beta bios will be released w more vcore.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2003, 06:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 89
Send a message via ICQ to -CTPAX-

Does this mean that the boards from other manifacturers, which support Vcore up to 1.85-1.95 also with the 800fsb cpus, are VRM9 and not VRM10 compliant?
__________________
P4 2.4@3.3 (18x275, 1.55v) EpoX 4PCA3+ rev.1.2, 2x256 DDR450@440 A-Data (5:4, 2.5-7-3-3)

Last edited by -CTPAX-; 8th July, 2003 at 07:15 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2003, 08:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 25

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracula

Edit: Acording to my m8 @ Epox, when rev 2.0 is released to the market, a beta bios will be released w more vcore.
Can i use Rev 2.0 bios in rev 1.0 board?
__________________
2.4C@3600MHz 1.52V *Water*
Epox 4PDA2+
2*Corsair PC3500 256Mb 3.2V DDR467 Cas 2-5-2-2
R9700 Pro 400/350 no mod´s *AIR*
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4PDA2+ rev2 first OC seren EPoX MotherBoards 1 11th February, 2004 05:14 AM
4PDA2+ rev2 usdm/mbm5 seren EPoX MotherBoards 2 9th February, 2004 10:56 PM
4PDA2+ rev2 SATA? seren EPoX MotherBoards 0 2nd February, 2004 12:28 AM
High CPU Temperature on 4PDA2+ Rev2 stebro EPoX MotherBoards 4 12th January, 2004 05:33 PM
HELP! epox 4pca3+ rev1.0 & 4pca3+ rev2.0 crazyfied EPoX MotherBoards 8 17th September, 2003 02:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0