AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 05:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 3

Unhappy Epox 8RDA3+ / Hard drive problems

hi,

I have Epox 8RDA3+ motherboard, BIOS date 5/29/03 and im having problems with my hard drive. My hard drive is Maxtor DiamondMax D740X-6L ( 60Gb, IDE ). My hard drive wont work normally in my new motherboard, but when trying the hard drive, for example, with ECS (SiS) motherboard the hard drive works normally. Win XP Pro is installed to this hard drive, but when starting computer appears:
Verifying DMI pool data...
boot from cd...
disk failure, insert system disk and press enter
...when i press enter nothing happens

So my computer wont boot normally to windows.

I have formatted the hard drive several time, but for some reason windows installation wont let me to do the partition as FAT32 type so i have only used it as NTFS type.

I have also visited Maxtor homepage for further instructions, but with bad results.

Does anyone know is there some compatibility issues with my Epox 8RDA3+ motherboard and Maxtor hard drives? and if someone know how to solve this problem I`d be very pleased
If you can help me, please let me know as soon as possible...thank you...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 50

Check jumpers on hd, check using 80 cable, check "auto select" in bios, check primary/secondary boot device is correct.

Error suggests that the hd can't be seen at all. Go into bios and see if the hd is detected. If it is then boot device is possibly wrong. If it can't be detected, check cables and jumpers.

If that doesn't work then I don't know. Sorry.
__________________
Silence is golden...

XP1700+ 0310 | 200*12.5 @ 1.775v | Miro Maxxpert Watercooled - all fans @ 5v | Epox 8RDA+ - Vanteq & ram sinks | Corsair XMS3200LL 6-2-2-2 | Radeon 8500 - 310/630 - Ram sinks | Yamaha sw1000xg | Maxtor 30gig | IBM 60GXP (has failed on me twice) | Modded Enermax 350w PSU

XP2200+ 11.5*145 @ 1.4v | Retail Cooler | Abit KR7a Raid | Crucial PC2100 4 bank, cas 2, 2-5-2, 1T | ATI Rage IIc | Maxtor 30gig | Alcatel 330 USB Modem | No name 400w psu
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 3

hd jumpers are ok,cable should be ok, BIOS detects hd, i´m not sure if the boot devices are correct (i´ll check it later and post it here)

is there any jumpers in my motherboard that should check also ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 09:06 PM
Blackmyst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 268

Check the other settings in your BIOS, under "Integrated Peripherals" Set the top ELEVEN options to Auto, except OnChip IDE Channel0 and Channel1 which should be set to ENABLED.

Then go to "Standard CMOS Features" and double check that the IDE Primary Master option correctly shows your HD. If it doesn't, then thats more than likely your problem. You could also (if your HD has a sticker on it with the details) set up your own parameters for it.

I'd stronly suggest trying another cable as well, make sure it's 80 pin and set your HD to MASTER.

If all this doesn't work, then, VERY CAREFULLY, take a hammer to you PC and "scare" it........

Blackmyst
__________________

EPOX 8RDA3+ rev1.1, 3526 bios, vantec iceberg (nb), zalman gold (sb), heatsinks/fan (mosfets)
XP1800+ slk900 w/92mm vantec tornado, 11 x 215mhz, 1.85v
TWINMOS PC3200 ch-5 winbond, 2x256mb, dc-sync, 8,3,3,2.0, 2.63v
RADEON 9800 PRO 128mb, 380/680
WD RAPTORS 2x36gb, sata raid0
CHEIFTEC CASE enermax 550w
XP HOME sp1, nforce v3.13, catalyst v4.3
3DMARK2001se 18120

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA3+ Max Hard Drive size gashead EPoX MotherBoards 7 1st June, 2004 06:32 PM
8RDA3+ not seeing my second hard drive? princejim EPoX MotherBoards 6 12th September, 2003 08:28 AM
Hard drive issues?/IDE problems?/I'm confused. Kontrollverlust EPoX MotherBoards 11 18th August, 2003 01:52 AM
Epox 8RDA3+ / Hard drive problems Jocka General Hardware Discussion 1 30th June, 2003 09:23 PM
Serious Hard Drive Problems! Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 12 15th December, 2002 08:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0