AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 06:34 PM
water_cooler20's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 154

Upgrade

I thinking of upgrading my mem to dual channel so I wanted what u guys think i should do

1.buy another stick of non-LL XMS PC3200

2.Buy a twin pack of PC3500 XMS ram

3.Buy twin pack of LL PC3200 XMS ram

4.Buy a twin pack of PC3200 TwinMOS ram

5.Buy a twin pack of PC3700 TwinMOS ram

6.Stay w/ my one stick of non LL PC3200 XMS and buy a 8rda3+
__________________
MY RIG:
Epox 8rda+
AMD XP 2100 "AIUHB"
XMS pc3200 ram
RADEON 9800 pro 256
water cooled
soon to be cooling w/ chilled water

RIP:
AMD Xp 2400
AMD Duron 1.ghz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: U of K
Posts: 386

Quote:
Originally Posted by water_cooler20
I thinking of upgrading my mem to dual channel so I wanted what u guys think i should do

1.buy another stick of non-LL XMS PC3200

2.Buy a twin pack of PC3500 XMS ram

3.Buy twin pack of LL PC3200 XMS ram

4.Buy a twin pack of PC3200 TwinMOS ram

5.Buy a twin pack of PC3700 TwinMOS ram

6.Stay w/ my one stick of non LL PC3200 XMS and buy a 8rda3+
The only advise I can give you is not to buy the Twinmos PC3700....they do not work well with nforce2 chipset and only really work well on Intel setup; high FSB and slack timings.
__________________
He who asks is a fool for 15 minutes, he who does'nt remains a fool forever.

| Abit NF7-S V 2.0 | 1.8v Vdd (modded) | XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319 1.95v @ 2495 Mhz 217 x 11.5 |
| 2 x 256 TwinMos w/ Winbond BH-5 DC 10,2,2,Cas2 @ 3.0v Vdimm (modded) |
| Connect3d ATI Radeon 9800 Pro | Innovatek Water Cooled CPU & NB, actively cooled SB |
| Adaptec 39160 | Seagate Cheetah ST318406LW | ST336706LW | Lite-on CDRW |



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 06:42 PM
water_cooler20's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 154

or should i stay w/ what I have now and does running DC give a noticable preformace diffence
__________________
MY RIG:
Epox 8rda+
AMD XP 2100 "AIUHB"
XMS pc3200 ram
RADEON 9800 pro 256
water cooled
soon to be cooling w/ chilled water

RIP:
AMD Xp 2400
AMD Duron 1.ghz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 07:13 PM
water_cooler20's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 154

does anyone know how good OCZ gold runs on a 8rda+
__________________
MY RIG:
Epox 8rda+
AMD XP 2100 "AIUHB"
XMS pc3200 ram
RADEON 9800 pro 256
water cooled
soon to be cooling w/ chilled water

RIP:
AMD Xp 2400
AMD Duron 1.ghz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 07:29 PM
MasterAtArms's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 700

http://www.doomiii.pwp.blueyonder.co...ingle-Chan.jpg
Shows the performance increase in sandra memory benchmark. Twinmos pc3200 with winbond chips 2 * 256Mb.

Knock yourself out:
http://www.amdboard.com/ddr400.html
http://www.vr-zone.com/reviews/TwinMOS/PC3700-3200/
http://www.vr-zone.com/reviews/Memory/OCZ/PC3700Gold/
__________________
My regards and Specs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 07:34 PM
water_cooler20's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 154

Doesn't look like there is much diffence betwen DC and SC
__________________
MY RIG:
Epox 8rda+
AMD XP 2100 "AIUHB"
XMS pc3200 ram
RADEON 9800 pro 256
water cooled
soon to be cooling w/ chilled water

RIP:
AMD Xp 2400
AMD Duron 1.ghz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 07:46 PM
MasterAtArms's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 700

Quote:
Originally Posted by water_cooler20
Doesn't look like there is much diffence betwen DC and SC
...and you bought a 9800pro 256Mb?
__________________
My regards and Specs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 08:52 PM
Blackmyst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 268

I strongly recommend AGAINST ocz ram - they are awful on nforce boards it seems. I had some ocz pc3500EL ram (2x256) that would not pass 185fsb on my 8rda3+, but the £100 cheaper twinmos reach 215fsb stable, and will post into XP at 235fsb!!! Buy the twinmos in 256mb BH-5 modules, these have had some fabulous results. I have the CH-5's, and they don't get to very tight timings. Unfortunately I cannot get my hands on some BH-5's to test in my system without buying them, so I may never know. But I suppose I could buy them for a friend and keep the better ones.....

Blackmyst
__________________

EPOX 8RDA3+ rev1.1, 3526 bios, vantec iceberg (nb), zalman gold (sb), heatsinks/fan (mosfets)
XP1800+ slk900 w/92mm vantec tornado, 11 x 215mhz, 1.85v
TWINMOS PC3200 ch-5 winbond, 2x256mb, dc-sync, 8,3,3,2.0, 2.63v
RADEON 9800 PRO 128mb, 380/680
WD RAPTORS 2x36gb, sata raid0
CHEIFTEC CASE enermax 550w
XP HOME sp1, nforce v3.13, catalyst v4.3
3DMARK2001se 18120

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 09:06 PM
water_cooler20's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 154

do u know a place were i can get it in the US
__________________
MY RIG:
Epox 8rda+
AMD XP 2100 "AIUHB"
XMS pc3200 ram
RADEON 9800 pro 256
water cooled
soon to be cooling w/ chilled water

RIP:
AMD Xp 2400
AMD Duron 1.ghz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 09:08 PM
Blackmyst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 268

Sorry, I'm from the good ol' UK!
__________________

EPOX 8RDA3+ rev1.1, 3526 bios, vantec iceberg (nb), zalman gold (sb), heatsinks/fan (mosfets)
XP1800+ slk900 w/92mm vantec tornado, 11 x 215mhz, 1.85v
TWINMOS PC3200 ch-5 winbond, 2x256mb, dc-sync, 8,3,3,2.0, 2.63v
RADEON 9800 PRO 128mb, 380/680
WD RAPTORS 2x36gb, sata raid0
CHEIFTEC CASE enermax 550w
XP HOME sp1, nforce v3.13, catalyst v4.3
3DMARK2001se 18120

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 09:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: U of K
Posts: 386

if you goto the AMD forum a few memebers have had good results from their OCZ golds, but at the prices they charge I'd sooner run a little slower at a fraction of the price with Twinmos w/Winbonds.
__________________
He who asks is a fool for 15 minutes, he who does'nt remains a fool forever.

| Abit NF7-S V 2.0 | 1.8v Vdd (modded) | XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319 1.95v @ 2495 Mhz 217 x 11.5 |
| 2 x 256 TwinMos w/ Winbond BH-5 DC 10,2,2,Cas2 @ 3.0v Vdimm (modded) |
| Connect3d ATI Radeon 9800 Pro | Innovatek Water Cooled CPU & NB, actively cooled SB |
| Adaptec 39160 | Seagate Cheetah ST318406LW | ST336706LW | Lite-on CDRW |



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 04:30 PM
water_cooler20's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 154

does twinmos make cas 2 pc3200 mem or cas 2 pc3500
__________________
MY RIG:
Epox 8rda+
AMD XP 2100 "AIUHB"
XMS pc3200 ram
RADEON 9800 pro 256
water cooled
soon to be cooling w/ chilled water

RIP:
AMD Xp 2400
AMD Duron 1.ghz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 02:23 AM
MasterAtArms's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 700

Quote:
Originally Posted by water_cooler20
does twinmos make cas 2 pc3200 mem or cas 2 pc3500
Makes official cas 2 pc3200 but unofficial 2.5 pc3200 will do cas 2 no problem.

The different varieties are included in the review linked above.
__________________
My regards and Specs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When/If to Upgrade RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 4 18th May, 2006 05:18 PM
Upgrade WannaGoFast EPoX MotherBoards 19 25th November, 2005 07:53 PM
OC & RAM Upgrade RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 5 18th March, 2004 02:41 AM
Loading Windows upgrade to upgrade? akaBruno CRASHED! 1 24th February, 2002 05:53 AM
Sys upgrade? Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 28th November, 2001 07:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0