AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2003, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 179

m762a - Would welcome a response from Epox Tech

I'm going to be spending my hard earned cash on an m762a for my fileserver next week.

What is the official stance on the maximum supported cpu speed - there isn't any information on the epox site it just says "supports MP cpu's"

I remember reading in this forum that the "official" limit is 2000+, although someone said that they had a system based on this board working with 2400+'s?

What is epox's official take on the situation and will there be any bios updates to add support the thoroughbred's (if there isn't any already).

Thanks :)
__________________
Thoroughbred 2400+ @ 2300Mhz, Abit NF7 2.0, 1536Mb Samsung PC2700 (DDR433)
LSI 20160 Ultra SCSI 3 HBA, 1xMaxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB w/ 8mb cache
3ware Escalade 6410 Storage Switch, Unit 0: [RAID 10] 4x120Gb IBM 7K250 w/ 8mb cache (64K Stripe)
3Com 3CR990SVR97 Server NIC, DMX 6fire 24/96 LT, Hercules Radeon 9800Pro
Windows 2000 SP4


Angels fall farthest...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2003, 08:10 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I don't think they will be able to officially support TBreds.
However, I've seen quite a few systems with even highly overclocked 1700+ TBred B's running fine - it should work.
Just get yourself 2 cheap TBreds and perform the very easy MP-Mod (by connecting the 2 pins on the far right of the L5 bridges with conductive stuff)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2003, 11:45 PM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

Best to get an MPX2, A7M266-D, or K7D Master-L for your dual-lovin goodness.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 179

not really going to be too heavily overclocked, perhaps to a 150 bus, i was planning on getting 2 xp 2400's and modding them, but that's a waste of time if the board won't handle them.

i don't like msi, don't like asus's bios, and iwill's support was poor. also i don't want onboard audio and do want onbaord usb - which narrows my choice down to this board really, i'm also going to be slapping some pal8045's on the cpu's, so i need the 4 mounting holes, which other manufacturers seem to have neglected.

I'm not really too bothered about the speed - 2000+'s would be fine, but as the 2400+'s are only £15 more, it's a bit of a waste not to get them :)
__________________
Thoroughbred 2400+ @ 2300Mhz, Abit NF7 2.0, 1536Mb Samsung PC2700 (DDR433)
LSI 20160 Ultra SCSI 3 HBA, 1xMaxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB w/ 8mb cache
3ware Escalade 6410 Storage Switch, Unit 0: [RAID 10] 4x120Gb IBM 7K250 w/ 8mb cache (64K Stripe)
3Com 3CR990SVR97 Server NIC, DMX 6fire 24/96 LT, Hercules Radeon 9800Pro
Windows 2000 SP4


Angels fall farthest...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 10:11 AM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

Quote:
Originally Posted by K6-III
Best to get an MPX2, A7M266-D, or K7D Master-L for your dual-lovin goodness.
what is different about the boards you mention. the EPoX board is possibly one of only two amd762 based board with any hope of doing 166fsb
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 179

i think they have official support for the thoroughbred's. there's no doubt that the quality of the epox baord is far superior though :)
__________________
Thoroughbred 2400+ @ 2300Mhz, Abit NF7 2.0, 1536Mb Samsung PC2700 (DDR433)
LSI 20160 Ultra SCSI 3 HBA, 1xMaxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB w/ 8mb cache
3ware Escalade 6410 Storage Switch, Unit 0: [RAID 10] 4x120Gb IBM 7K250 w/ 8mb cache (64K Stripe)
3Com 3CR990SVR97 Server NIC, DMX 6fire 24/96 LT, Hercules Radeon 9800Pro
Windows 2000 SP4


Angels fall farthest...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 10:27 AM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flak
i think they have official support for the thoroughbred's. there's no doubt that the quality of the epox baord is far superior though
i can't imagine any board sporting and amd mp chipset officially supporting non mp cpu's.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 10:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 179

sorry, didn't explain myself clearly, i meant the new mp's with the thoroughbred cores
__________________
Thoroughbred 2400+ @ 2300Mhz, Abit NF7 2.0, 1536Mb Samsung PC2700 (DDR433)
LSI 20160 Ultra SCSI 3 HBA, 1xMaxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB w/ 8mb cache
3ware Escalade 6410 Storage Switch, Unit 0: [RAID 10] 4x120Gb IBM 7K250 w/ 8mb cache (64K Stripe)
3Com 3CR990SVR97 Server NIC, DMX 6fire 24/96 LT, Hercules Radeon 9800Pro
Windows 2000 SP4


Angels fall farthest...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 06:26 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Max supported CPU is Mp-2000 palomino.

Thoroughbread type processors wont work propperly, please dont try it as it wont work.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 12:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 179

d'oh :/
__________________
Thoroughbred 2400+ @ 2300Mhz, Abit NF7 2.0, 1536Mb Samsung PC2700 (DDR433)
LSI 20160 Ultra SCSI 3 HBA, 1xMaxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB w/ 8mb cache
3ware Escalade 6410 Storage Switch, Unit 0: [RAID 10] 4x120Gb IBM 7K250 w/ 8mb cache (64K Stripe)
3Com 3CR990SVR97 Server NIC, DMX 6fire 24/96 LT, Hercules Radeon 9800Pro
Windows 2000 SP4


Angels fall farthest...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 07:38 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

yes it probably will AFAIK.
But I'm sure its kinda risky, so better trust Holst and forget about that
Maybe get some good 1600+ Palos and clock them to 166 FSB...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 08:30 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Im telling you it wont work.

This time im not saying it to be cautious im saying it because it just wont work.

If you try it you will end up with 2 CPUs you cant use...
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 09:04 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

okay, you're right Holst
I'm not insisting on it unless I've tried it out myself.
But at least thats what I heared...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2003, 12:23 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Ive had customers who took the risk and it didnt pay off....
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2003, 08:33 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

Quote:
Originally Posted by flytek
what is different about the boards you mention. the EPoX board is possibly one of only two amd762 based board with any hope of doing 166fsb
Not really. The Iwill has been known to hit 166mhz FSB, will work with T-Breds...but no multiplier adjustment...and really hard to find...

The MSI is probably the best overclocker overall, but harder to FSB OC than the Iwill...

The ASUS comes in third behind that group...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2004, 01:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 10

I run the Epox M762A with 2*mp2400 on it..
It runs fine apart from 2 problems..
I've been running it for over 12 months now...

A graphics driver problem for my ATI All in Wonder 8500dv. Sometimes it starts up using the wrong drivers..(not a problem as i hardly turn it off)

There's a cold boot problem it won't boot from cold unless I press reset right after the power on button. Apart from that I don't have any worries at all..

So here is what I would like to know, since the board will run 2*MP2400
WHEN WILL EPOX BRING OUT A NEW BIOS THAT WILL FULLY SUPPORT THEM..

I mean, TYAN bring out a new bios for the likes of the s2460 and s2466 when new processors come out, SO WHY IS IT THAT WE'RE STILL STUCK WITH A BIOS THAT WILL ONLY OFFICIALLY SUPPORT MP2000...

Come on Epox you're letting the side down.......

I would like to congratulate Epox for the fine Board that the M762A is...
__________________

Last edited by koiman; 1st January, 2004 at 01:49 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2004, 06:30 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

koiman,
with all due respect, (and ignorance on my part), it is possible that the issues you have, while minor for you, would be overwhelming for others. Also, it is possible that the issues cannot be resolved with a bios update. It is very possible that updating bios code would have no impact on compatibility with newer CPUs. Just my 2cents.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2004, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 10

You might be right, but I would be very surprised if this board with a new bios would not be perfectly fine with the mp2400..

I forgot to mention that the processors are not recognised as mp2400 but as 2.00 Ghz cpu's and the temp monitoring is wrong as well.
Bios reports around 75 to 78 at start up. I use 2 thermal probes to monitor the temp idle 40 and 43 full load 47 and 50..

Seem to think that this is normally corrected with new bios...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 10

Can anybody from Epox Tech/Staff tell us if there are going to be further Bios updates for the M762A, so if will fully/officially support higher than MP2000 processors...

Also does anyone else out there have this motherboard,. What processors are you running on it... (are Epox no longer interested in the M762A, has it had low sales / not viable profit wise, developing new Bios updates ???)
__________________
EPOX M762a, 2*mp2400, 2Gb Crucial Ram 2-2-2-1T, ATI All in wonder 8500dv, Creative SB Live 5.1, Enermax 431W, Hard drives 1@60Gb, 1@120Gb Promise TX2000 with 3*80Gb, Sony Dru510A, 16* LiteonDVD, 1@120mm side fan, 1@80mm front fan, 1@80mm rear fan, 1@80mm top blow hole.
2* Akasa AK-821 2Q coolers
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
epox tech uk response time? ajopz EPoX MotherBoards 3 31st May, 2005 02:28 PM
hows the Epox M762a rev 1.2 for overcloking? DrSpanky EPoX MotherBoards 6 19th August, 2004 04:01 PM
hows the Epox M762a rev 1.2 for overcloking? DrSpanky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 15th August, 2004 11:11 PM
No response from Epox weldzilla EPoX MotherBoards 47 6th March, 2004 05:51 PM
M762A question for Epox Support valnar EPoX MotherBoards 2 4th January, 2002 12:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0