AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 11:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3

Overclock Athlon 2600 on a 8rga+

Totally new to overclocking so thought I would ask some advice in here.

Hardware 8rga+ with a thoroughbred Athlon 2600.

What have any of you's found to be reliable settings with this combination.

Looking for a speed increase but would still like to keep the stability.

Also options for both standard cooling and with extra cooling would be appreciated!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 11:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

Change Vcore to 1.75 volts, change multiplier to 13 and FSB to 166, if that is stable for a bit, increase multiplier to 13.5 and retest.
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2003, 08:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3

Ok thanks for the info.. Will give it a try

Ok tried it and got the following error:

Upon reboot the bios reported the cpu as a XP 1250Mhz and said that overclock had failed.

Running a cpuid utility reports the following info.

http://www.oddthings.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/info.jpg
__________________

Last edited by mickc1303; 18th July, 2003 at 08:53 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2003, 08:57 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

what memory do you have? if it's ddr400 you could likely reach 400fsb - even good ddr333 with a bit of tweaking will make it. your board almost certainly will even if you have to screw a cooler to the stock heatsink and raise Vdd to 1.8. the cpu should do 11x200 even with a boxed cooler.
none of this will be really noticable unless you're rendering something or using onboard graphics.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2003, 09:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by flytek
what memory do you have? if it's ddr400 you could likely reach 400fsb - even good ddr333 with a bit of tweaking will make it. your board almost certainly will even if you have to screw a cooler to the stock heatsink and raise Vdd to 1.8. the cpu should do 11x200 even with a boxed cooler.
none of this will be really noticable unless you're rendering something or using onboard graphics.
Yes I'm using DDR 400
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon XP-M 2600, magic stepping" mixx666 Online Deals, and Steals 46 10th August, 2006 06:33 PM
Overclocking the Athlon XP 2600+ Barton? Redroar AMD Motherboards & CPUs 15 16th January, 2006 11:17 PM
Speed of AMD Athlon XP 2600+ djXternal AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 16th April, 2005 01:23 AM
DFI Lanparty Ultra B & AMD XP 2600+ barton ??? how do i overclock? Vode Hardware Hacking 1 10th February, 2005 10:32 AM
Athlon XP-M 2500 or 2600 JMa2969 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 80 29th November, 2004 06:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0