AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 01:58 PM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

Barton 2800+

Just got hold of one of these and wondering how other peeps are getting on with them?

Will it do 200 fsb on my 8RDA+ like my old XP 2400?

Any comments welcome

Cheers

Paul
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 02:01 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

hehe I don't think you will be limited in your FSB - my old 2500+ does over 230Mhz (couldn't test more so far )
Just pull off the jclk jumper...
It will be interesting to see how much CPU speed you will get
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 05:09 PM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcool
hehe I don't think you will be limited in your FSB - my old 2500+ does over 230Mhz (couldn't test more so far )
Just pull off the jclk jumper...
It will be interesting to see how much CPU speed you will get
Sorry JC but .......

Whats the jclk jumper and why do I need to remove it?

Does anyone know what the max voltage for this part is??

Cheers

Paul
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 11:01 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

the jclk (jclock) jumper is located next to the ATX power connector and it normally sets the default FSB of your CPU/system for the bios.
However, some people have reported that they couldn't go over 190 FSB or so when using 166 FSB CPU AND the jumper. As soon as they pulled it off, they went fine to 220Mhz or whatever they were at with their last CPU.
So its sort of tradition to run the 8rda+ without the jclk jumper, and it has even more advantages - with this jumper pulled off your bios will start at 100Mhz FSB after clearing it or holding delete-insert (like after a failed oc attempt ) and will nearly always come back to post
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2003, 08:54 AM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcool
the jclk (jclock) jumper is located next to the ATX power connector and it normally sets the default FSB of your CPU/system for the bios.
However, some people have reported that they couldn't go over 190 FSB or so when using 166 FSB CPU AND the jumper. As soon as they pulled it off, they went fine to 220Mhz or whatever they were at with their last CPU.
So its sort of tradition to run the 8rda+ without the jclk jumper, and it has even more advantages - with this jumper pulled off your bios will start at 100Mhz FSB after clearing it or holding delete-insert (like after a failed oc attempt ) and will nearly always come back to post
Cheers JC, sounds like a plan! The only thing is will this mess with my memory settings. I had huge problems getting my Corsair XMS running. Think I'm running 02/04/03 bios with the memory @ 100% as SPD *****s it up!

I never wanna hear that siren again

So does anyone have any comments abut this chip?

Cheers mate
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2003, 09:24 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

The thing with XMS is sometimes the SPD setting is less stable than a tighter timing, manually switch it to 6,2,2,2.0 or similar & give it slight voltage boost.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2003, 01:27 PM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay T
The thing with XMS is sometimes the SPD setting is less stable than a tighter timing, manually switch it to 6,2,2,2.0 or similar & give it slight voltage boost.
Whenever I've had SPD set the rig has barely worked so if removing this jumper will make this happen there is no way i'm gonna do it just for the sake of a few more mhz!

I don't really know what SPD stands for or what it means in terms of memory settings. My 100% seems to work fine.
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2003, 02:05 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

pulling the jumper off won't affect memtimings only FSB/Memclock so put your mem to 6-2-2-2, leave it at 100% and pull that thing off
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2003, 10:43 PM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcool
pulling the jumper off won't affect memtimings only FSB/Memclock so put your mem to 6-2-2-2, leave it at 100% and pull that thing off
Come Sunday I'll give this is go! Lets hope it rocks!
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox 8kha+ and Barton 2800+? nerdcorerocks AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 29th September, 2005 10:10 PM
8k3a+ and 2800 barton upgrade xds7 EPoX MotherBoards 52 15th April, 2004 04:02 PM
8RDA+ and 2800 Barton OC Problem ProphetX EPoX MotherBoards 5 3rd January, 2004 09:39 AM
Who is using a Barton 2800+ or higher ughanda EPoX MotherBoards 1 3rd September, 2003 01:57 AM
Epox 8rda3+ and barton 2800 John22 EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th June, 2003 10:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0