AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2003, 10:53 PM
Royal Oaks's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to Royal Oaks

Need some Epox motherboard help

Alright, well it appears my 8K5A2+ has finally bit the bullet. I was playing UT and my system just freezes. Now I can't even get the thing to post and it gives me C1 and C5 codes. So checking my trusty manual, it appears the problem is in my RAM somewhere. However, after switching sticks the thing still won't work. When I did get it to work the thing just said, "An attempt was made to write to read-only memory". It also said there was a problem with the file ntfs.sys. It also gives me this error which says BIOS ROM CHECKSUM error. I know this isn't good, and I fear my board is a goner. I flashed BIOS's and all, but the thing is still jacked up. Basically I was just wondering if I am missing anything here??? Like I said though I really think the board is a goner and I think I need to fill out an RMA with Epox. Just wondering if anyone had any ideas, or whether they could confirm this boards death???? Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2003, 01:48 AM
Mark099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Posts: 283

Clear the CMOS by pulling out the battery for 10-15 minutes. Upon powering up, hold the INSERT key down.
__________________
Mark099!

Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.4Ghz | Asus K8N-E Deluxe | PNY Verto GeForce FX 5600 Ultra 128MB | 2x 256MB Kingston Hyper-X PC3700 DDR | 80GB Maxtor 8MB 7200RPM HDD | LG 24x10x40x CDRW | Iomega 250MB Zip | Landmark ATX-A70 23" Aluminum Case | Antec 550W TruePower PSU | Windows XP Pro SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2003, 02:16 AM
Royal Oaks's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to Royal Oaks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark099
Clear the CMOS by pulling out the battery for 10-15 minutes. Upon powering up, hold the INSERT key down.
Thanks for the advice, but that didn't work. The thing just hangs at code C5, it won't even POST. It goes C1, C3, then C5 and it stops there saying, BootBlock.... BIOS ROM CHECKSUM error. I can get it to boot sometimes, but it just resets every few minutes or doesn't start back up again. I'm pretty sure this thing needs to be RMA'd, if someone could just confirm this or provide some other advice I could try that??? Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2003, 09:49 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark099
Clear the CMOS by pulling out the battery for 10-15 minutes. Upon powering up, hold the INSERT key down.

Do not pull the battery to clear the CMOS - do it by JBAT or JCMOS jumper.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2003, 04:37 PM
Royal Oaks's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to Royal Oaks

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
Do not pull the battery to clear the CMOS - do it by JBAT or JCMOS jumper.
ET, any ideas??? Or should I just RMA the board??? I am not a n00b, and I have tried everything I can think of. Tried booting up with just the essesntials, and I still get the same error. I've done just about everything I can think of, and it will either just reset itself, or give me BIOS ROM CHECKSUM error. I'm also not the massive upgrader like everyone else, so I had planned on keeping this board for a little while yet, instead of just buying a new one. Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2003, 05:38 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Have you tried to boot with a floppy disc containing system files etc.?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Epox SLi motherboard? BarrySWE EPoX MotherBoards 7 17th November, 2005 03:29 PM
Your recommendation on Epox motherboard, Epox rep input requested Liver EPoX MotherBoards 5 28th December, 2004 04:38 AM
EPOX EP-4T4A+ Motherboard jcsc18 EPoX MotherBoards 1 27th February, 2003 05:30 AM
Epox Motherboard Jelen EPoX MotherBoards 7 10th September, 2002 01:37 PM
Best EPOX Motherboard???? Seba5 EPoX MotherBoards 3 22nd November, 2001 09:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0