AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2003, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 81

Memtest86-V3: Selecting discrete test#

I have Memtest86-V3.

The only problems encountered when testing my system memory are in Test #5 (Block Moves).

I seem to be unable to specify a single test, using the configuration menu of Memtest86. After selecting 'run single test' and selecting test '5', nothing runs. The only choice after that is 'Restart Tests', which runs all tests in sequence, beginning at Test 1.

Can anyone else select and run a single test with Memtest86? If so, how do you do it?

Thanks for your help!
__________________
NF7Sv2
XP1700+ @ 220 X 11
2 X 256 BuffaloTech PC3700
Thermalright 900U
Antec 430 PS
WD800JB
ATI 9500 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2003, 08:51 PM
Veky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 269
Send a message via ICQ to Veky Send a message via AIM to Veky Send a message via MSN to Veky Send a message via Yahoo to Veky

Try this memtest utility that (hold your breath) Microsoft released some time ago:

http://oca.microsoft.com/en/mtinst.exe
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2003, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 81

Thanks, Veky! I'm on it.

I appreciate your help!
__________________
NF7Sv2
XP1700+ @ 220 X 11
2 X 256 BuffaloTech PC3700
Thermalright 900U
Antec 430 PS
WD800JB
ATI 9500 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2003, 04:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 24

you need to select the test and keep hitting enter and it'll switch, if you hit escape it'll cancel your selection.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2003, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: scotland
Posts: 3

memtest86

i have a 2500 barton @ 12.5x166 with twinmoss dual channel packs (uses twinmoss on twinmoss) and can run the full memtest with no errors, but when i o/c more to 200 x 10.5 memtest will freeze in about 15 seconds into test # 5. any clues as to why this is.

i have tried move vcore and vdimm but still freezes, i have also used the above microsoft memory check and that runs ok at the 200x10.5.

i have a version 1.0 epox 8rga.

thanks for any respoce.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2003, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 81

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcolm
i have a 2500 barton @ 12.5x166 with twinmoss dual channel packs (uses twinmoss on twinmoss) and can run the full memtest with no errors, but when i o/c more to 200 x 10.5 memtest will freeze in about 15 seconds into test # 5. any clues as to why this is.

i have tried move vcore and vdimm but still freezes, i have also used the above microsoft memory check and that runs ok at the 200x10.5.

i have a version 1.0 epox 8rga.

thanks for any respoce.
At 200MHz FSB, your Test #5 errors could be due to chipset instability. I have the same problem above 205MHz FSB, running synchronous memory.

Try setting 'Memory Frequency' to 120% and set FSB low enough (~170)to produce 200MHz memory speed. That should eliminate chipset instability as a problem when you run Memtest.

Hope this helps!
__________________
NF7Sv2
XP1700+ @ 220 X 11
2 X 256 BuffaloTech PC3700
Thermalright 900U
Antec 430 PS
WD800JB
ATI 9500 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2003, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 24

That freezing is due to something about the chipset not liking 10.5 multipliers. No matter what you do it will always freeze until Epox releases some sort of bios fix for it. Stay away from that 10.5 multiplier and you'll be fine.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th August, 2003, 03:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: South Central PA
Posts: 16

After you choose test 5, hit enter and you will return to the configuration menu. Hit 0 to cancel and test 5 should run.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th August, 2003, 11:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 81

Quote:
Originally Posted by flycaster51
After you choose test 5, hit enter and you will return to the configuration menu. Hit 0 to cancel and test 5 should run.
All I had to do was hit return twice after selecting Test#. One return acknowledges test selection - the next return executes the selected test.

Kind of embarrassing that I couldn't figure that out!
__________________
NF7Sv2
XP1700+ @ 220 X 11
2 X 256 BuffaloTech PC3700
Thermalright 900U
Antec 430 PS
WD800JB
ATI 9500 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2003, 07:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 1

hi guys,

i have downloaded this tool and made floppy disk but got error at booting time "disk I/O error".

i have also tried to microsoft site for help but not suceeded and now hoping solution here, can anyone help me to let the test my system too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Discrete GPUs Roadmap Overview Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 8th February, 2007 09:07 AM
You've heard of the Mensa test, here's the Munsa test. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 4 26th December, 2006 08:29 PM
Help selecting nforce 2 MBoard for Upgrade suggestions Please deryl88 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 29th September, 2003 08:59 AM
No floppy and memtest86 bETAbILLY AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 28th July, 2003 02:49 AM
memtest86. jimbobaggies EPoX MotherBoards 3 2nd June, 2003 08:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0