AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2003, 05:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 6

Question Epox 8RDA+: 1 stick of 256 mb ram=ok, but 2 sticks of 256 mb ram=freeze/crash!

Having formatted the hard drive and installed Windows XP + SP 1 and all the latest drivers and updates, my system freezes at various times when the motherboard is equipped with 2 sticks of 256 mb DDR 2100 Apacer ram. However, with just 1 stick (in bank 0) it is rock stable!

2 sticks of 256 mb DDR 2700 Samsung ram produced exactly the same result, i.e. freezing, while just 1 stick was - once again - rock stable.

I have tried to move the 2 sticks to bank 1 (non-dual mode), but this did not solve the problem.

I am completely stuck by now - please help!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2003, 07:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

Go into the bios, set memory timings at 7-3-3 at cas 2.5, change memory voltage to 2.63 volts, retest with multiple sticks of memory......both of what you have are not the most compatible with that motherboard.
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2003, 07:44 PM
GREEKRAGE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 97

Are both 2700 sticks ok ??

Have you tried them out individually ?

before sticking in the 2 sticks make sure that in the bios your ram timings are set correctly for the samsung (7-3-3-2.5) and if your running your CPU at 166 fsb then make sure the ram is running 100% .

Im not sure but the 8rxx series cannot run any type of ram in dual (i think its 2700 and up ).

You may also go to the vdimm voltage and take that to 2.77 incase your
mobo isnt getting the correct amount of power thus undervolting your whole system.

Some more specs of your rig would be more helpfull in your next post (cpu/psu/cooling /vidcard etc.)

But honestly i suggest you get some faster ram ( ddr400 or better) cause you have a fast mobo and your gonna strangle it with that ram ,especially if your planning to overclock.
__________________
AMD 2600+Tb @2400 MHz (12.x200 )
Cooler: Thermalright SLK-800U (37c idle-43 load)
Epox 8RGA+ A2
2x256 PC400 DDR Kingston(11-2-2-2)(valueram)
Club3D Radeon 9700pro cooled by a GIANT2 by Thermaltake
HDD Maxtor 133 8mb cache
Case: highly modded YY cube
PSU: Levicom 420
Latest 3dmarks = 2K3 5313 and 2k1 16137
OS:Win2k(sp3)-WinXP pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2003, 12:57 AM
BackBonE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: TR, Istanbul
Posts: 27

Have you tested your RAM's with memtest86? If not do so.
__________________
AMD XP 1800+ @2100Mhz
Epox 8RDA+ Rev2.1/C1 w/SPD650 @210Mhz
DC 256mB TwinMOS PC3200 DDR @3-2-2-2
Powercolor Radeon 9700 Evil Commando 2 @ 326/326mhz
Western Digital WD800JB
Elan Vital A-10
Coolermaster HHC-01
Vantec CCB-A1C
Zalman MFC1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2003, 12:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 6

Hi golfer49 and GREEKRAGE, thanks for your replies and suggestions. However, I have already tried the settings you suggest with no success, and honestly I doubt if the mobo will ever accept my Apacer or Samsung sticks in bank 1. The Samsung sticks are not as unstable as the Apacer sticks, but changing from Samsung to Apacer is just a question of going from bad to worse.

I guess I might be forced to get some new ram sticks (Gee, I really regret having bought this mobo - my old ECS K7S5A was rock stable with any of my ram sticks installed).

GREEKRAGE, can you suggest a brand that will surely be STABLE on my Epox 8RDA+? I do not plan to overclock (yet!). Will DDR 2700 not be good enough instead of the more expensive DDR 3200? AFAIK several tests have shown that DDR 3200 is not much faster than DDR 2700, or am I wrong here? Besides I have read several posts complaining about their expensive DDR 3200 RAM being unable to run on their nForce2 mobos.

My system specs:

Epox 8RDA+ (revision 1.1, FSB 400)
AMD XP 2600+
2x256 MB DDR 2100 Apacer RAM or 2x256 MB DDR 2700 Samsung RAM
120 GB Seagate Barracuda V harddisk + 40 GB IBM 60 GXP harddisk
Palit Daytona GeForce 4 Ti 4200 graphics card
Windows XP Pro + SP 1 and all updates
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2003, 03:03 AM
GREEKRAGE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 97

Quote:
Originally Posted by oestergreen
Hi golfer49 and GREEKRAGE, thanks for your replies and suggestions. However, I have already tried the settings you suggest with no success, and honestly I doubt if the mobo will ever accept my Apacer or Samsung sticks in bank 1. The Samsung sticks are not as unstable as the Apacer sticks, but changing from Samsung to Apacer is just a question of going from bad to worse.

I guess I might be forced to get some new ram sticks (Gee, I really regret having bought this mobo - my old ECS K7S5A was rock stable with any of my ram sticks installed).

GREEKRAGE, can you suggest a brand that will surely be STABLE on my Epox 8RDA+? I do not plan to overclock (yet!). Will DDR 2700 not be good enough instead of the more expensive DDR 3200? AFAIK several tests have shown that DDR 3200 is not much faster than DDR 2700, or am I wrong here? Besides I have read several posts complaining about their expensive DDR 3200 RAM being unable to run on their nForce2 mobos.

My system specs:

Epox 8RDA+ (revision 1.1, FSB 400)
AMD XP 2600+
2x256 MB DDR 2100 Apacer RAM or 2x256 MB DDR 2700 Samsung RAM
120 GB Seagate Barracuda V harddisk + 40 GB IBM 60 GXP harddisk
Palit Daytona GeForce 4 Ti 4200 graphics card
Windows XP Pro + SP 1 and all updates
Like i said.. "if your planning to OC " get better ram.
Its all up to you and your pocket..

But if you read a few posts/threads im sure you will get a good idea of your choices in ram( i dont want to deprive you of choice so im not suggesting specifics).

Btw dont regret buying this board,,,,IT ROCKS!! once you get it the "right stuff"..
__________________
AMD 2600+Tb @2400 MHz (12.x200 )
Cooler: Thermalright SLK-800U (37c idle-43 load)
Epox 8RGA+ A2
2x256 PC400 DDR Kingston(11-2-2-2)(valueram)
Club3D Radeon 9700pro cooled by a GIANT2 by Thermaltake
HDD Maxtor 133 8mb cache
Case: highly modded YY cube
PSU: Levicom 420
Latest 3dmarks = 2K3 5313 and 2k1 16137
OS:Win2k(sp3)-WinXP pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPoX 8RDA+ Failure after crash?? HELP Neofate EPoX MotherBoards 11 14th July, 2003 02:58 PM
8RDA3+ vcore over 1.725V = crash, freeze, wont boot Veky EPoX MotherBoards 9 3rd June, 2003 08:57 PM
EPOX 8RDA+ / 8RGA+ & 3 x 256MB sticks of Twinmos question Alistair EPoX MotherBoards 2 15th April, 2003 05:41 PM
would 2 sticks of Twinmos + 1 stick of GEIL work on 8rda+... Swifty2002 EPoX MotherBoards 2 8th April, 2003 03:06 PM
Epox 8RDA+ and twin Corsair LL PC3200 sticks? Insiz0r EPoX MotherBoards 2 14th March, 2003 04:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0