AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 03:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

Unhappy 4PCA3+ rev1.1 issues help!

Just installed my 4PCA3+ rev 1.1 and updated to latest bios and i get negative voltage bonuses as reported by other users. Problem is in memtest86, i'm running into errors straight away first pass test 1 - 3 errors at all below voltage settings!

bios -> real

default vcore 1.525v -> 1.45-1.47v

1.6000v -> 1.53-1.55v
1.5875v -> 1.50-1.53v
1.5750v -> 1.48-1.52v
1.5625v -> 1.48-1.50v
1.5500v -> 1.47-1.48v
1.5375v -> 1.47-1.48v
1.5250v -> 1.45-1.47v
1.5125v -> 1.37-1.40v
1.5000v -> no Boot
1.4875v -> no Boot
1.4750v -> 1.56-1.60v
1.4625v -> 1.37-1.39v
1.4500v -> 1.69-1.71v

while memtest86 is running, the post code on the LED is FF

anyone know what's up..

FF code in manual says

1. Bios chip inserted incorrectly
2. Incorrect bios update
3. Mainboard problem
4. Add on card inserted incorrectly

__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

i'll update my progress in this post

Okay it seems it could be a memory problem, the above memtest86 errors at test #1 -3 were with 2x 256MB ADATA PC4000 @ 200mhz 3-4-4-8 and SPD at 2.7-2.8v vdimm

But now i switched the memory to my 2x 256MB OCZ PC3500 Premier @ 200mhz 2.5-4-4-7 at 2.7v vdimm and no errors in test #1 - 3 at first pass BUT still post code while memtest86 is running = FF

all my ADATA PC4000 are error free on IC7, PX865PE PRO2 and the boards chainy tested hmmm

more investigation soon..
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 03:41 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

FF: fully fragged OR fully functional. FF on startup = bad. FF after numerous post codes = good
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by flytek
FF: fully fragged OR fully functional. FF on startup = bad. FF after numerous post codes = good
phew.. ** wipes sweat ** thanks flytek, I'm glad it's not a bad board as it's only 5 1/2 days old

does anyone know if 4PCA3+ rev 1.1 has problems with memory with cas 3 timings like my 8 x 256MB ADATA PC4000 which are rated and SPD = 3-4-4-8 ?
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by eva2000
phew.. ** wipes sweat ** thanks flytek, I'm glad it's not a bad board as it's only 5 1/2 days old

does anyone know if 4PCA3+ rev 1.1 has problems with memory with cas 3 timings like my 8 x 256MB ADATA PC4000 which are rated and SPD = 3-4-4-8 ?
yes there was another guy, he couldn't get cas3 working, can't remember if it was springdale or canterwood

let me find it again in this forum
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane5578
yes there was another guy, he couldn't get cas3 working, can't remember if it was springdale or canterwood

let me find it again in this forum
is this the thread Cas3 4PDA2+ ?

strange how Liquid3d managed 3-4-4-8 at 275mhz with same board at http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...threadid=17158

could it be just ADATA and corsiar mem problem
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20

yes thats the thread

i'll will be getting some a-data pc4000 for my other asus rig, so i'll test them out
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

strange did the older bios for this board detect 800FSB cpu incorrectly as i just noticed my pic of the boot screen says 2.40B not 2.40C at http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D...a3+_pic60.html
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by eva2000
strange did the older bios for this board detect 800FSB cpu incorrectly as i just noticed my pic of the boot screen says 2.40B not 2.40C at http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D...a3+_pic60.html

yep the initial bios displayed c's as b's

it mentions it in the 4pca3+ bios archives
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 04:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane5578
yep the initial bios displayed c's as b's

it mentions it in the 4pca3+ bios archives
thanks

Found my problem.. i think

I retested the pair of 2x 256MB ADATA PC4000 individually, and found 1 of the sticks errored out in test #1-3 on first pass @ 200mhz 3-4-4-8 but the 2nd stick didn't! So I guess 4PCA3+ didn't like one of the sticks for some reason. It could be bios related too.

I tested all my ADATA sticks and they worked fine on 865PE PRO2 and IC7, so have to check the s/n on the back of the sticks and recheck that particular stick on 865PE PRO2

Guess I have to also retest each ADATA stick individually for use on 4PCA3+ heh
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

Also any 4PCA3+ users find it weird they have hpt374 controller, but the bios doesn't have any setting for changing PCI latency values ?
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

also is the 4pca3+'s HPT374 controller exactly the same as rocketraid404 ? as the 4pca3+ latest driver for onboard HPT374 is v3.01 while for rocketraid404 there's a v3.0.3 out http://www.highpoint-tech.com/rr404_down.htm with better raid 5 write speeds
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20

mm didn't know that.

the original bios had memory probs
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 04:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

actually highpoint have a different set of hpt374 for IC products http://www.highpoint-tech.com/374drivers_down.htm just wondering if they'd work with 4PCA3+
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 04:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

well i read highpoint's IC HPT374 FAQ and it says the bios aren't for onboard motherboards .. unless epox guys say otherwise i guess
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2003, 12:56 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

you can update the drivers and bios to the latest version if you want to, as i was forced todo so with earlier revisions of the epox bios were incompatible with creative soundcards, they have since fixed this and so im not particularly bothered. There isnt much point updating unless you have to with hpt bios's and software.

Note its advisable to keep bios and software versions matched, they dont like being mismatched !

K
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8K3A rev1 query Davey999 EPoX MotherBoards 10 30th October, 2004 06:27 PM
4PCA3+ Rev1.1 + P4 3.2E DJD EPoX MotherBoards 0 7th May, 2004 11:26 AM
4PCA3+ rev1.1 support P4 3.4C 800FSB ? eva2000 EPoX MotherBoards 1 4th March, 2004 08:18 AM
4pca3+ rev1.2 when using sata raid fraudulent03 EPoX MotherBoards 0 8th February, 2004 12:29 PM
HELP! epox 4pca3+ rev1.0 & 4pca3+ rev2.0 crazyfied EPoX MotherBoards 8 17th September, 2003 02:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0