AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2003, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 4

4PCA3+ and SATA RAID

Hi all,
I'm new to this, and have no idea what sort of response i will recieve, but thanks in advance for anyone taking the time.

I have the above mobo with:

1 * IDE 80Gb Disk
1 * IDE 20gb Disk
1 * DVD
1 * SB Live!
1 * P4 2.8Ghz 800FSB
2 * 256Mb PC3200 Samsung
All stock speed - no overclocking
MS XP Pro with SP1.

Just bought 2 * Maxtor Diamond Max Plus 9 80Gb SATA Drives. Not IDE with convertors.

Plugged drives into mobo. Enabled SATA in BIOS.
Intel SATA RAID BIOS sits for about 5-6 mins on copyright banner before seeing drives. Then I get blank screen for about 4 mins. Then XP Pro takes a further 5 mins to load (Usually takes about 30 secs), then the drives aren't recognised anywhere.

I've DL Intel SATA RAID s/w v3.5.0.2568 for XP. The BIOS on POST show as 3.5.0.2459.

I've tried doing a fresh XP install from original CDROM with both the ICHR5 drivers that came with the board, and the new ones from the Intel site. All give same results: XP Installer can't see the drives.

I've looked through the other threads on this Forum. Although 1 is similar, none are the same.

I've written to Intel and Epox, and they are yet to give me anything back. Not sure how helpful they will be.

Incidentally, if i enable 1 drive as IDE, this works fine. So i think drives are OK.

Anyone. Help would be greatly appreciated.

Sean.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2003, 10:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 4

OK. Intel helped out. It was the BIOS version. Updated and all went swimmingly.

Thanks for looking people.



Quote:
Originally Posted by seanus
Hi all,
I'm new to this, and have no idea what sort of response i will recieve, but thanks in advance for anyone taking the time.

I have the above mobo with:

1 * IDE 80Gb Disk
1 * IDE 20gb Disk
1 * DVD
1 * SB Live!
1 * P4 2.8Ghz 800FSB
2 * 256Mb PC3200 Samsung
All stock speed - no overclocking
MS XP Pro with SP1.

Just bought 2 * Maxtor Diamond Max Plus 9 80Gb SATA Drives. Not IDE with convertors.

Plugged drives into mobo. Enabled SATA in BIOS.
Intel SATA RAID BIOS sits for about 5-6 mins on copyright banner before seeing drives. Then I get blank screen for about 4 mins. Then XP Pro takes a further 5 mins to load (Usually takes about 30 secs), then the drives aren't recognised anywhere.

I've DL Intel SATA RAID s/w v3.5.0.2568 for XP. The BIOS on POST show as 3.5.0.2459.

I've tried doing a fresh XP install from original CDROM with both the ICHR5 drivers that came with the board, and the new ones from the Intel site. All give same results: XP Installer can't see the drives.

I've looked through the other threads on this Forum. Although 1 is similar, none are the same.

I've written to Intel and Epox, and they are yet to give me anything back. Not sure how helpful they will be.

Incidentally, if i enable 1 drive as IDE, this works fine. So i think drives are OK.

Anyone. Help would be greatly appreciated.

Sean.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2004, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Posts: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanus
OK. Intel helped out. It was the BIOS version. Updated and all went swimmingly.

Thanks for looking people.
What version of BIOS solved your problem? I have a 'hang' problem similar to yours with 2x120g maXtor sata in raid setup ( it hangs in raid mode with bios from 25.12.2003)

best regards Proxie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2004, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Rotterdam (Netherlands)
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to Roady Send a message via MSN to Roady

Yea can you plz tell us wich bios version you used.
A client of mine is havind similiar problems and tomorrow i was planning to rma the mainboard cause i couldnt find a solution for it.

Wierd part is that it doesnt hang when u use a older bios version but with the older bios version you cant make a raid setup.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2004, 01:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 4

Epox Sata Raid Bios

OK chaps. I haven't checked bios version yet, and i'm about to turn pute off and go to bed, so will update tomorrow.

Since i last posted this. there have been a number of changes.
1. I'm using Intel RAID accelerator 3.5.0.2568 to create the 2 raid0 stripes. so i guess i'm using software RAID. This works ish with 2 exceptions.
a) it is no quicker than my 80 gig drive listed earlier. In fact it might even be a tad slower.
b) once every 20-30 boots it still refuses to pick up the raid, or reports one of the volumes as missing. either by restablishing the RAID or rebootting it fixes it and this takes a few seconds..

2. So as yet, i still don't have a satisfactory RAID. I've been hoping, meaning to rebuild it with a hardware RAID, but haven't found the time since. (Need to get all my stuff back onto a single drive from a striped system!!! Ghost??).

I eventualy got answers frm intel and Epox who were right helpfull. It was the epox bios that fixed it. I will post the bios ASAP.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2004, 01:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 4

Epox Sata Raid Bios

Oops i've just contradicted myself. Sorry i'm tired. I'll just get you the bioses. You have the Intel accelerator version there.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2004, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Rotterdam (Netherlands)
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to Roady Send a message via MSN to Roady

Lol sleep wel m8

Hope your bios wil fix this wierd problem!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce3 64Bit SATA RAID Driver (winxp x64), K8n neo2 platinum SATA RAID DRIVERS enforcex64guru 64 Bit computing 6 2nd May, 2007 02:15 PM
4PCA3+ V2.2 SATA Raid problems 1N54N3 EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd April, 2004 06:49 PM
4pca3+ rev1.2 when using sata raid fraudulent03 EPoX MotherBoards 0 8th February, 2004 12:29 PM
BooT Booting problem 8KRA2+ SATA-Raid and PATA-Raid together; not able to boot SATA.. DaF EPoX MotherBoards 0 1st October, 2003 09:20 PM
4pca3+ SATA RAID-1 support doesn't exist as claimed by Epox fergy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 26th August, 2003 07:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0