AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2003, 05:51 AM
mpa4712's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to mpa4712

8rda+ and logitech z-640's

Just got a new speaker setup seein as my old ones just broke. I like to use my sub for a footrest, and after a year or so of rocking, the connector that held the wires in broke off the pcb
so i picked up some logitech z-640's

the problem is settin them up right.

what i did was i ran the speaker setup wiz. everything came outa the right channel. When i enabled dolby surround encoding, nothing comes outa my rear speakers at all. It all defaults to the front speakers. Was wondering why? ANd how can i fix this? Im tryin to watch all the good movies with the directional sound, but i dont think im hearin it quite as well as i should.


Thanks,
mark
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2003, 08:59 PM
mpa4712's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to mpa4712

anyone?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 02:08 AM
mpa4712's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to mpa4712

guess that sounds kinda off..WHen i ran the speaker setup, everything came out of the channel it was supposed to, not all out the right channel.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 07:27 AM
BackBonE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: TR, Istanbul
Posts: 27

How do you connect them?
__________________
AMD XP 1800+ @2100Mhz
Epox 8RDA+ Rev2.1/C1 w/SPD650 @210Mhz
DC 256mB TwinMOS PC3200 DDR @3-2-2-2
Powercolor Radeon 9700 Evil Commando 2 @ 326/326mhz
Western Digital WD800JB
Elan Vital A-10
Coolermaster HHC-01
Vantec CCB-A1C
Zalman MFC1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 08:12 AM
mpa4712's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to mpa4712

they connect thru the onboard connectors...i use all three of them, the pink, blue,and the green.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 09:37 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

As far as I understand, the Logitech Z-640s do not have a Dolby Surround decoder. Nor, despite what the box might suggest, do they have a Dolby Digital decoder.

Dolby Surround encodes the rear and center channels onto a stereo signal. Hence, if you enable it and don't have a decoder for it, you'll only get a stereo signal out of the board.

So, go back and turn Dolby Surround and Dolby Digital off, as your speakers do not support those features natively. Instead, they rely on your computer to decode any such signals for them.

Presumably, you also turned on the settings that allow the input jacks (ie, mic and line in) to be used as outputs for center/sub and rear channels.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2003, 04:08 AM
mpa4712's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to mpa4712

Well, then how exactly do i use the dobly digital, says on the box they are compatable
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2003, 07:40 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Here's a snippet from the requirements section on Logitech's web site.

Quote:
System Requirements
PC
For 5.1 surround sound: any 4 or 6 channel sound card
For Dolby Digital 5.1 sound: sound card or software DVD player with built-in Dolby Digital decoding
In other words, the speakers themselves can't decode anything, which is not surprising at their price point. They rely on your PC to decode the Dolby Digital stream for them.

Dolby Digital (and DTS) are presented over either a single fibre, or over a single coax cable. If the speakers don't have a digital input, then there's no way they can decode a digital signal like Dolby Digital or DTS.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech MX 510 chrisbard Random Nonsense! 17 28th October, 2007 06:53 PM
logitech cam TDS-PYRO 64 Bit computing 2 24th December, 2005 05:17 AM
Logitech Z-680 and soundstorm Invalid Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 8th January, 2004 04:34 AM
EPoX 8RDA+ and Logitech iTouch endorphin EPoX MotherBoards 2 6th June, 2003 11:37 PM
Logitech Z-640's gah cant understand manual Shashkastorm Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 12th April, 2003 01:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0