AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2003, 09:54 PM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

Unhappy EP-8RGA+ Problems, problems problems and misery

hi there,

i have just "upgraded" my motherboard from an Asus A7V-266E to an Epox EP-8RGA+. I have had numerous problems, and if any one can answer ANY aspect of these problems, i would be greatly appreciative. I am a full time programmer, who is unable to do any programming.

Right then:

1. I have got a Logitech Wireless Kb/Mouse. I plugged in the reciever into the usb, to find that it did not light up. i thought this could be a fault with my keyboard and mouse and reciever, so i borrowed my mates. still the same problem, so ive had to plug it into PS/2 where it works fine. Any ideas?

2. Windows 2000... well, i have installed it 50 times, and everytime, i have found that SVCHost.exe has generated errors and will have to be shut down. Why is this? It was working fine with my previous motherboard.

3. In windows 98 now (i triple boot with Linux/Windows 2000 and 98SE) when i try to play media (mp3, wav, midi, mpeg, avi etc..) it is played back at double or triple the speed, hence a song which lasts 3 minutes, elapses in less than 15 seconds. I have tried Windows Media Player, Winamp and Real Player One. Media plays back fine in win2000/linux.

4. And last, but not least, the networking in linux is not working, but i take it that the mobo is so new, that linux does not yet support it.

Thanks in advance, i am needing solutions URGENTLY. if any body can possibly help a.s.a.p it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again

Offie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2003, 11:23 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

best guesses
1 set bios to enable legacy usb or keyboard?
2 memory timings? detonator driver? directx
3 set hardware acceleration in playback device 2 notches down in control panel, multimedia ,advanced fetures?
4 try manual irq settings in bios. disable irq11. may need to disable apic and reinstall? don't quote me
running an 8rga+ under 98 and 2k for months. no problems.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 07:46 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

2. Svchost.exe is a wrapper that helps a number of different services on the machine. One of those services is dying for some reason. Unfortunately, svchost.exe won't tell you which service blew up.

4. Linux has been supported for a while now. The nForce driver provides support for networking, GART and basic audio. Look at http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux.html for details. It's the nForce Driver (1.0-0261) you want.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Behind you!
Posts: 23

I think I know what your problems are, but you're better off posting your system specs here first. Are you using the onboard IGP Video also? If so, then its a common problem that almost every user falls into including myself, and one that Epox still haven't fixed no matter how many people complain. Specs first mate.

No idea about the mouse problems though.
__________________
Barton 2500+ (210x11@1.76v) | Epox 8RGA+ | Aero7+ Idle:34c Load:42-44c | Seagate Barracuda V 60gb
2x512 Twinmos 3200 | Herc 9800 Pro | Coolermaster 201c + 4x80mm Delta screamers and a scared cat.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 09:27 AM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

Thank you every one for your help.

Flytek: The bios is already set for using legacy k/b and mouse Really confusing. Err, i dont really understand about memory timings? or detonator driver? however, i understand the Direct X part of which i have the most recent release. I set the acceleration down, but still no go, and finally, i understand the irq part, but whats apic? - Thanks for your help mate.

Áedán - thanks, thats a reassuring for me - i thought id be stranded without linux!!

Mr.Yubbo - My PC Specs are as follows:

Onboard GeForce 4 being used (only 1 monitor though)
Athlon XP 1800+
256mb Ram
Onboard audio being used
Onboard networking being used
Usb ports seem to be not liking USB keyboards and mice.
1x Raid card
1x SCSI Card

I'm begginning to feel as though it is a motherboard fault.

Thanks everybody for all your help, it is greatly appreciated!

Offie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Behind you!
Posts: 23

Argh, i'm having mad forum access problems!

Offie, regarding your ram, do you know exactly what make and speed it is? e.g Twinmos DDR3200, DDR2700 etc? nForce mobo's are very picky about DDR ram, and the 8RGA+ is extremely fussy about the ram it uses for its onboard IGP video.

Lastly, is Linux working perfectly compared to Windows?
__________________
Barton 2500+ (210x11@1.76v) | Epox 8RGA+ | Aero7+ Idle:34c Load:42-44c | Seagate Barracuda V 60gb
2x512 Twinmos 3200 | Herc 9800 Pro | Coolermaster 201c + 4x80mm Delta screamers and a scared cat.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 11:43 AM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

well, all aspects in linux were working properly except for the networking, of which it could not find a network card installed.

Hmm, the ram. Not sure, i just bought it from somewhere.

Is it a problem not knowing where the ram came from/what make it is?

offie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 01:25 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

APIC is the Advanced Peripheral Interrupt Controller... It's a standard that's slowly replacing the old PICs.

Basically, when IBM invented the XT PC, they put two PICs in there to handle the interrupts. Each PIC can handle 8 IRQs, giving a total of 15. Why 15, rather than 16? Well, the output from the second PIC is connected to IRQ2 on the first PIC, using one up. However, the PIC design is slow and old, originally designed to be on the ISA bus. Although computers have moved forwards, the PIC interface still needs to look like it's ISA.

APIC splits up the way the PIC works, and provides the possibilities for more IRQ lines. Basically, the processor has part of the APIC onboard, and the chipset has another part of APIC. These communicate over a special serial bus.

Unfortunately, APIC mode doesn't always work as well as it should do, and some drivers can't handle interrupts above 15.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 06:07 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Aedan, didn't you once post a link or raise the point about some USB devices not working correctly on NF2 mainboards?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 09:23 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yeah, I did actually. The basic outcome was that some USB devices didn't quite follow the USB spec, and produced out-of-whack timing. nVidia's solution, if the device was a USB1.1 device, was to plug the device into a USB2 hub, and let that retime the signal.

Personally, I prefer using PS/2, as the PS/2 hardware can buffer data if the processor gets too tied up. With USB, if the processor doesn't poll the USB devices, data can go missing.

Also, I'm not sure what the status of the USB drivers under Linux is. Last time I looked, the USB module would load, but wouldn't actually support the USB ports.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 10:30 PM
offie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 276

Exclamation

thanks, but are there any other solutions to any of the other problems? or should i scrap the board?

offie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2003, 10:42 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

set memory to 100% and optimal in the bios? downloaded the latest nforce2 drivers and the nvidia detonator graphics driver? (man i hope you've got descent bandwidth)
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2003, 08:13 PM
bilboda's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 64

Considering your up to rma'ing your board now, have you tried just a basic installation, no scsi or raid card loaded? And no extra software? Check out your problem devices with just a basic config and if everything works, proceed from there 1 by 1 adding hardware and software until the problem reoccurs.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8rga USB DSL Problems Lorddrakul EPoX MotherBoards 17 13th May, 2004 09:53 AM
8RGA+ Problems!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! cintrone EPoX MotherBoards 9 1st September, 2003 07:52 PM
EPOX 8RDA+ problems (FF error and Ram misery) C0deM0nkey EPoX MotherBoards 6 8th August, 2003 09:53 PM
8RGA+ Problems DEZMOND EPoX MotherBoards 8 2nd July, 2003 11:59 AM
8rga problems msudallas EPoX MotherBoards 12 16th May, 2003 05:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0