AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 19th August, 2003, 09:54 PM
Banned

Unhappy EP-8RGA+ Problems, problems problems and misery

hi there,

i have just "upgraded" my motherboard from an Asus A7V-266E to an Epox EP-8RGA+. I have had numerous problems, and if any one can answer ANY aspect of these problems, i would be greatly appreciative. I am a full time programmer, who is unable to do any programming.

Right then:

1. I have got a Logitech Wireless Kb/Mouse. I plugged in the reciever into the usb, to find that it did not light up. i thought this could be a fault with my keyboard and mouse and reciever, so i borrowed my mates. still the same problem, so ive had to plug it into PS/2 where it works fine. Any ideas?

2. Windows 2000... well, i have installed it 50 times, and everytime, i have found that SVCHost.exe has generated errors and will have to be shut down. Why is this? It was working fine with my previous motherboard.

3. In windows 98 now (i triple boot with Linux/Windows 2000 and 98SE) when i try to play media (mp3, wav, midi, mpeg, avi etc..) it is played back at double or triple the speed, hence a song which lasts 3 minutes, elapses in less than 15 seconds. I have tried Windows Media Player, Winamp and Real Player One. Media plays back fine in win2000/linux.

4. And last, but not least, the networking in linux is not working, but i take it that the mobo is so new, that linux does not yet support it.

Thanks in advance, i am needing solutions URGENTLY. if any body can possibly help a.s.a.p it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again

Offie
Old 19th August, 2003, 11:23 PM

best guesses
1 set bios to enable legacy usb or keyboard?
2 memory timings? detonator driver? directx