AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 09:36 PM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Changing MoBo.........

I'm thinking of buying the 8RDA3G, for the 400fsb, and getting rid of meh 8RDA+ rev1.1.

Am I right in thinking I can just connect everything up and it will fire up ok as all my existing drivers are for nForce2?

I don't want the hassle of another windows install tbh!!

Anyone in UK want an 8RDA+ rev1.1 with Vantec Iceberq on NB, and Zalman passive on SB, but no Vmod done?

Could influence my decision to order the 8RDA3G!!
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 11:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

It should be an easy switch, you might have to do a repair install of windows?
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 11:18 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

yes, your install should be fine. I used an installation of windows that i had on a 8RDA, it dies and i left that install on the hard drive for 6 months while i used my spare pc, i bought a new a-bit nforce motherboard and use the same installation and it worked fine
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2003, 01:34 AM
Mark099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Posts: 283

To make it easier you may just wanna install the latest nForce drivers before changing the motherboard. Otherwise, except for the sound drivers, everything sound be fine.
__________________
Mark099!

Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.4Ghz | Asus K8N-E Deluxe | PNY Verto GeForce FX 5600 Ultra 128MB | 2x 256MB Kingston Hyper-X PC3700 DDR | 80GB Maxtor 8MB 7200RPM HDD | LG 24x10x40x CDRW | Iomega 250MB Zip | Landmark ATX-A70 23" Aluminum Case | Antec 550W TruePower PSU | Windows XP Pro SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2003, 09:04 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

There are some differences between the 8RDA+ and the 8RDA3G.

The 8RDA+ uses the features of the MCP-T to offer USB, Firewire and the APU.

The 8RDA3G does not provide the MCP-T, and hence uses different chips to provide Firewire and sound. Not sure about network or USB...
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2003, 02:50 PM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
There are some differences between the 8RDA+ and the 8RDA3G.

The 8RDA+ uses the features of the MCP-T to offer USB, Firewire and the APU.

The 8RDA3G does not provide the MCP-T, and hence uses different chips to provide Firewire and sound. Not sure about network or USB...
So i could be better off paying another tenner and getting the 8RDA3+, which has MCP-T hasn't it?
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2003, 03:26 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobaggies
So i could be better off paying another tenner and getting the 8RDA3+, which has MCP-T hasn't it?
No it doesn't. See this review. It uses the MCP southbridge.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2003, 03:47 PM
New-b's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 170

Only 8RDA+ and 8RGA+ have MCP-T
__________________
DFI NF2 Ultra Inf//mobile 2600+ @2561(11.5x222)
1gig Mushkin Black L2 3500 @ 11-2-2-2-2-13-15-E-E-F-E
ALX-800 + 80mm Tornado//Shin-etsu thermal pad
Radeon 9800pro-M(Tyan Tachyon)
2x WD 80gb HDD
Lite-on 52x32x52 CD-RW//Samsung 16x DVD
Antec SLK3700amd//550w True control
Yamaha TSS1-W 5.1 Dolby Digital/DTS Speakers & external decoder
Windows XP sp1//DX9.b//(Omega 4.2's)//2-17.bo1 bios
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2003, 11:38 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Quote:
Originally Posted by New-b
Only 8RDA+ and 8RGA+ have MCP-T
Yeah, it is on the British website confirming that.

All I really want to know is, as I have nforce2 drivers already loaded, I should be able to plug everything into the new mobo and away, without reinstalling windows!
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2003, 01:47 PM
New-b's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobaggies
Yeah, it is on the British website confirming that.

All I really want to know is, as I have nforce2 drivers already loaded, I should be able to plug everything into the new mobo and away, without reinstalling windows!
Not sure, I went from an 8RDA to a 8RDA+ without reinstalling.Just had to install the drivers that were not loaded yet(firewire,sound,ethernet). I say try it.....just remove the drivers for audio(and anything else that's not the same) before the switch..........But,be prepared .You may have to reinstall MS or at least do a repair.
__________________
DFI NF2 Ultra Inf//mobile 2600+ @2561(11.5x222)
1gig Mushkin Black L2 3500 @ 11-2-2-2-2-13-15-E-E-F-E
ALX-800 + 80mm Tornado//Shin-etsu thermal pad
Radeon 9800pro-M(Tyan Tachyon)
2x WD 80gb HDD
Lite-on 52x32x52 CD-RW//Samsung 16x DVD
Antec SLK3700amd//550w True control
Yamaha TSS1-W 5.1 Dolby Digital/DTS Speakers & external decoder
Windows XP sp1//DX9.b//(Omega 4.2's)//2-17.bo1 bios
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing teams, maybe Deadman93723 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 31st August, 2006 03:16 PM
Changing of the IP address captaincurran Mobile Devices and Networking 7 25th March, 2006 04:46 PM
Question About changing mobo & fan setup Necorum Intel Motherboards & CPUs 5 6th February, 2005 06:36 PM
serial no changing in c/s doctoromeo GAMES! OH YEAH! 4 18th June, 2003 02:22 AM
Why we are changing servers Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 7 13th April, 2002 11:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0