AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

Angry 8RDA+ Rev 2.0 Hardrive won't shut up!

Hi There

Having recently just installed a 9700 pro into my system the hardrive won't stop accessing. I re-installed my gr4ti4200 8xagp an it's still the same! I updated the bios to 27/8/2003 and its still the same.

If I just let windows boot, the hardrive acesses intermitently, thought this might be Xp shuffling this around so left it for a full day. Still doing same. Defragged hardrive. Still doing same. reset bios to fail safe and optomised. Still doing same.

Running application manager I can see that CPU Barton 3200+) utilisation goes upto 100 percent at times but averages 2 -11% every second or so.

I have formatted my hardrive an reinstalled, tried a different hardive format an clean install. All showing same problem. Makes games stutter every other second which is a pain in the arse when its showing 16,500 and 5,400 in benches.
Any and all help welcomed and thanked in advance. Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 171

Why don't you post your system specs, especially wot hard drive you have
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 11:20 AM
Veky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 269
Send a message via ICQ to Veky Send a message via AIM to Veky Send a message via MSN to Veky Send a message via Yahoo to Veky

System restore running?
CPU utilization (100%) bug on WinXP?
You sure it's running in DMA mode?
Nforce MCP2 IDE driver installed instead of the other one?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

System restore is disabled to keep virus Wilcheia(spelling?) I think it was called off (norton antivrus 2003 installed)which has been removed also.

Its flasing away now as I write an totally depressing me.

The drives are ibm deskstar 180 123gb 7200
an Maxtor d540x 5,400 40 gb
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

756 mb pc 3200 200mhx 8 3 3 2.5 (can't get lower without crash)
550 watt gold PSU
Sony 48x burnproof cdrw
barton 2500 (running 11x200 1.75)
open case to aid cooling
fan cooling northbridge,southbridge
fan blowing accross gfx card
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 11:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

when watching task manager

The memory (physical) and paged just seem to be bobbing about swopping between 20k an 300k while no process seem to be changing

Plus at cpu 100% hardrive light was fully on didn't go off yet looking at the process utilisation didn't show any program using the cpu
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 171

Turn off your swap file and hibernation and all should be solved.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

Hi

I have never had hibernation on (and it has never been selected as an option, just checked to make sure and it is indeed disabled/unchecked)

Could turn off the swop file to solve the problem but I can remeber reading quite alot of software expects there to be one and will crash if it's not there. Some direct x games use it to store the sounds and won't force it into memory even if space is available.

I know that I read it on a thread somewhere, have never tried an just wish that who ever made the flawless operating system on my 7mhz 512k amiga 500 would go an work for Microsoft! lol

Hard to appreciate that such a powerfull computer can be brought to its knees by accessing its hardrive.

Yay My copy of EDGE has just dropped through the letter box!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 12:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 171

Turning off the swap file will only bring stability - XP's paging algorithms are screwy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

Right I'll put ma copy of edge down, get rid of my swop file, hopefully be able to still write another reply in a few minutes! lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

Well hibernation disabled and Paging file set at 0mb and is switched off. Still doing it. Starting to sound more an more like ma motherbaords on its way out?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 171

no its definitely a software problem. give enditall2 a try, it kills all the programs and then you can see whether it still does it.
http://www2.whidbey.com/djdenham/enditall2.htm
The other thing you can try is Linux, has great memory management.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

http://home.ptd.net/~don5408/toolbox/enditall/ is a better link as ya don't have to pay for it! lol
Right got it up an running. should I be targetting an specific program? or kill the lot
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 12:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

What happens if you disconnect any CD/DVD drive you have in the system?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 171

first of all you want to kill the lot. if this helps then reboot, and kill them off one at a time till it stops. that way you can get rid of the sucker causing all this.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

Cd/dvd did nothing 2 copies of svchost running neither is laster or welchia virus but when closed down kicks in with the 60 seconds shut down thing which looked like both of the above
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 171

That is Windows' stupid "auto reboot if RPC is shutdown".
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 01:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

Only things running (and still HD access)
lsass.exe services.exe
enditall.exe winlogon.exe
svchost.exe svchost.exe
Not gone mad there are 2 identical named files running. Closing one is OK close the other an off it goes. I don't know what RPC means "Root program control?"
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 01:38 PM
Veky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 269
Send a message via ICQ to Veky Send a message via AIM to Veky Send a message via MSN to Veky Send a message via Yahoo to Veky

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadBoyBonner
Only things running (and still HD access)
lsass.exe services.exe
enditall.exe winlogon.exe
svchost.exe svchost.exe
Not gone mad there are 2 identical named files running. Closing one is OK close the other an off it goes. I don't know what RPC means "Root program control?"
Remote Procedure Call, both of them are required by Windows.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2003, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 22

winlogon.exe's title in killall is showing up as netDDE Agent
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crazy shut off probs - 8rda+ keviha EPoX MotherBoards 9 20th September, 2003 11:25 PM
8RDA+ & psuedo USB Hardrive problem Time to Paws EPoX MotherBoards 0 4th May, 2003 01:02 AM
8RDA shut down problem RandyB EPoX MotherBoards 2 28th December, 2002 07:26 PM
Hardrive crashed!! I blame.... Solosmooth CRASHED! 38 21st April, 2002 03:46 PM
Hardrive performance with xp Hugo 59 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 29th September, 2001 10:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0