AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2001, 02:41 AM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

A little dissapointing results

Hi all,
I have been benching my new epox 8kha+ and vapochill system and here are the results.

see signiture for specs

3dmarks 2001 8502

----------------------------------------------------------------------

I am unable to post at any FSB above 155.
My Mem setup is Turbo with the most aggressive settings
2-2-2-6-8-it
vdimm is +.1v for 2.60v total
Vcore is +.1v and reports a total of 1.89v
AGP 4x / 256 fast writes enabled

----------------------------------------------------------------------

> I guess whats next is i will up vdimm by +.1v and see if this helps.

> I will try set mem to 100 and try 3/4 divider.

> Maybe one day i will volt mod the mobo and unlock the xp(or buy an unlocked xp my eyes arent that good anymore


> Any suggestions would be appreciated
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2001, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

That's not bad for a locked processor at only 1.85v. I was only get 151fsb with a 1800+ Vapochilled. I thoroughly recommend vmodding, as thats the beauty of super cooling. You can go up to 2.15vcore with out even worrying abouts CPU temps. Also unlocking will get you to some extreme FSB's

As a matter of interest, whats your evapourator temp, CPU temp and ambient temps like. At full load, mine are -5, 38c and about 35c+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2001, 02:11 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Do remember that due to the nature of the XP's construction in opposition to the Thunderbird, extreme over voltage doesn't always yield significant gains in speed.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2001, 08:06 PM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

Nico67:
My system with the vapochill has the following temps at full load.
-12c on the vapochill
33 on the geforce3 (prob attached to heatsink)
15 on the via chip (prob attached to heatsink no fan)
24 on the vapochill radiator (prob inserted into fins)
case temp ~15
my vcore is at 1.9v (maxed out on the board)
I have substantial air flow through the case and the vapochill radiator/compressor with many added fans! and proper flow.
I should mention that i do have the new enermax eg465p-vefca (430w) and yes the +5v rail does stray a lot , ive seen it down to 4.89v.

I will look to unlock the next cpu that goes in the system and at that time do the voltage mod.
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2001, 12:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

EPoX Tech,

I got an extra 100mhz with 0.1v to 1.96v, but your correct that increasing up to 2.14v didn't help much, maybe 10 - 20 mhz. Its only useful for stabilizing at the next major speed.

Engineer,
You may find the 5v will drop alot more with the vcore mod, but there is an easy mod that can be done to the Enermax to adjust it back up, and it really helps stability.
Do you use motherboard monitor for your CPU readings? that was what gave me 38c. Oh to have a case temp at 15c at the moment mines lucky to be under 34c, thats why I went Vapochill. I wouldn't be able to use 1.85vcore with air cooling, unless it was an exceptional chip.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2001, 03:25 AM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

Any details on the enermax mod ... url ?
I would do the volt mod easy just so hard to get into the case and all without having to rip everything apart! you know what i mean.
Yeah my pc sits in a computer room in my basement um nice and cold all year round.

If i try up the fsb to say 159 it will post but allways crashes on windows xp start.
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2001, 03:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

Engineer,

Here's the link.

Enermax +5v mod

I know what you mean about vmodding, so I just got some clips to do the trick. Didn't have to pull the motherboard out, and I've got it in a Lian li PC70 so it would have been a real pain.

Check out this link which you might find of interest.

http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=83984
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2001, 04:14 AM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

Clips ? not a lot of room to attach a clip of some sort ?
i will pull the power supply tomorrow and maybe even do the volt mod at the same time since i will have more room.
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2001, 06:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

This link has an excellent pic of a clip in action.

http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.p...&highlight=mod
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2001, 02:31 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Soldering to the Voltage Reg is easy enough rather than using micro grabbers. Far more useful if carrying out the Macci type mod rather than the basic leg 2 modification which reduces stability.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2002, 01:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
Soldering to the Voltage Reg is easy enough rather than using micro grabbers. Far more useful if carrying out the Macci type mod rather than the basic leg 2 modification which reduces stability.
Hmmm True!

But if you don't want to take your motherboard out due to the chance of the evaporator crushing the core, then the clip is better than trying to get into a corner with a soldering iron. Those with Vapochill's that have crushed their CPU core through diconnecting and reconnecting the evapourator multiple times (thankfully not myself, Yet!), will agree that leaving it alone whenever possible is the best option.

By the way, this is what I use the the "Macci type" 5 resistor mod!

http://www3.hirschmann.de/img/prod/9..._933084001.jpg

Hirschmann 14 way SOIC test clip.

Works like a charm
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 15

Nico67 where can I get one of those clips? Thanks
__________________
NF7-S 2.0
XP1700 at 11x228sync
TwinMos 512/-5ns chips
Hercules 9800 Pro 128
2 Raptors raid 0
TDK velo cd/rw
Pioneer dvd
CS Megaworks 510d
Logitech Momo wheel
Logitech Force 3D
Win2k/fat32
CoolMax Taurus 550wt. PS.
d-tek WWB Poly- poly chipset block- MCW50 gpu block- bay res- heatercore.

21khttp://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6921509
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2002, 12:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

Racerx

I got mine from Farnell electronics here in Australia, and they are an international company Any good major electronics component supplier should have them or something similar.

Heres the Link to Hirschmann in the UK.

http://www.hirschmann.co.uk/
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2002, 12:17 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Engineer 8KHA+ dont seem to like postin over 155mhz FSB with the bios it ships with..... with the 30/11/01 beta bios i can post at 175 no problem!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2002, 09:13 PM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

Yeah i removed the org bios immediately um think its 11/20 um im waiting for a a few parts to come in so i can do some volt mods on the board and supply and re-test.
I will be sure to post results. Also i might try that new bios since i do suffer from the warm reset problem.
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2002, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 8

I bought an extra board that I'm going to return, that does 177 fsb.
No voltage mods just straight out of the box.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 05:53 AM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

update

Ok i have preformed the volt mod on my Enermax and have the +5v rail stable at +5.1v under load.
At the same time i also did the vcore volt mod and have vcore set at 2v.
I still am unable to break 155 mhz stable with the locked cpu.
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

Engineer

Sorry to here it didn't help your overclocking. It would have been interesting to see what sort of results you got, unlocked. It sounds like it has reached the top end of its capable speed, but it could be its fsb limited too. Try the 8khaL00 bios, it seems to really help with some boards. Also whats your 3.3v rail like?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally posted by Nico67


By the way, this is what I use the the "Macci type" 5 resistor mod!

http://www3.hirschmann.de/img/prod/9..._933084001.jpg

Hirschmann 14 way SOIC test clip.

Works like a charm
I can't seem to find anywhere that sells that SOIC test clip, wil this one be okay?

http://www1.rswww.com/images/C424018-01.jpg

Its about £5 - how much was that hirschmann one? And does it stay on the ic clip fine?

Also does it leave any room for a mini heatsink - I was thinking it could do with some cooling!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

Kaiser Soze

That one is for DIL ic's, which have 2.54mm pin spacing. The SOIC ic's have a 1.27mm pin spacing.
So to answer your question, although it should fit, only every second pin of the ic would be accessable at the top of the clip.
So it wouldn't allow you to do the mod.
The Hirschmann was about AUD$50, which would be about 15 pounds. It fits on the fine (using the 14way as thats all you need), and leaves a little over half the chip to fit a sink on.
The only thing you need to do is file one end of the clip down so that the insulator thickness is the same as the other combs. This is because the clip doses fit over the whole chip.

Try contacting Hirschmann direct, they should be able to tell you where you could purchase their products.

Hirschmann Electronics Ltd.
St. Martins Way
St. Martins Business Centre
GB-Bedford MK42 0LF
Phone: +44-1234-34 59 99
Fax: +44-1234-35 22 22
Email: enquiry@hirschmann.co.uk
WWW: www.hirschmann.co.uk


3M also make a SOIC test clip, possibly others too. Check out some of the larger electronic component stores as they seem to be rarely kept item.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very dissapointing FPS in Counter Strike, please help Got EpOx GAMES! OH YEAH! 12 22nd July, 2005 04:43 AM
Better results warp1 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 25th January, 2004 12:44 AM
vdd mod my 8rda, dissapointing oc. amd2400user EPoX MotherBoards 4 21st July, 2003 12:44 PM
My new oc results... :) athlonboi AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 6th February, 2003 11:27 AM
8RDA+, XP2400+, OC results...with similar system, whats your results? Powerhouse EPoX MotherBoards 7 6th February, 2003 01:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0