AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2003, 12:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 9

Overclocking 8rda+ with Barton 2800, Help needed

I dont think I am getting what I should out of this rig, any ideas would be most welcome.

System
barton 2800
Epox 8rda+
Corsair 2x 512mb 3200ll with timings 6-2-2-2.0
Gf4 4600ti @325, 710Mhz
Antec true power 500w psu ( for vapo at later date )

Cooling: 4x case fans with Coolermaster heatpipe h-01 with delta 6600rpm fan for cpu.
Temps: cpu idle 42c full load 50c with system temp of 20c
Voltages: cpu 1.775, ram 2.77, agp 1.6

max stable overclock is arround 2250mhz, either 182fsb x 12.5 or 188 x 12.
I have tried slackening off the ram timings, and upped the cpu voltage to 1.85 but still no real improvement.

Thanx for your help in advance.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2003, 01:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

I have to guess you have a revision 1.0 or 1.1 board? They were not the best overclockers...............you can add an active cooling fan to the northbridge, passive heatsink on the southbridege (Vantec Iceburg makes a nice kit for these two mods) do the Vdd mod so you can increase chipset voltage, relax your memory timings to 11-3-3 at cas 2.5, get a better cpu/heatsink to get cpu temps down to around 40 degrees C..................good luck!
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2003, 04:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

wooooah, please don't knock my 8rda+ 1.1. yes, good cooling is mandatory. cpu, nb, sb, mofsets, memory, etc. once you've done that, then vdd mod and your ready to rock. if that's not for you, i have the following observations on my experience over last week with new barton 2500:
barton seems to run hotter by 2-3C.
needs more voltage vs tbredB. result-more heat.
whereas 2100 tbred ran 11x218 max, barton only wanted to do 11x210, even w/ 1.87 volts. but then, dropped multi to 10.5 and now at 225 and still burning in. never could get that high of fsb w/ tbred, regardless of multi. haven't changed anything but cpu and voltage. even at lower mhz, 3dm01 scores are slightly better due to increased bandwidth from fsb (and perhaps extra cache). point is, try dropping multi and raising fsb and cpu voltage until you hit a wall, relax timings then repeat and try for some more. i'm currently 1.9v, 40C atm, 42C gaming, in a 80F room. gotta love watercooling.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330

Last edited by fast--; 7th October, 2003 at 04:43 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2003, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 9

Thanx for the advise guys, I forgot to mention I had Active cooling on the northbridge and passive cooling on the southbridge already.
The board is rev 1.1.
Does the 1gb ram affect overclocking? I notice most peeps here use 512mb
If i purchased a vapo unit, would i still need to do the vdd mod in order to break the 200fsb mark?
What would u say is reasonable voltage for barton 2800xp?

Thanx again
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2003, 11:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

my limited understanding of vapochill units is that only cool cpu. although will help with case temps, won't be enough to get the fsb you want w/out vdd mod. my experience was i could only do 202 totally stable until did vdd mod. this varies by board. many report 185-190 max fsb w/out mod. if you are going to invest in vapo, might as well go all the way and do the mod so you reach full potential. there are numerous threads on the mod. read em all. not that difficult if you have board out of the case. also put sinks on mofsets, including the vdd mofset, as these are required to handle extra voltage/fsb. also get some air blowing on sinks.
what type ram? are you saying your running 1gig ram modules? more than 2 dimms definitely affects fsb limit and takes away dual channel. have not heard probs w/ running 2x512.
i'm running 1.9v. i wouldn't go above 2v without vapo unit.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330

Last edited by fast--; 7th October, 2003 at 11:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 9

Just did the VDD mod, used 680 resistor, now got vdd 1.84v and am running at 200fsb, hehe

currently 11x 200 = 2200, gonna go and play with it, to see what i can get


Thanx guys
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 10:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 9

Done some playin arround with the settings, can do 200fsb no probs, but still wont stay stable above 2250mhz, am currently using 1.775 volts to cpu, 2.77 to ram.
Temps, idle 42 full load 48 according to MBM5
The 2800 barton norm speed is 2083mhz, thought i would get at least 2300mhz.
Any more ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 11:27 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

maybe u just got a bad one,...of course a vapo would help out there - u would get 2,4gigs outta it at the very least, I'd say 2,5gigs are realistic.
YOu might as well give it more volts...
oh and to get a higher FSB try usin 11-3-2-2 timings (erm I dunno the right order just make sure u set Trcd to 3) and 2,9V Vdimm...
If that doesn't help then your mobo is the limiting factor - you'll need more Vdd and/or better NB/Mosfet-cooling then... good luck...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2003, 04:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

try relaxing mem timings (look at jcools sig for tras and volt settings), then lower multi and raise fsb. also, be patient, as it takes awhile for the cpu to burn in as well as your memory. run memtest to both test and burn in your memory. run prime 95 and/or loops of 3dm to burn in cpu. if after burn in you don't notice improvement, up cpu volt, then if still not getting there, up ram volt. again, be patient with ram voltage increases. first time i tried it, system immediately started acting sluggish. took awhile to loosen up. updated my sig so you can see my settings on barton.
what stepping is your Barton?
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330

Last edited by fast--; 9th October, 2003 at 04:51 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2003, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 9

Think it must be the cpu stoppin me go higher, have now tried various timings from 11-3-2-2 to 5-2-2-2 with the same results.
Max stable FSB is 208 but have to turn the multiplier right down to 10.5
to get system stable, 2184mhz.
Does not seem to matter what combination I try the thing wont go above 2250mhz stable.
Gonna try to lower the temps a bit by modding the case sides with mesh. This might then allow me to up the cpu voltage a bit.
__________________
8rda+ vdd modded to 1.84v
Barton 2800 @ 2305mhz 200x11.5, 1.85v
2x 512mb (matched pair) Corsair 3200LL, 6-2-2-2
Gf4 4600ti @ 325, 720mhz
500w Antec true power psu
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2003, 10:12 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

You might need 1,8V or more to break 2300Mhz.
My 2500+ needs 1,775V for 2300Mhz at the very least and its even watercooled - my max is 2450Mhz @1,95V e.g.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2003, 11:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

jcool, please share your multi and fsb. i am interested to see if running 11 or 10.5 to reach 2368. i could'nt get there at 11. also please share your experience on where your corsair topped out at a given voltage. could that be W!lba's prob-not enough vdimm?
W!lba, post your multi, fsb, and voltages at each combo and where you topped out. that will help zero in on the prob. also, did you put heat sinks on the mofsets yet? what type of nb cooler are you using?
what bios are you running? recent bios solved some probs with Barton.
finally, jclk jumper? i didn't need to change, but some people report solving barton probs by removing.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330

Last edited by fast--; 10th October, 2003 at 12:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2003, 01:59 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

fast if u take out ur calculator u can easily see what mult I'm running obviously
Oh and when you're reading through the endless lines of my signature keep an eye out for the FSB... it must be hiding there somewhere, too!
As for the rams, I'm giving them 2,9V running mentioned timings @225 Mhz.

I can do 225x11=2475Mhz but only at 2V Vcore.
BTW, cooling is crucial to this ram - I've gotten 5 more mhz outta it just because I improved cooling... couldn't go much above 220 W/ 2-2-2-11 and keeping it 24/7 stable in the first place...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2003, 01:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

ouch, but deserved. math is obviously not my strong point, especially late at night.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2003, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 9

Installed new Delta 80mm, 80.1cfm fan, with 60-80mm converter.
Upped voltage to 1.85v

Now stable at 2305Mhz!

Thanks guys
__________________
8rda+ vdd modded to 1.84v
Barton 2800 @ 2305mhz 200x11.5, 1.85v
2x 512mb (matched pair) Corsair 3200LL, 6-2-2-2
Gf4 4600ti @ 325, 720mhz
500w Antec true power psu
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2003, 04:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 9

Whoops!, Should have mentioned Temps

Idle now 39c
Full load 43c

This new delta fan is amazing, but is very loud!
Delta 80mm Fan (EHE) (FG-004-DE)
- Speed - 5700RPM
- Output - 80.1CFM
- Decibels - 52.5dBA
- Dimensions - 80x80x38

200x11.5 = 2305Mhz, no idea where the extra 5mhz comes from!
__________________
8rda+ vdd modded to 1.84v
Barton 2800 @ 2305mhz 200x11.5, 1.85v
2x 512mb (matched pair) Corsair 3200LL, 6-2-2-2
Gf4 4600ti @ 325, 720mhz
500w Antec true power psu
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2003, 12:33 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

W!lba,
Use wcpuid to check your chipset rev. If you got a C1 board, you shouldn't need a vdd mod. My rev1.1 has C1 and it will run 230MHz fsb without mods. I run my system @ 220x10.5 for 24/7 use without hickups with a vcore of 1.65v (reports 1.71v in USDM and BIOS). My temps are a bit high - 56c full load, but as long as it's stable, don't hold too much weight on temps unless you get 70c or higher.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2003, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPQQKY
W!lba,
Use wcpuid to check your chipset rev. If you got a C1 board, you shouldn't need a vdd mod. My rev1.1 has C1 and it will run 230MHz fsb without mods. I run my system @ 220x10.5 for 24/7 use without hickups with a vcore of 1.65v (reports 1.71v in USDM and BIOS). My temps are a bit high - 56c full load, but as long as it's stable, don't hold too much weight on temps unless you get 70c or higher.
Have not checked to see if I got C1 or not, but my board would not do more than 188FSB b4 VDD mod, thats 4 sure!
__________________
8rda+ vdd modded to 1.84v
Barton 2800 @ 2305mhz 200x11.5, 1.85v
2x 512mb (matched pair) Corsair 3200LL, 6-2-2-2
Gf4 4600ti @ 325, 720mhz
500w Antec true power psu
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Athlon XP 2800+ "Barton" with A7N8X-LA devilmyarse AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 24th June, 2005 05:22 PM
8RDA+ and 2800 Barton OC Problem ProphetX EPoX MotherBoards 5 3rd January, 2004 09:39 AM
Barton 2800+ buzz_lips EPoX MotherBoards 8 25th July, 2003 10:43 PM
8RDA+ and Barton 2500+ Overclocking issue jdogg707 EPoX MotherBoards 22 25th March, 2003 02:30 PM
8RDA+ needed advice on overclocking to the 190FSB level or up philip EPoX MotherBoards 0 11th December, 2002 03:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0