AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2003, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 28

memory setting for 8rda3+

Quick question pls

Ive got 2 x 256meg 3200ddr and want to have it running at 200mhz. I set the mem in the bios to 133 and then changed that frequency thing so it said it would be running at 200. I got told to do this so it didnt overclock the other components.

Is this right or have i been told a load of poo?

cheers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2003, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Latvia
Posts: 85

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashy
Quick question pls

Ive got 2 x 256meg 3200ddr and want to have it running at 200mhz. I set the mem in the bios to 133 and then changed that frequency thing so it said it would be running at 200. I got told to do this so it didnt overclock the other components.

Is this right or have i been told a load of poo?

cheers
No no no no

actually, this is NOT a quick question you're asking especially so quickly and obscurely as you just did it

you should want to run the memory synchronized with the cpu fsb frequency (that means, in the bios: memory speed set to 100%), because on an nforce2 platform it gives you the best perfromance.

however, if you want to have memory speed 200 mhz and running it synchronized with the fsb, that means you have to overclock unless you've got the recent xp barton 3000+ or 3200+ which run with 200 fsb (thorton core if I remember properly).

therefore first of all: what cpu do you have? athlon xp thoroughbred? barton?
__________________

Epox 8RDA3+ v1.1, 3827 bios, 1.6v Vdd, stock cooling on nb, sb
XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11 = 2200 mhz, 1.725v Vcore
2x256 Mushkin pc3500 Black Level1 @ dc sync, 2-2-3-8, 2.63 Vdimm
Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro @ stock
WDC HDD 80 gig, 7200rpm, 8 mb cache
WDC HDD 20 gig, 7200rpm, 2 mb cache
300 W noname psu & case one side open, no other cooling
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2003, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 28

really? didnt know that. ok then

CPU: 2200XP+ thoroughbred (clocks to about 2.0ghz I think, possibly more)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 28

anyone help please?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 01:10 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

It's right, but the statement isn't the whole story!

Running the RAM faster than the FSB doesn't help, as the FSB becomes the bottleneck, rather than the RAM.

As mrlobber correctly points out, the nForce2 boards work best when the memory clock and FSB clock is the same. So, running your RAM at 200MHz, and your FSB at 133MHz will actually lose you performance!

You have some choices here. If you want to run the RAM at full speed, then you have to bring the FSB speed up. This *WILL* overclock your CPU. There's plenty of information on overclocking your CPU on here and other places, so I'm not going to reproduce it!

You already seem to be familiar with overclocking, so leaving the RAM set at 100% should be fine. Then you just need to adjust the multipliers/FSB to whatever you can manage!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 28

could I put the fsb to 200 and then lower the multiplier so that the cpu isnt massively overclocked?

ie, 200 x 10?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 03:28 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashy
could I put the fsb to 200 and then lower the multiplier so that the cpu isnt massively overclocked?

ie, 200 x 10?
That's a good start... However, before you do, run your CPU over 2ghz using a lower FSB, like 166. If that has problems, you have a TbredA, and will have to lower the multiplier further. This way you know the CPU can handle it. Whenever possible, it is a good idea to overclock 1 component at a time to test for failure. Remember, problems over 200fsb can be caused by half a dozen things.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Latvia
Posts: 85

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashy
could I put the fsb to 200 and then lower the multiplier so that the cpu isnt massively overclocked?

ie, 200 x 10?
Exactly that's what you should do.

Since 2200+ is running at 1.8 ghz, 200x10 would be 2.0 ghz, it should handle that... at least maybe with slightly increased Vcore for complete stability.

But to be sure, even better would be:
* set fsb to 200;
* multiplier to 9 (200x9 = 1800 mhz);
* memory speed to 100%;
* memory timings depending on what brand & type of pc3200 memory you have;
* and don't forget to check the stabililty with prime, 3dmark, intense games or whatever type of stress testing you prefer.

Good luck!
__________________

Epox 8RDA3+ v1.1, 3827 bios, 1.6v Vdd, stock cooling on nb, sb
XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11 = 2200 mhz, 1.725v Vcore
2x256 Mushkin pc3500 Black Level1 @ dc sync, 2-2-3-8, 2.63 Vdimm
Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro @ stock
WDC HDD 80 gig, 7200rpm, 8 mb cache
WDC HDD 20 gig, 7200rpm, 2 mb cache
300 W noname psu & case one side open, no other cooling
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 28

thanks chaps, ill give that a go. cant believe ive not been running it anywhere near as fast as i could have :doh:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2003, 06:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 28

got it at:

fsb: 200
multi: 10
6,2,2,2

anything else i should try? played few games etc and all seemed fine
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best memory to get max OC on an 8RDA3+? tdamocles EPoX MotherBoards 0 27th February, 2004 11:59 AM
Turbo memory setting problem rocklobster EPoX MotherBoards 2 8th July, 2003 05:23 PM
Epox 8rda3+ help setting this up plz Dentoni EPoX MotherBoards 33 7th June, 2003 05:37 AM
8rda+ expert memory setting... memory running sync or not?? macro EPoX MotherBoards 1 8th January, 2003 03:21 PM
Epox Tech. Question on Memory Setting DazzleW EPoX MotherBoards 4 13th February, 2002 10:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0