AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2003, 09:23 PM
Geeza's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Cleveland, Uk
Posts: 43

8rda3+ Ethernet Connection

I have been having problems with a faulty cable modem box lately and my 8rda3+ Ethernet connection - I was having to nudge the box at times to connect/re-connect. Then the connection went completely, meaning I was using USB.

NTL called out and correct the line which was showing high frequency, and changed the cable modem box.

Same problem. This is what shows in XP's Network connections;

Local Area Connection
Network Cable Unplugged
Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet

Its not the PC - I have a second 8rda3+ showing the same problem.

So to sum up:

Ethernet won't work.
USB works.
All kit checks out.

Could it possibly be software/driver related?

All software 100% patched as far as I am aware.
PC in question is running Nvidia 2.45 Drivers - Microsoft IDE drivers used.
My PC is running Soltek 2.78 Drivers, same IDE.

Any one, anywhere any idea what it could be?!!!!

Regards
Geeza
__________________
Athlon XP2500+ @ 2209.55(10 X 220)
SLK-900U & 92mm YS-Tech 50cfm
Epox 8RDA3+ (2.78 Soltek Drivers) 3827 bios
Corsair XMS3200 @ 4-3-3-2.5 2.768V
Crucial Radeon 9800 Pro 1.6V
Soundblaster Audigy 2
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Sony DVD RW DRU-500A
AOpen 52x24x52 Cd-Writer
2 x WD Raptor SATA Raid 0 (Striped)
Vantec Stealth Aluminum 470W
Coolermaster ATCS-201-SXK (blowhole mod/5.25” fan rheobus)
Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 740 SB
3DMark2001: 18404
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2003, 02:18 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Did you try entering a mac address in bios ? i think I used all zero's to get mine back up after a bios update that was corrected on the next release. You could try putting in a PCI ethernet card (temporary fix).
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2003, 08:34 AM
Geeza's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Cleveland, Uk
Posts: 43

8rda3+

Quote:
Originally Posted by timbob2469
Did you try entering a mac address in bios ? i think I used all zero's to get mine back up after a bios update that was corrected on the next release. You could try putting in a PCI ethernet card (temporary fix).
Bob
No luck there mate. Had tried putting the first 6 digits of the physical address in prior...

Any more ideas I could try?

Thanks
Geeza
__________________
Athlon XP2500+ @ 2209.55(10 X 220)
SLK-900U & 92mm YS-Tech 50cfm
Epox 8RDA3+ (2.78 Soltek Drivers) 3827 bios
Corsair XMS3200 @ 4-3-3-2.5 2.768V
Crucial Radeon 9800 Pro 1.6V
Soundblaster Audigy 2
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Sony DVD RW DRU-500A
AOpen 52x24x52 Cd-Writer
2 x WD Raptor SATA Raid 0 (Striped)
Vantec Stealth Aluminum 470W
Coolermaster ATCS-201-SXK (blowhole mod/5.25” fan rheobus)
Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 740 SB
3DMark2001: 18404
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2003, 08:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 37

[QUOTE=Geeza]No luck there mate. Had tried putting the first 6 digits of the physical address in prior...

The first 6 characters are the Block ID or manufacturer's number.
You could try the last 6 characters which make up the Device ID.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2003, 11:03 PM
Geeza's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Cleveland, Uk
Posts: 43

Ethernet joy!

[QUOTE=T RAND]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geeza
No luck there mate. Had tried putting the first 6 digits of the physical address in prior...

The first 6 characters are the Block ID or manufacturer's number.
You could try the last 6 characters which make up the Device ID.
Up and running with Ethernet at last!!!!

Thanks mate - I entered last 6 digits, but needed to power down/up the Cable Modem to get it to recognise the Ethernet connection.

Everyone who posted - Cheers!

Regards

Lee
__________________
Athlon XP2500+ @ 2209.55(10 X 220)
SLK-900U & 92mm YS-Tech 50cfm
Epox 8RDA3+ (2.78 Soltek Drivers) 3827 bios
Corsair XMS3200 @ 4-3-3-2.5 2.768V
Crucial Radeon 9800 Pro 1.6V
Soundblaster Audigy 2
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Sony DVD RW DRU-500A
AOpen 52x24x52 Cd-Writer
2 x WD Raptor SATA Raid 0 (Striped)
Vantec Stealth Aluminum 470W
Coolermaster ATCS-201-SXK (blowhole mod/5.25” fan rheobus)
Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 740 SB
3DMark2001: 18404
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ethernet q about 8rda6+ xerophyte EPoX MotherBoards 7 3rd July, 2005 12:01 PM
Possible 9nda3 ethernet fix sespe EPoX MotherBoards 2 18th January, 2005 11:50 PM
Ethernet issues!! rjf386 General Hardware Discussion 1 2nd September, 2004 06:28 PM
8rda3+ com1 port connection tdamocles EPoX MotherBoards 2 20th August, 2004 10:36 PM
Want to kill an ethernet? Allan Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 4 12th November, 2003 07:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0