AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2003, 09:13 AM
doctoromeo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 132

poor bandwidth on 8kra2+

is it just me or is this board a large step backwards compared to 8rda+ .
mem bandwidth @ 200fsb 2.6.2. 4 bank interleave ultra settings.
sandra 2004 = 2800 ?
on 8rda+ it would be around 3000. or is it just me?.
also is there anyway of getting more than 200fsb on memory?
__________________
gigabyte p35-ds4
q6600@400x9 3.6ghz
8800gtx@ 620-2000
2xhitachi 250gb -raid 0
win vista business
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2003, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctoromeo
is it just me or is this board a large step backwards compared to 8rda+ .
mem bandwidth @ 200fsb 2.6.2. 4 bank interleave ultra settings.
sandra 2004 = 2800 ?
on 8rda+ it would be around 3000. or is it just me?.
also is there anyway of getting more than 200fsb on memory?
Bro said that KRA2I lost in mem b/w test to 8K3A when KRA2I was drived at 238MHz FSB and 8K3A at 233MHz FSB.

I cant confirm this though...i have to call in store has my first test mobo came there.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2003, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 16

I've set the default fsb @ 200MHz over die jumpers on my Epox 8KRA2I and the result is a memory bandwith at about ~3040mb/s with an Samsung PC2700 @ 2-3-6-3 module and ultra settings for the chipset

3352mb/s @ 226fsb and 2.5-3-6-3 with ultra settings for the chipset

no problem at all
__________________
Barton 2500+ @ 4200+ (11.5x226 MHz)
Epox 8KRA2I (KT600CD + 8237)
Samsung PC2700 DTL Modell - CB3 Stepping (226MHz)
MSI G4TI4400-VTD Vivo (325 Core'688 Ram)
Samsung SP1604N UDMA133 7200 upm
Creative SB Live Player 5.1
QTec 450 Watt (225 Watt combined)
LiteOn 52x24x52
Toshiba 16x48x
MS Windows XP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2003, 11:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawki
I've set the default fsb @ 200MHz over die jumpers on my Epox 8KRA2I and the result is a memory bandwith at about ~3040mb/s with an Samsung PC2700 @ 2-3-6-3 module and ultra settings for the chipset

3352mb/s @ 226fsb and 2.5-3-6-3 with ultra settings for the chipset

no problem at all
8K3A@233MHz FSB Cas2-2-2-5-2
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 16

not bad, but not good!

You have 7mhz more than I and very agressive timings, but you're only equal.

i think that is a good sample in order to show the more efficiently memory controller on kt600 chipsets

mfg BlackHawk
__________________
Barton 2500+ @ 4200+ (11.5x226 MHz)
Epox 8KRA2I (KT600CD + 8237)
Samsung PC2700 DTL Modell - CB3 Stepping (226MHz)
MSI G4TI4400-VTD Vivo (325 Core'688 Ram)
Samsung SP1604N UDMA133 7200 upm
Creative SB Live Player 5.1
QTec 450 Watt (225 Watt combined)
LiteOn 52x24x52
Toshiba 16x48x
MS Windows XP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 10:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawki
not bad, but not good!

You have 7mhz more than I and very agressive timings, but you're only equal.

i think that is a good sample in order to show the more efficiently memory controller on kt600 chipsets

mfg BlackHawk
Your result is weird to me.
My bro got under 3200mb/s@236MHz FSB Cas2-2-2-6-1 Ultra.
He was using Thunderbird CPU though,but i didnt see effect by disabling SSE in that test (or there is bug in software).
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 11:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by WR-HW95
Your result is weird to me.
My bro got under 3200mb/s@236MHz FSB Cas2-2-2-6-1 Ultra.
He was using Thunderbird CPU though,but i didnt see effect by disabling SSE in that test (or there is bug in software).

under 3200mb/s with an kt600 chipset? seems to be mysterious!

here are my screenshots:

Sandra 2003

running with the hardware out of my sig

good night
__________________
Barton 2500+ @ 4200+ (11.5x226 MHz)
Epox 8KRA2I (KT600CD + 8237)
Samsung PC2700 DTL Modell - CB3 Stepping (226MHz)
MSI G4TI4400-VTD Vivo (325 Core'688 Ram)
Samsung SP1604N UDMA133 7200 upm
Creative SB Live Player 5.1
QTec 450 Watt (225 Watt combined)
LiteOn 52x24x52
Toshiba 16x48x
MS Windows XP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 12:34 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Total CPU speed impacts Sisoft scores... A Tbird will not be able to run as fast as newer CPUs, ergo the lower score at the same FSB and timings.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
Total CPU speed impacts Sisoft scores... A Tbird will not be able to run as fast as newer CPUs, ergo the lower score at the same FSB and timings.
That is true,but i couldnt be sure before i tried it.

http://upload.no-wheels.net/files/Si...w_12,5x202.JPG
http://upload.no-wheels.net/files/Sisoft_bw_5x202.JPG

I hope that my KRA2+ comes tomorrow.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 04:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Now i´m confused.
How you can use CMD1? Do you use DRAM CMD1 or that CPU timing?
Even if i set DRAM CMD1 i have CMD2 in sisoft (and it looks like it too=slow),but this wont boot at fast CPU timing over 205MHz FSB when NB haves passive cooling.

When i got NB temp to 44´C (8M SuperPi) it crashed at 228MHz.
I put fan on NB and max temp dropped to 35´C,to max FSB it effect ~2.5MHz.
I drived Sisoft 242MHz FSB but puter crashed when i went to save screentshot....i have it at 240MHz though,but i didnt have interleaving on then so result is poor.

http://upload.no-wheels.net/files/Si...0_228x11.5.JPG
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 05:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

This is getting weird...
I noticed that you had Cas2.5 so i tried CPU timing fast Cas2.5 and got this running actually higher FSB than Cas2.
And this is faster too.
BUT i still have CMD2 in Sisoft.
http://upload.no-wheels.net/files/Si...0_230x11.5.JPG
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 06:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 16



i'm always using command rate 1 on my 512mb samsung module!
i think it's the problem of you're module (via chipsets love samsung modules) but perhaps it's the board

with 232mhz (2.5-3-6-3-8-2-1 [1cmd]) i get ~2450mb/s - but that's not really stable

My Epox 8KRA2I
__________________
Barton 2500+ @ 4200+ (11.5x226 MHz)
Epox 8KRA2I (KT600CD + 8237)
Samsung PC2700 DTL Modell - CB3 Stepping (226MHz)
MSI G4TI4400-VTD Vivo (325 Core'688 Ram)
Samsung SP1604N UDMA133 7200 upm
Creative SB Live Player 5.1
QTec 450 Watt (225 Watt combined)
LiteOn 52x24x52
Toshiba 16x48x
MS Windows XP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 09:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Here is something to beat with KT600
http://www.no-wheels.net/~pienari/Pi...nch_250MHz.JPG
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2003, 09:15 AM
doctoromeo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 132

even worse than that ,i get bsod on 200fsb on fastest settings .
higher fsb speeds are causing hard disk corruption.
this is the worst epox board i,ve bought for some time now.
i have raid o set up with 64 bit size.score is good in pcmark2002=2290
sandra =61,000
but i dare not go above 200 fsb and fast settings 3,6,3,2t cas 2.5
ive tried ocz / twinmos pc3500/and corsair.
next trip is back to pc world to swap board for another brand with sata.
this is only cuz they havent got any 8rda3+ in stock.
__________________
gigabyte p35-ds4
q6600@400x9 3.6ghz
8800gtx@ 620-2000
2xhitachi 250gb -raid 0
win vista business
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2003, 03:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 12

Hawki: What is your cooling setup and what are your temps when you running 2500+@4200+ on 8Kra2 board? Which BIOS you use? When I flashed mine 8kra2+ with 10/28/03 BIOS, IDLE temps are now so low, only few degrees above case temps and I run 2500+ (11x210@1.70V).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2003, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctoromeo
even worse than that ,i get bsod on 200fsb on fastest settings .
higher fsb speeds are causing hard disk corruption.
this is the worst epox board i,ve bought for some time now.
i have raid o set up with 64 bit size.score is good in pcmark2002=2290
sandra =61,000
but i dare not go above 200 fsb and fast settings 3,6,3,2t cas 2.5
ive tried ocz / twinmos pc3500/and corsair.
next trip is back to pc world to swap board for another brand with sata.
this is only cuz they havent got any 8rda3+ in stock.
I have 28/10/2003 bios and it works fine,but it have few bugs?
I dont use raid 0 but i have 3 drives connected to raid and i run 226MHz FSB 24/7.
Then to bios:
CPU timing "Fast" my system doesnt boot Cas2 even at 205MHz FSB.
CPU timing "Fast" Cas2.5 is much better,but IMO Cas3 is even faster.
CPU timing "Normal" is very slow,but Cas2 works....again Cas2.5 and Cas3 are faster settings.
ROMSIP table is disabled?

There was something more but i dont remember now....
Anyway...I have only 3.13V at memory when i set 3.2V from bios.
2.0V Vcore is too low for O/C:ing and no dryice to this mobo since holes around socket are missing.
Bro did V-link mod to his 8KRAI and 2.6V->2.9V gived 15MHz more FSB,but in my 8KRA2+ it didnt effect anything.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2003, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buggy
Hawki: What is your cooling setup and what are your temps when you running 2500+@4200+ on 8Kra2 board? Which BIOS you use? When I flashed mine 8kra2+ with 10/28/03 BIOS, IDLE temps are now so low, only few degrees above case temps and I run 2500+ (11x210@1.70V).
Watercooling with 32°C idle and about 36°C full load (+/- 3°C depending upon room temperature) @ 11.5x226 = 2604MHz (1.90v)

i've flashed the bios from 28.10.2003, and it's a little bit mysterious. multiplier changing will only work when you have entered the bios a second time after a cmos-clear (only default multiplier and won't boot).
cpu temps are really too low when reading them with Aida32 or Sandra 2004 - but the temps in the bios are ok.

otherwise there are no knwon problems (for me) - but it's the first bios i've tried from epox (8k5a2. etc.) which has some small but noticeable bugs

*edit*

@buggy:

that's a german website where you can post in you're system (better than writing it 6 times a day).

maybe it will help you (in order to get more infos)

My System

sry for my bad english
__________________
Barton 2500+ @ 4200+ (11.5x226 MHz)
Epox 8KRA2I (KT600CD + 8237)
Samsung PC2700 DTL Modell - CB3 Stepping (226MHz)
MSI G4TI4400-VTD Vivo (325 Core'688 Ram)
Samsung SP1604N UDMA133 7200 upm
Creative SB Live Player 5.1
QTec 450 Watt (225 Watt combined)
LiteOn 52x24x52
Toshiba 16x48x
MS Windows XP Pro

Last edited by Hawki; 18th November, 2003 at 08:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not so poor lately........ Chesso Random Nonsense! 7 3rd August, 2005 03:21 AM
poor little 950 tbird kat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 10 6th February, 2003 07:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0