AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 02:15 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

Peltier stacking

Hey you guys... been a while i know. havnt had problems with my pc so just got water cooling on it like 4 weekends ago.. not what i was expecting... but what ever. This is what im trin to do.

i got water cooling then a peltier then the processor. Thing will turn on when i got the water cooling, and boot and all that... but once i stick the peltier on the processor then stick the water ontop of that, it will boot then like 4 secs later turn off.... whats up? im running the peltier on another power supply so i know i have enouph power. the last tempature reading i got was 27 with it on before it shut down.

Thanks
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 02:40 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Are you sure you got the cold side of the pelit facing the CPU?!?!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 02:42 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

Positive.i even touched it.... well right now this peltier is makeing a great soda cooler :c)
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 03:02 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

What kinda CPU do you have?!?! What wattage is your pelt?!?!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 03:05 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

the voltage is 12 volts... look at my profile its an amd athlon xp 2600+
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 03:06 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

i dont know. what wattage... i think its a 150 im not sure tho
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 03:20 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I presume you have a cold plate on the peltier? What's the power demands of the peltier, in terms of volts and amps?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 05:53 PM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

I dont know...... my friend picked it up for me...... im running it on a 12 volt line. i tried making something to put between it but it still didnt work..
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 10:21 PM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

You need a cold plate between the peltier and the processor to optimize the heat transfer.

Also, are you taking care of condensation?

Peltiers often create condensation due to low temps, and this WILL KILL your system if you don't take the necessary measures.

Just an advice.
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2003, 10:23 PM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

ya i just noticed that :-\ had the peltier on all night and its got water on it... how would i go about keeping that to a minimum?
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 01:09 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

That is a biatch of a problem the condensation with peltiers!
I work in the telecomms industry, and the way we stop condensation on our modules is to constantly flush them with nitrogen.
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 01:44 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

Not to sound like a jerk or anything, but it sounds like you really need to read up on Peltier(or TEC) cooling before you continue. XtremeSystems.org, ProCooling.com, or even Hardocp.com would be some good places to start.

Good luck.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 01:52 AM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

I totally agree with Jeff!

It sounds like you don't know exactly what you're playing with. If you really want to use it, you better start "studying" a little bit about it. You'll find tons of articles on how to use peltiers for PC cooling.

To be honest, in my opinion Peltier cooling for PC has more cons than pros. But as I said, thats MY opinion.

Going from air to watercooling is already a very nice change, lots of advantagens, but Peltiers have some really significant disadvantages like condensation and power consumption.

But, of course, it's your choice, not mine .
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 02:49 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

well i went with water... my processor is actually running hotter then when i had it on air.
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 03:14 AM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

What kind of watercooling system are you running?

There's probably something wrong, it's difficult to get a watercooler that performs worse than a aircooler.

I've made my own waterblock and I don't even use a radiator, only a big water reservoir, and it performs tons better than my previous aircooler (Volcano 7).

My max temp with XP1700+ TBred @ 1980MHz @ 1.65V is never higher than 10C over water temperature. Example: Water 35C -> Processor max = 45C.
Oh, and this read by the in-die sensor with a calibration factor (-10C on the 8k3a+, has been discussed tons of times here and it's proven).

For comparison: the Volcano 7 (using an airduct to get cold air from outside, with 2x 80mm fans blowing cold air inside) on my XP1800+ Palomino @ 1630MHz @ 1.75V would give me 55C easily for load temp.
I've tested this same waterblock on the 1800+ Palomino and with cooler temps I was able to reach 1700MHz with a little extra voltage, something impossible with the V7.

Also, you can't beat the silence... I can now sleep in peace!

I think you're going the wrong direction: using a Peltier with a bad watercooler will only give you more trouble. Don't forget that the heat transfered to the waterblock will be about 2x what it is now. Depending on the peltier, it will generate more heat than your processor does, and the waterblock will receive the sum of those powers.
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 03:30 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

this is what im running basicly... its the older

http://www.swiftnets.com/assets/imag...1/H20-8501.jpg version tho. its swiftech.
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 07:45 AM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

What did you have as a aircooler?

As far as I know Swiftech makes really good watercooler systems. I think there's probably something wrong on your system.
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 08:29 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

Volcano 7+ i think... i was averaging about 38 45 on air but im at 54 during that night with water
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 08:59 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Did you make sure you got all the air out of the system?!?!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by nfrenay
What kind of watercooling system are you running?

There's probably something wrong, it's difficult to get a watercooler that performs worse than a aircooler.

I've made my own waterblock and I don't even use a radiator, only a big water reservoir, and it performs tons better than my previous aircooler (Volcano 7).

My max temp with XP1700+ TBred @ 1980MHz @ 1.65V is never higher than 10C over water temperature. Example: Water 35C -> Processor max = 45C.
Oh, and this read by the in-die sensor with a calibration factor (-10C on the 8k3a+, has been discussed tons of times here and it's proven).....
Then i have something wrong in my water cooling.
I have Eheim 1250pump,O4pro 390 magnum block,~15L container and Opel Kadett C radiator out side.
Water temp is 10´C now and with -10´C calibration i see 32´C core temp at 100% load.
I had Sicce Nova pump earlier and afterall this pump didnt effect to water temp...even though that i have ~70cm height difference from block to radiator....
I start to feel that i cant do anything right.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IBM's chip stacking breakthrough danrok General Hardware Discussion 2 13th April, 2007 04:42 PM
Peltier Cooling nki69c Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 30 25th September, 2004 11:04 PM
Use a peltier to chill air ?? Cacker Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 29 25th August, 2003 07:19 AM
what's a peltier? barneygumble742 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 23rd July, 2003 11:20 PM
Peltier chris4521 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 4th April, 2003 12:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0