AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2003, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 16

Question Epox 8KTA2+ at 133MHz FSB?

Hi,

I currently have the Epox 8KTA2+ motherboard (VIA KT133) paired with 1GHz Athlon (10x100Mhz FSB), and PC-133 SDRAM running at 133MHz asynchronously.

I notice the motherboard has a 100/133 FSB jumper on the board. If I set this to 133MHz will the PCI/AGP speeds remain the same or will they be overclocked (don't want this to happen)?

The reason I ask is because I have an AMD Barton 2500+ (1833MHz) which I want to use with this motherboard as I can't afford to upgrade everything, along with the Upgradeware XP-TMC gadget.

I could keep the FSB at 100MHz and set the multiplier to 18 or 19, but I thought I could get better performance if I set the FSB to 133MHz and the multiplier to 13 or 14.

Any help appreciated, I don't want to fry my PCI/AGP devices!

Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2003, 10:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 16

I hope this post is not going against the rules for the Epox forum, I am not overclocking the CPU or anything just questioning the use of an available motherboard feature
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 08:19 AM
CamoAlien's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 72

Quddy - Hi.

From what it looks like on the Epox CPU support chart, the maximum processor that you can use in the Epox 8KTA2 is an Athlon 1200 MHz with a 200 MHz (100 MHz DDR).

I didn't see any listing for an 8KTA2+ on the Epox site though. Perhaps you have an 8KTA3+?


Either way, if the motherboard has a jumper for selecting 100 or 133 FSB, but no other intermediate FSB on that jumper, I would assume that it would have a 1/4 divider for the PCI.
Perhaps someone will be able to shed some more light on this issue, since I haven't used this particular board myself.

Good luck!
__________________
Rei Ayanami - 2x 850e | SGI Zx10 | 3d Prophet II GTS 64m DVI | SGI 19" CRT | 1024mb RAM | IBM 36Z15 | Fujitsu MAP3147NP | Enermax FS-981xpss & eg651p-ve | 3Com 3c996b-t
Misato - XP-M 2600+ | K7S5A | 1024mb PC3200 | FX5950U | WD1600JB - See them all
Asuka - 2x 667b | Supermicro P3DRE | FX5200 | SGI 19" CRT | 384 RDRAM | 3Com 3c996b-t | PX716-A | HP 9200s
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 4

I have no personal experience with this MB but if it truly is a KT133 MB (not KT133A) then I don't think it will run at 133 MHz at all. Of course, the presence of 100/133 jumper kind of contradicts my claims. Maybe you can try it out and tell us the result ;D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 05:57 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.............

If the mainboard is EP-8KTA2, I am afraid it cannot run at 133FSB. It is EP-8KTA3+ it cannot support XP processor.

Very sorry that this is the case in this instance.

You may want to look at this for a good cheap product to do the job however http://www.overclock.co.uk/customer/...=17096&cat=315
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 16

Thanks for the replies.

I do have an Epox 8KTA2.

I was guessing the board didn't actually support the 133MHz FSB, not sure why the jumper is on the board then?

Although the board doesn't support new AMD cpus like the 2500+ Barton I have directly, the Upgradeware XP-TMC gizmo should enable me to use it with this board according to their website (www.upgradeware.com).

The XP-TMC should allow me to set the multiplier upto 24x.

Reading the Epox manual it seems the max. multiplier is 12.5 although it can be set to AUTO.

Worst case hopefully is that I am restricted to 12.5x100MHz = 1250MHz, although I will try to set the multiplier to 18 or 19 to get the full speed.

I'll let you know how I get on over the weekend.

If it doesn't work then I'll just have to save up a bit more money and go for a full upgrade. Epox 8RDA+ is very cheap (although the EP-8K9A7I mentioned above by Epox Tech is even cheaper!), its just replacing the 512mb SDRAM with DDR that will hurt the pockets.

Thanks for the help!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2003, 09:15 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

The 133Mhz jumper on the EP-8KTA2 is there to enable easy northbridge replacement using the same basic PCB layout for use with the KT133a chipset, thus enabling a faster ramping of new chipset product.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2003, 09:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 16

Hooray, SUCCESS!

I kept the FSB at 100MHz as advised by Epox Tech, set the multiplier on the motherboard to AUTO and the multiplier on the XP-TMC to 18x to be safe and everything seems fine.

Boots up as UNKNOWN CPU at 1800MHz!

wCPUID confirms it has the full 512kb L2 cache and SSE instruction sets.

My 3DMark2001 score jumped from 7044 to 9867 (Geforce 4200 64mb 1024x768 32-bit), which is a nice boost!

Everything seems stable which is very suprising considering the difference in age of the motherboard and CPU (thankyou Epox for providing a great motherboard).

To anyone who can't afford a complete upgrade, I thoroughly recommend the XP-TMC as an intermediate step (only cost £18).

Hopefully I can save up a bit more cash and get a new motherboard and memory in a few more months to fully utilise the new cpu.

Thanks for all the info guys, these forums are really good.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't run at stock 133MHz snov12 EPoX MotherBoards 4 14th October, 2004 08:21 AM
Vcore on EPOX 8KTA2 uuhhhhh EPoX MotherBoards 0 23rd May, 2003 01:28 AM
cant get over fsb 133mhz buggiez EPoX MotherBoards 4 21st January, 2003 09:59 AM
4SDA+ and new P4 with 133MHz FSB? cobase EPoX MotherBoards 5 10th May, 2002 05:09 PM
8KTA2 Problem Superman EPoX MotherBoards 5 13th October, 2001 02:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0