AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2003, 01:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 62

EPoX 4PDA2+ 2.00 good?

I've been reading about this motherboard, is it any good? What kind of O/C's have people got out of it?

I like the vdimm options, also what vdd options does it allow?
__________________
"The things you own, end up owning you" - Tyler Durden
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2003, 03:58 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I've done 3.75GHz on air out of it with a 3.0C with absolute ease......

The mainboard is a great evolution of the revision 1.x product.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2003, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 40

this board owns. better performance than my p4c800-e. check the sig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2003, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 40

hey ET can i get some info on where the voltage check point for the vdimm is on this board. i modded the 3.3v rail on my psu but the vdimm doesnt read any higher than 3.3v. my 3.3v rail is set too 3.6v.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2003, 08:58 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

You won't increase memory voltage by just pot increase - you need to reference a voltage to increment the voltage regulation of the memory.

Tweaking the pot will only serve to kill the memory and the mainboard - and will do nothing for stability.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2003, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
You won't increase memory voltage by just pot increase - you need to reference a voltage to increment the voltage regulation of the memory.

Tweaking the pot will only serve to kill the memory and the mainboard - and will do nothing for stability.
so i need to volt mod the vdimm before the 3.3v rail comes into play? if so would you be kind enough to tell me where the chip that needs to be modded is.. :P
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2003, 09:10 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

It's the eight legged switch spider for non-linear vdimm reg by the left of dimm slots - needs a helping hand by higher referenced voltage or resisted current to ground - haven't worked out how much though since the mainboard provides plenty of VDIMM as standard.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2003, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
It's the eight legged switch spider for non-linear vdimm reg by the left of dimm slots - needs a helping hand by higher referenced voltage or resisted current to ground - haven't worked out how much though since the mainboard provides plenty of VDIMM as standard.
damn a pic would work wonders right now. are there any spec sheets i could maybe get the data off of? now you have me really curious whats resistance have you tried so far. i guess using a 1k vr would help to figure out which vr would be good to use.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2003, 09:26 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

As I say - I've not tried modding the board in that area - there's plenty of VDIMM for me running Samsung TCCC's ......
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2003, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 40

would you happen to know the number of the chip. i dont see anything close to the dimm slots. only 2 8 legged above the front of the agp slot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2003, 11:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 40

hmm........ sure would like to know the number near the chip.. and the pin #
__________________

Last edited by esoteradactyl; 30th November, 2003 at 11:13 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2003, 02:48 AM
althes's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 50

Quote:
Originally Posted by esoteradactyl
hmm........ sure would like to know the number near the chip.. and the pin #
I may have to try that also.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 01:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 40

yeah this will be sweet if we ever get the info
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2003, 09:38 PM
althes's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 50

Quote:
Originally Posted by esoteradactyl
yeah this will be sweet if we ever get the info
Any word yet on how to do it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPOX 4PDA2+ Rev 2.X Jutias Intel Motherboards & CPUs 8 28th September, 2005 01:50 PM
Epox 4PDA2+Ver.2 & the little 2.4C that could!! weldzilla EPoX MotherBoards 11 2nd October, 2004 03:07 AM
EPOX 4PDA2+ dead? jonno_wilkes EPoX MotherBoards 2 21st September, 2003 11:16 PM
epox 4pda2+ v.2 ronss Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 27th August, 2003 07:05 PM
Multiplier In epox ep-4pda2+ Flanr EPoX MotherBoards 1 15th July, 2003 02:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0