AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2003, 12:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 2

Can't use UDMA

I have a WD Caviar 7200 8MB cache, and an Epox 8rda+ motherboard.
If I enable UDMA in the BIOS after The FF it stopps with a message Disk I/O error. I think it doesn't matter at this time but I have Windows ME.
Please help me.
Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2003, 02:52 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Corax, Do you have the jumper set correctly ?
http://support.wdc.com/techinfo/general/jumpers.asp
Are you saying that everything runs fine until you reboot, go into bios setup, make the change, then it won't boot ?
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2003, 03:18 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

While you are at the WD site, look for a diagnostic utility to test your hdd.. Also, I'm not familiar with your board, but you may want to update to the latest bios for it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2003, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 2

Thanks for the quik answere, but my problem is that I can't boot from winchester if I set the UDMA "Auto" in the BIOS. If i disable it it works fine. I have 80 wire cable (I don't know its correct name in english cos I'm from Hungary). The motherboard recognises the winchester, it doesn't matter if I set the UDMA or not.
Please answere as soon as you can
Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2003, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 51

I have the same drive on my Abit NF7 rev.2. I would suggest the following:

1) Get the newest BIOS from www.epox.org:

Model: EP-8RDA
BIOS: 8RD13B25.BIN (BD00)
BIOS Date: 11/25/2003
1) Show AppleBred CPU on POST.
2) Recognize Barton and Thorton CPU correctly.

2) Check the BUS type for the IDE controller in your Device Manager. My Computer>Right Click>Properties>Device Manager>IDE Controller. Check if the drives are in UDMA or PIO mode.

3) Get the best version of nForce drivers you can find. I use these remixed drivers for my WinXP setup. They work very well and IDE performance is fanatastic.

4) Test the drive with an 80 conductor IDE cable, in MASTER jumper position, using the end connector on the cable and no other drive on the second connector.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPoX 8RDA3I UDMA problem ! Gie CRASHED! 3 21st April, 2004 03:06 PM
How do I get UDMA 6 to work? Redrum EPoX MotherBoards 12 24th June, 2003 04:00 AM
2 problems: DVD UDMA and Mem performance... nfrenay EPoX MotherBoards 1 5th July, 2002 05:37 AM
The UDMA problem on IDE 2, limited to Win XP? spirits247 EPoX MotherBoards 2 4th January, 2002 09:09 PM
CD-Writer: Enabling UDMA over PIO proze EPoX MotherBoards 4 11th October, 2001 03:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0