AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2003, 07:57 AM
IrishFlyer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 6

Smile Help me decide on upgrade for 8KHA+

Hi,

Well I have read a lot about people upgrading procs on their 8KHA+, from what will work and what will not.

I have come up with these four procs to hopefully purchase one in the next few weeks to keep my 8KHA+ going for a while yet.

TBred 2400XP
Thorton 2400XP
Barton 2500XP (I know unsupported, but I have heard of people who have them working and I am willing to take the chance with it)
TBred 2600XP (266FSB)

Which one should I go for? i.e which one if I coupled it with 512MB of Buffalo PC3200 Winbond would give me the best overclock? If I got the Barton I could maybe run it at 166FSB with the PC3200 (provided my SB Live and HDs can stand it).

Still a little confused as to what is the best path to get the most and last out of this exceptional mobo.

Any advice?

Cheers,

IF
__________________
AMD 1600XP @ 1800XP 1.56 (10.5 X 148)
EPOX 8KHA+ BIOS v3425
1024 INFINEON PC2100 CL2 DDR
Vantec VA4 Heatsink
Leadtek GF4 4400 TI
WD 80GB ATA100 7,200RPM
IBM 60GB ATA100, 7200RPM
SB LIVE Value 512V
Antec 1080MG 430PSU
WINDOWS XP PRO SP1a
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2003, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

Barton 2500 is the best choice. Try to find one made before week 0340, then it will be unlocked, when you then someday upgrade your motherboard, you will be ready to really overclock.
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2003, 12:16 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

I would recommend that XP2400+. It should run with your 8KHA and its slower 133FSB will be right at home with your Gig of Infinion's. My only worry is that 8KHA's multi's only go as high as 12.5x.

With its high multiplier bringing the FSB up to 145~150MHz willl give you a pretty good overclock. That should be easy for an 8KHA... I have read several reviews where they got it up to 160FSB

With that rig there would be no point upgrading until you go the 64-bit route.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2003, 06:56 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

8KHA+ will run easily at 190+ FSB, the only problem being ratio of pci and agp divider playing havoc with IDE device and the AGP card.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2003, 08:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 6

ral, dont worry about 8KHA's multi's 7=15, 8=16 etc.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2003, 11:27 PM
IrishFlyer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by golfer49
Barton 2500 is the best choice. Try to find one made before week 0340, then it will be unlocked, when you then someday upgrade your motherboard, you will be ready to really overclock.
Hi Guys,

Thanks for the info. I usually buy my hardware from newegg. How can I make sure I get a 2500XP before week 0340? Is there somewhere I can request one?

Anyone running the 2500XP on 8KHA+, what steps did you take to get this proc working?

Cheers,

IF
__________________
AMD 1600XP @ 1800XP 1.56 (10.5 X 148)
EPOX 8KHA+ BIOS v3425
1024 INFINEON PC2100 CL2 DDR
Vantec VA4 Heatsink
Leadtek GF4 4400 TI
WD 80GB ATA100 7,200RPM
IBM 60GB ATA100, 7200RPM
SB LIVE Value 512V
Antec 1080MG 430PSU
WINDOWS XP PRO SP1a
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2003, 01:52 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

Wel not sure if this would work for you, but it worked for me getting a unsupported CPU running on a Abit KT7A. Set the mutlitplier to 11 or Auto. Set the front side bus (166MHz) and voltage have to be set manually (1.65v).

Probably best to lossen the timing on your DDR266 memory first and than tighten afterwards to make sure that they are not the cause of any instability.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2003, 04:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 6

IrishFlyer,
Athlon XP 2500+ (1.83GHz/333MHz) correct setting would be 11*166 but using that you may corrupt your IDE harddisk (as said above) unless you are lucky (good HD) or change the IDE settings. If you need advice loosening IDE settings seach from web but basically I think using lower PIO mode is enough?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2003, 09:10 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

IrishFlyer. Tell us how it goes. Pretty curious how the XP2500+ KT266A combo works out.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2003, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrishFlyer
Hi,

Well I have read a lot about people upgrading procs on their 8KHA+, from what will work and what will not.

I have come up with these four procs to hopefully purchase one in the next few weeks to keep my 8KHA+ going for a while yet.

TBred 2400XP
Thorton 2400XP
Barton 2500XP (I know unsupported, but I have heard of people who have them working and I am willing to take the chance with it)
TBred 2600XP (266FSB)

Which one should I go for? i.e which one if I coupled it with 512MB of Buffalo PC3200 Winbond would give me the best overclock? If I got the Barton I could maybe run it at 166FSB with the PC3200 (provided my SB Live and HDs can stand it).

Still a little confused as to what is the best path to get the most and last out of this exceptional mobo.

Any advice?

Cheers,

IF
I also have an 8kha+ and I run the following:

1700+ Tbred A @ 2.0 Ghz 1.75v 333 FSB
PC3200 Buffalo 2-5-2-2-1t
Harddrive
CDROM
Ti4200 @ 315/650 volt modded

I had a problem with 2 ground pins on the ATX connector getting scorched. I think there was too much current passing thru the ground pins and these 2 were unable to cope due to a relatively thin trace on the PCB. I flipped over the board and soldered a piece of bus wire amongst the 4 pins and the results are looking good.

Also, I had to use an ATA66 cable on the HD in order for 333FSB to work at all. The IDE controller must be getting unhappy with the high PCI bus speed.

Not sure about a Barton since the 8K3A has spotty Barton support. Has anyone seen a Barton in a 8KHA+? Curious to know as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2003, 04:46 PM
SoddemFX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme - Staffordshire - UK
Posts: 90

Hi IrishFlyer, I have an 8KHA+. I run an XP1800 Tbred-b at 13x 166.7 with a Sound Blaster Live!, GF3 and a WD200AB HDD, I use Crucial PC2100 at 3.1v 333MHz 6-2-2-2.

I think the 8KHA+ is OK with Bartons (Epox Tech?) if so i'd go with the Barton 2500, that is if your board can handle a 166MHz FSB, or a 2400 Thorton if not. From experience the 8KHA+ will be fine with the higher multipliers (as said by Risto), so dont worry about them.
__________________
Vapour Voltage Clock
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade 8KHA+ to USB 2.0 Briton EPoX MotherBoards 5 29th May, 2006 07:05 PM
Epox 8KHA+ DDR Upgrade DJbump EPoX MotherBoards 22 7th November, 2005 02:15 AM
Epox 8KHA+ : CPU upgrade SaintM EPoX MotherBoards 2 15th March, 2003 02:34 AM
8KHA+ New Bios. Do I need to upgrade? configure EPoX MotherBoards 1 30th January, 2003 12:34 PM
8kha+ to 8k3a+ upgrade questions Holst EPoX MotherBoards 13 10th May, 2002 05:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0