AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2003, 02:31 PM
delmo1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 2

8k3a+ -can you run a xp3000+??

Whats the maximum chip you can run without overclocking on the epox 8k3a+ ?? anyone know??
I would ideally like to run xp3000+
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2003, 05:06 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

There are two XP3200's One running at 2167MHz (166x13) and one running at 2100MHz (200x10.5). The first should work with you 8K3A. The second probably wont'.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2003, 05:30 PM
Rainbow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 99

An XP3000 will almost certainly work in this board as my 2800 runs at 3000 without any voltage increase. I doubt the CPU auto detect will work though, so you'll have to set it up manually in the bios
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2003, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

I´m currently using my 8K3A+ and i have applebred duron running at 12.5x204MHz on it,so XP3000+ shoudnt be problem.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2003, 01:43 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by delmo1
Whats the maximum chip you can run without overclocking on the epox 8k3a+ ?? anyone know??
I would ideally like to run xp3000+
The 8k3a was designed and came out long before 333fsb CPUs were available. IMHO, even using a 333fsb CPU is overclocking. However, the 8k3a was designed so well that it almost definitely should not be a problem. Any 333fsb CPU should work fine, but the autodetect function will probably not work properly.

Welcome to AOA.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2003, 06:49 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Hiya there

XP3000 333FSB will run in the EP-8K3A series board although the chipset does not fully support the whole instruction threeding of the Barton cored processor.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2003, 01:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to AndyMutz Send a message via MSN to AndyMutz Send a message via Skype™ to AndyMutz

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
XP3000 333FSB will run in the EP-8K3A series board although the chipset does not fully support the whole instruction threeding of the Barton cored processor.
and what does that mean in plain simple english?
will i have any major disadvantages when running a XP3000-333 CPU in an 8K3A+ board?

-andy-
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2003, 08:37 PM
delmo1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 2

what multiplier settings would i need??

if the autodetect doesnt work for an xp3000+ - what multiplier settings do i need??
sorry to ask havent fiddled with these for ages too used to the board auto detecting the cpu speed/chip type
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2003, 01:49 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

Depends which version you get 13x or 10.5x.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2003, 02:43 AM
jmichna's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Skokie IL
Posts: 145

Quote:
Originally Posted by ral
Depends which version you get 13x or 10.5x.
The 13.0X (333mHz) version runs fine on the 8K3A+ (latest available BIOS). I'm running it right now, was recognized in BIOS and ID'ed as XP3000+ during POST. Multiplier was left at auto detect (had some issues trying to manually set at 13.0)

Just installed my Barton 3000+ a couple days ago (also installed an SLK900A/92mm@2900rpm fan/Arctic Silver V)... just started playing with OC'ing... now at 2250mHz @ 1.65 vcore (default).
__________________
Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Choose your words, for they become actions.
Understand actions, for they become habits. Study your habits, for they become character.
Develop your character, for it becomes your destiny.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Only 161Mhz fsb on a xp3000+ ajopz EPoX MotherBoards 16 7th July, 2005 03:15 AM
8RDA+ & Xp3000+ oc problems ajopz EPoX MotherBoards 0 4th March, 2005 03:58 AM
8RDA+ and xp3000+ Bizantium EPoX MotherBoards 16 12th February, 2004 01:54 PM
Xp3000 (400 Fsb) Oc Help!!!! $ilent$uicide AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 27th August, 2003 01:20 AM
Color of my XP3000 400FSB Die? $ilent$uicide AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 9th July, 2003 12:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0