AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2003, 02:51 AM
jmichna's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Skokie IL
Posts: 145

8K5A2+ and Barton?

I just installed a Barton 2500+ in my daughter's 8K5A2+ flashed to the latest BIOS rev 5A2P2B01.BIN. The CPU is not identified by the mobo (during POST) as a Barton 2500+, and WinXP Pro (freshly installed) identifies it as an "unknown" CPU.

Is this normal/expected? Is there a later BIOS that will correctly identify the CPU?

Everything seems to run okay.
__________________
Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Choose your words, for they become actions.
Understand actions, for they become habits. Study your habits, for they become character.
Develop your character, for it becomes your destiny.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2003, 03:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

Did you re-enter bios and LOAD OPTIMIZED DEFAULTS?
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2003, 03:35 AM
jmichna's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Skokie IL
Posts: 145

Quote:
Originally Posted by golfer49
Did you re-enter bios and LOAD OPTIMIZED DEFAULTS?
Sure did! Always do....

Did find a BIOS dated from April 2003, rev 5A2P3407.BIN, and just flashed to that. Some progress, now BIOS ID's processor as an "Athlon" and gives speed, but still does not ID CPU as a Barton.
__________________
Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Choose your words, for they become actions.
Understand actions, for they become habits. Study your habits, for they become character.
Develop your character, for it becomes your destiny.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2003, 04:20 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Same here. 'unknown cpu type' in cpuid. I'm not
flashing just because it doesn't say "Barton". I get
the correct speed and thats ok.
I'm waiting for another N-Force board for the 2500
then put something else on the 8K5A2+.
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2004, 06:01 PM
Dezzy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman
Same here. 'unknown cpu type' in cpuid. I'm not
flashing just because it doesn't say "Barton". I get
the correct speed and thats ok.
I'm waiting for another N-Force board for the 2500
then put something else on the 8K5A2+.

Try setting up the stuff manually and see what it says
__________________
Epox 8KRA2
AMD Athlon XP 2700+
512mb pc 3200 DDR
Maxtor 80gb SATA (ATA-150)
Ge Force FX 5600 256MB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k5a2+ and Barton ronin1967 EPoX MotherBoards 0 6th September, 2004 07:51 PM
8K5A2+ And Barton krehbiet EPoX MotherBoards 6 3rd October, 2003 06:17 PM
Barton on Epox 8k5a2+ Endurance AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 20th June, 2003 10:55 PM
Barton and 8k5a2+ mmnp EPoX MotherBoards 5 13th March, 2003 03:37 AM
8K5A2+... and new 2500XP Barton core mefent EPoX MotherBoards 2 19th February, 2003 06:12 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0