AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2003, 10:16 PM
Shrekster1980's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 51

Question CPU Temp, is it to hot

My P4 2.8Ghz Temp is: 56-59 degrees centigrade.

Is this to hot.

I have the Intel A80856 002 fan & Heatsink rated at 2.8ghz + and a fanspeed of 2850 - 2900rpm.
I have no system fan, do i need 1?

do i need a better heatsink & fan.

Help would be nice as i think it may be toast in a couple of months

Shrekster
__________________
Bad Luck? It Never rains, but it pours

Sys 1: P4 3.06 FSB800 @3.127 , Epox 4GEA800I , Melco 1024Mb DDR400 PC3200 (2x512), Radeon 9600xt Pro 256MB DDR, Seagate Baracuda 7200RPM 120Gb x 2, Creative Labs Audigy 2Ex, Creative Megaworks 550Thx Surround sound

Sys 2: P4 2.8 FSB533 @2.897Ghz , Epox P4MKI Via P4M266A + VT8235 , Melco 512Mb DDR333 PC2700 (256x2), Gainward G-Force FX5200 128Mb DDR Pro660 TV/DVI, Hitachi Decstar 80Gb Ultra ATA133 7200RPM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2003, 11:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 45

Are those temps at a idle or under load? If they are at idle then it will surely head torwards 70 under load and thats too hot for my liking anyways...... The stock heat sink and fan intel provides with the retail cpus stinks as far as I am concerned. What you could do is remove that thermal compound/pad intel puts on it, lap (use sandpaper and a flat surface to true it up and polish it) the surface and apply a thin coating of artic silver 3 or 5 thermal compound and temps will probably drop considerably. To give you a idea I just did that to a rig I built for a friend this week and his was idleing at 53 54 deg before I did that and now its at 46-47 deg .....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 12:23 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Take off the side cover of your case (if it's on) If the temps drop subtantially it's you case ventalation. (or lack there of)
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 01:13 AM
Shrekster1980's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 51

I thinks me is going to contact Quantum Microponents at 10 in morning and ask them why my cpu temp is so high, and try and get the to come and put me some better cooling, if not i suppose i will have to spend some money or my chip is going to be toast.

i have taken the side cover off but theres no change.


cheers for the advice, shrekster1980
__________________
Bad Luck? It Never rains, but it pours

Sys 1: P4 3.06 FSB800 @3.127 , Epox 4GEA800I , Melco 1024Mb DDR400 PC3200 (2x512), Radeon 9600xt Pro 256MB DDR, Seagate Baracuda 7200RPM 120Gb x 2, Creative Labs Audigy 2Ex, Creative Megaworks 550Thx Surround sound

Sys 2: P4 2.8 FSB533 @2.897Ghz , Epox P4MKI Via P4M266A + VT8235 , Melco 512Mb DDR333 PC2700 (256x2), Gainward G-Force FX5200 128Mb DDR Pro660 TV/DVI, Hitachi Decstar 80Gb Ultra ATA133 7200RPM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 04:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 76

Hot? more like Sizzling Hot I suggest you get a Thermaltake Volcano7+ (please measure if it can fit w/o bumping to any capacitors in your MB) and Arctic Silver Ceramique or Arctic Silver5. Thoroughly scrape off the sticky residue from the CPU and follow the instructions of Arctic Silver http://www.arcticsilver.com/instructions.htm

Then put a decent case cooling, just keep in mind that it doesn't matter how many fans you put on the case if the design is inefficient. Here's mine low cost and efficient "airflow" design
__________________
EPOX 8RDA3+ rev 1.0 @stock 8RD33526BIOS
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ 266Mhz Thoroughbred B0
AXDA2400DKV3C 9307613350680
AIUHB0316MPH 27648
Thermaltake Volcano 12 (Arctic Silver Ceramique)
Vantec ICEBERQ CCB-A1C
Two Apacer 512MB PC3200
Maxtor 80GB UDMA 133 7200 rpm 2MB Buffer 6Y080L0
ViewSonic VE500
Enermax 365P-VE
Gainward GF4 4800SE 64M AGP8x
LiteOn 40x12x48x CDRW
ASUS CD-S520/A 52x
Creative Modem Blaster 56kPCI Internal DI5655
Chicony USB keyboard
A4tech MOP17 USB mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 04:53 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well, if the case temps didn't drop after you took the side cover off then I"d say it's either subpar cooling or your didn't install the HSF correctly.

My guess is the latter.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 45

Just a quick thought.....You might want to check out weather or not those temps are accurate also....For example these 4PCA3+ mobos I just built the temp starts out at almost 10 degrees more then the case temp is before the machine even boots up.....I know that has to be reading alot higher then it actually is so the cpu temps are wrong IMHO.......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 05:11 PM
Shrekster1980's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 51

phone Quantem Microponents, they said my cpu temp is below threshhold so not to worry.
me going to upgarde my cooling any way.
Where can i get an upgrade for my magic heath bios

shrekster
__________________
Bad Luck? It Never rains, but it pours

Sys 1: P4 3.06 FSB800 @3.127 , Epox 4GEA800I , Melco 1024Mb DDR400 PC3200 (2x512), Radeon 9600xt Pro 256MB DDR, Seagate Baracuda 7200RPM 120Gb x 2, Creative Labs Audigy 2Ex, Creative Megaworks 550Thx Surround sound

Sys 2: P4 2.8 FSB533 @2.897Ghz , Epox P4MKI Via P4M266A + VT8235 , Melco 512Mb DDR333 PC2700 (256x2), Gainward G-Force FX5200 128Mb DDR Pro660 TV/DVI, Hitachi Decstar 80Gb Ultra ATA133 7200RPM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 10:08 PM
geekbyte's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 174

What case do you have?

From the specs on chips .. they are stressed to take up to 85C. So 50-60 is not bad. You have to remember when the Fist 1ghz CPU released normal temps run around the 55-60, when they finally down sized the core and use less voltage now the temps drop. If you are not going to OC then i would say just change the Heatsink and Look into some Better case cooling.

Im using the AMD 2500 barton with the Antic Sonata Quite Case. Vantec Heatsink with 2 120 fans .. Very quite dont like the noise .. everyone said i cant OC because my temps will get to hot. Well i have my 2500 @ 3000 and i am at idle 35C .. load 40.

My brothers computer is a 1.2 .. and his idle is 55C. Load is at 60-65 its been running like that for 3 years.

Edit:

IT also sound like you might not have the heatsinnk properly set, Are you using Thermal paste. If you use to much it holds the heat in. Just some ideas.
__________________
AMD 2500+ @ 2.1ghz (220x9.5)
OCZ Platnium PC3200 Dual DDR 512mb
Sapphire ATI 9800NP @ 390/324
EPOX 8RDA+ Nforce2
Antec True PowerSupply 380W
WD 80GB 8MB HD / Maxtor 30GB 2MB HD
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 10:51 PM
Shrekster1980's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 51

Its an ENLIGHT VPB301 PSU
and ENLIGHT EN83072V4 Case

Think i might cut some hole in the case so i can install some system fans.

heatsink and fan have never been removed, Quantum Microponents installed when they built my system.

Shrekster1980
__________________
Bad Luck? It Never rains, but it pours

Sys 1: P4 3.06 FSB800 @3.127 , Epox 4GEA800I , Melco 1024Mb DDR400 PC3200 (2x512), Radeon 9600xt Pro 256MB DDR, Seagate Baracuda 7200RPM 120Gb x 2, Creative Labs Audigy 2Ex, Creative Megaworks 550Thx Surround sound

Sys 2: P4 2.8 FSB533 @2.897Ghz , Epox P4MKI Via P4M266A + VT8235 , Melco 512Mb DDR333 PC2700 (256x2), Gainward G-Force FX5200 128Mb DDR Pro660 TV/DVI, Hitachi Decstar 80Gb Ultra ATA133 7200RPM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2003, 11:12 PM
geekbyte's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 174

its not like it hasnt happen before .. they could have it sitting set wrong .. ya its like 99% impossible.

Or they put to much Thermal paste or forgot to put any at all .. i would take a look and just see.

Cant hurt unless you never done it before .. then get someone to do it for you or take your time.
__________________
AMD 2500+ @ 2.1ghz (220x9.5)
OCZ Platnium PC3200 Dual DDR 512mb
Sapphire ATI 9800NP @ 390/324
EPOX 8RDA+ Nforce2
Antec True PowerSupply 380W
WD 80GB 8MB HD / Maxtor 30GB 2MB HD
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2003, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 76

Running below threshhold is correct but would you want to run at those temps is a definate NO. I recommend you get yourself a good heatsink (Volcano7+ will do very nicely) as long as it fits and Arctic Silver Ceramique or Arctic Silver5. Hold out on the case cooling for now until you get your temps down and then work on your case cooling.

Please don't forget to read instructions from http://www.arcticsilver.com/instructions.htm and also scrape the CPU good so it would have better contact.

When your CPU cooler is functioning properly, you could try my homemade case cooling low cost and efficient "airflow" design
__________________
EPOX 8RDA3+ rev 1.0 @stock 8RD33526BIOS
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ 266Mhz Thoroughbred B0
AXDA2400DKV3C 9307613350680
AIUHB0316MPH 27648
Thermaltake Volcano 12 (Arctic Silver Ceramique)
Vantec ICEBERQ CCB-A1C
Two Apacer 512MB PC3200
Maxtor 80GB UDMA 133 7200 rpm 2MB Buffer 6Y080L0
ViewSonic VE500
Enermax 365P-VE
Gainward GF4 4800SE 64M AGP8x
LiteOn 40x12x48x CDRW
ASUS CD-S520/A 52x
Creative Modem Blaster 56kPCI Internal DI5655
Chicony USB keyboard
A4tech MOP17 USB mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2003, 08:54 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

And after all is said and done, check out our folding section!!!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cpu temp captaincurran Case Modifications 2 12th May, 2005 12:20 AM
what temp p4 2.66 p7389 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 7 7th July, 2004 11:29 PM
cpu temp mork AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 7th December, 2002 01:57 PM
Temp changes? Monkeyboy Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 12th June, 2002 12:59 AM
Is this temp ok? dmdstar Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 30th March, 2002 05:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0