AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2003, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to Drazen xxx

OCing a Barton 2500+ on 8rda+ rev1.1

I can't get my Barton 2500+ to run stable on 11*200MHz.
I also have 2*256MB DDR400 GEIL.
Do i have to flash my bios or just get the NB cooling?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2003, 04:21 PM
Lord Vetinari's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Worthing Sussex England
Posts: 325

Many of the 1.1 MBs will not go over around 185FSB without a VDD mod.
Is it unstable in windows in general or just 3D apps/games?
__________________
new comp- 8RDA+, xp2100 TbredB @202*11, 2*twinmos 3200 (non winbond), 9700 pro, Maxtor 9 plus 80gb, Hitachi CML174SWB 17" LCD

Old comp KT7A Axia 1ghz @1.38GHZ,
GF3 ti200, Compaq 910 19" Monitor
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2003, 11:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 11

Hard to say. I had the same prob with my HyperX until I got an RMA for another rev. Now I run 24/7 at 215 and run 220 fairly stably.

What BIOS do u use? I use the 8/27/03 - seems to be the best (for me, at least) overall....

I don't know how fair it is to say that this board won't go over 185 w/o a Vdd mod as so many of them go over 200 quite easily.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2004, 04:22 PM
quantum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 14

I have a 1.1 8KRA+ board doing 200 fsb but I needed to place a new cooler on the Northbridge to get there. In fact if ya can afford it get a major cooler for ya NB, it appears to make a big difference on most 1.1 boards.

Most overclokers do that btw.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2004, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 21

Odd, i just set mine to 200 x 11 and it works fine, i dindt know there was more to it then that...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2004, 09:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drazen xxx
I can't get my Barton 2500+ to run stable on 11*200MHz.
I also have 2*256MB DDR400 GEIL.
Do i have to flash my bios or just get the NB cooling?
Does your mbd have the latest "C" stepping NB? If not then u *MAY* have to mod the Vdd. I changed mine to 1.85v and, with better cooling on the nb, was able to achieve 200 fsb easily as do most ppl with this mod. It's all in the dreaded code, "do you have a "C" stepping 1.1". If not u mght have to do what's in my sig.
__________________
Rig 1
Ep8RDA+ v1.1 (Vdd mod 1.85v) XP2500 AQZEA 0332 @ 2460MHz (205x12) Swiftech MCW462H Waterblock in Xaser II ally case
rig2
Ep8RDA+ v2.2 XP2500-M AQYHA 0410 @ 2640MHz, ATI 9800Pro, TwinMOS 3200 ram, LRWW Wb in GW-YCC6XF1 case.
NEW-mbike+rigs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2004, 10:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to Drazen xxx

I can go to 195MHz without any mods.But when i go on 200 it just freezes.I have an old bios which doesn't support 200MHz CPUs.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 02:13 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

I have 8RDA+v1.0, w/C1 nb. not vmoded. can run
9.5@200 max. 12x185 is the best it can do. have
2x256 xms3200@2.77v, cpu@1.75v. I don't think
this cpu likes the high v-core 'cause it won't boot
without errors past 1.75 @ any fsb.
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 21

I know this is a stupid place to ask, but does any one know where i can find a tutorial for vmodding and stuff, because this is the first ive heard of it, ive only learnt about multiplayers and FSB before.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 07:08 PM
quantum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 14

xtremesystems.org is the bext place to find stuff like that imo
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 10:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 52

You can find nice vdd mod step by step at
http://www.motherboardfaqs.com/article.php?32.255
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2004, 08:42 AM
TonyCarr's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: SouthEastern , USA
Posts: 122

8RDA+ rev 1.1 , rig in sig

In my sig I put what was reported by the nvidia utility program but when I removed my nb heatsink , the nb was all black and ended in A1 ? ( I don't know the nb codes ) . It will run a XP2500 Barton as a XP3200 Barton 11 X 200 all day and super stable @ 1.675vcore and 8-3-3-2.5 memory in my sig , the memory timing was selected by the bios itself for optimal setting /auto , all I did was set the fsb to 200 and leave optimal and auto on everything else . I did lower the vdimm voltage to 2.6 because the auto setting ran it up to 2.8 and I upped the vcore to 1.675 because most said it would need it , I did not even try 1.65vcore . I have a 40mm 8cfm fan screwed onto stock nb heatsink and ceramique under it , passive sink on sb , sinks on mosfets . I'm using the 10/17/2003 bios and the nvidia 3.13 chipset driver. The nb temp stays about 28C unless I up the vdimm above 2.6v . Vdd cycles between 1.552v - 1.568v .
__________________
8RDA+ rev 2.1 @ 11 X 200fsb w/XPM 2500B IQYHA 0348SPMW @ 1.55Vcore , Hyper X DDR400 2 X 256M dc 6-3-3-2 , ATI 9600 , ThermalRight ALX-800 w/ Panaflo U , Antec SL-450 , winXP sp2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2004, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyCarr
In my sig I put what was reported by the nvidia utility program but when I removed my nb heatsink , the nb was all black and ended in A1 ? ( I don't know the nb codes ) . ............ .
a "C1" nb (as written on the nb) is not vital but for me getting 200+ on the fsb did need different nb cooling and 1.85v on the Vdd (my chip is an A2). Many ppl have reached 200 without mods.
__________________
Rig 1
Ep8RDA+ v1.1 (Vdd mod 1.85v) XP2500 AQZEA 0332 @ 2460MHz (205x12) Swiftech MCW462H Waterblock in Xaser II ally case
rig2
Ep8RDA+ v2.2 XP2500-M AQYHA 0410 @ 2640MHz, ATI 9800Pro, TwinMOS 3200 ram, LRWW Wb in GW-YCC6XF1 case.
NEW-mbike+rigs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2004, 06:56 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

While we are on the subject of vdd mods, I did mine about 1 year ago using the variable resistor, every once in a while , lately, twice in the past 3 weeks--it will boot up just fine and then restart, if I look at the voltage while it is starting up ( great thing about that health monitor bootup screen) , I see that the vdd voltage dropped back to 1.57v, like I didn't even do the modification, just touching the variable resistor adjusting screw, actually pushing lightly with a small screwdriver, will get the voltage to jump right back up to 1.85v . It had me scared the first time, I thought the wire came off, I redid the mod and used silicone sealer to apply the adjuster to the side of the dimm slot.
If you are unsure about doing this mod, you should get someone else to do it, like at a ham radio club or a TV repairman (dying breed, but still around if you look). If you are going to do this yourself you can practice on an old motherboard or radio, Use illumination and magnification as well as a pencil type soldering iron , Radio Shack has a 15 watter for about $9.00.
Bob
Attached Thumbnails
OCing a Barton 2500+ on 8rda+ rev1.1-vdd-mod-002.jpg  
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2004, 07:17 PM
New-b's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyCarr
In my sig I put what was reported by the nvidia utility program but when I removed my nb heatsink , the nb was all black and ended in A1 ? ( I don't know the nb codes ) ..
A1 is the newest rev (printed on NB) it reports itself in apps (WCPUID,NVSU etc.) as a C1.....I was good to go with stock VDD up to 11x224 but after going to a gig of ram I found it wasn't as stable, modding it up to 1.82 helped alot.
__________________
DFI NF2 Ultra Inf//mobile 2600+ @2561(11.5x222)
1gig Mushkin Black L2 3500 @ 11-2-2-2-2-13-15-E-E-F-E
ALX-800 + 80mm Tornado//Shin-etsu thermal pad
Radeon 9800pro-M(Tyan Tachyon)
2x WD 80gb HDD
Lite-on 52x32x52 CD-RW//Samsung 16x DVD
Antec SLK3700amd//550w True control
Yamaha TSS1-W 5.1 Dolby Digital/DTS Speakers & external decoder
Windows XP sp1//DX9.b//(Omega 4.2's)//2-17.bo1 bios
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2004, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Kaarina, Finland
Posts: 40

I'm also having troubles with rev. 1.1 8rda+ and above 185 Mhz FSBs... It keeps crashing/booting in 3d apps.

I'm running 2500+ Barton and Kingston KHX-3000, both should be able to meet the 185 Mhz FSB limit, so it has to be the mobo...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2004, 08:34 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by t_style
I'm also having troubles with rev. 1.1 8rda+ and above 185 Mhz FSBs... It keeps crashing/booting in 3d apps.

I'm running 2500+ Barton and Kingston KHX-3000, both should be able to meet the 185 Mhz FSB limit, so it has to be the mobo...
again we are at that place where "your results may vary". lots of
issues with the high fsb on rev1.1 have been narrowed down to 2.
the low <1.85v on un-modded mb and the heat. the nb seems to be
very sensitive to both. extra cooling on the nb is a must. even at the
default voltage. the extra cooling can be worth as much as 15MHz.
then you volt mod the mb and the heat gets worse.
Istill don't have enough cooling on my nb but it does 185fsb @ def.
2500+@2230, 12*185, 1.6vcore, 1.65vio, 2.5vdimm, Corsair3200XMS.
not too bad for a fsb oc. the only thing that happens when the voltages are raised is more heat and an unstable system.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2004, 07:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Laughlin, Nv
Posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drazen xxx
I can't get my Barton 2500+ to run stable on 11*200MHz.
I also have 2*256MB DDR400 GEIL.
Do i have to flash my bios or just get the NB cooling?
i had a similar problem, and took me a bit to figure out what it was. the main factors to achieve 200 on this board is its voltage. I once had a rev 1.0, supplied 1.58v and i never got it above 200 bus, using an xp2400 and same ram i have now. i then got a rev 1.1, it had 1.62 v and did 200 bus with the 2400 all day long.

now i have also modded the NB with an iceburg, and put another sink/fan on the SB. just as precautionary measures. thing that confused me was, knowing the board was capable of 200 bus, it didnt run over 185 stable when i upgraded to a 2500 for better oc ability. i ran everything the same, but couldnt get over 185, then finally i found that it was the cpu setting in the bios. i had it on aggressive, and the 2400 handled that fine. but for some reason the barton didnt. so i put it on optimal, and immediately lost a little in performance, but that gave me more headroom , and now have 212 stable. so if you have yours on aggressive, try optimal . assuming your ram and everything else is capable . my timings are 2-3-3-6 at 212 and i ran 2-2-2-4 when it was 200 bus. also keep in mind your powersupply and check its voltage lines.

good luck .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA3+ rev1 + Mobile Barton = no boot... help? RaynorWolfcastl EPoX MotherBoards 3 23rd June, 2004 03:56 AM
Issue with 8RDA rev 1.x and Mobile Barton 2500+ quantum EPoX MotherBoards 6 3rd May, 2004 07:30 PM
Epox 8RDA+ & Barton 2500 chrisbard EPoX MotherBoards 6 20th October, 2003 04:52 PM
8rda+ is not liking my Barton 2500+ at high FSB and clock speed. Hexedit EPoX MotherBoards 23 29th July, 2003 05:07 AM
8RDA+ and Barton 2500+ Overclocking issue jdogg707 EPoX MotherBoards 22 25th March, 2003 02:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0