AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 2nd January, 2004, 11:28 AM

EP8K7A+ & HPT370A: RAID0 to RAID0+1... how?

Hi, any help would be GREATLY appreciated As will shortly be evidenced, I'm a fair novice at the RAID game.

Hardware:
Epox EP8K7A+ with Highpoint HPT370A RAID controller.
The MoBo BIOS has been flashed to the 5/29/2002 load.
The RAID BIOS has been flashed to v2.32 (the RAID drivers and GUI app are at v2.32 as well).

Issue:
I have an existing RAID0 drive (striped between 2 30gb WD drives) and I would like to mirror it for safety. I bought two additional drives of the same manufacturer and capacity but I can't figure out how to add those as a mirror after the fact.

If I stripe them first, the RAID controller doesn't recognize them as drives that could be used as a mirror. If I leave them blank, I can only mirror between the two new drives.

Is there no way to move from RAID0 to RAID0+1 with HPT370A controller? Seems somewhat odd not to be able to add a mirror to an existing RAID0 setup, doesn't it? Which is why I think I'm missing some obvious reason why I can't do this.

Things I've tried:

Since this is an existing installation, I considered moving to two RAID1 setups instead of a RAID0+1 ... but between the 4 drives I have I can't get there. I set drive #3 and #4 as RAID1, then used CasperXP to copy the RAID0 partitions over to the RAID1 drive (so I could then break the RAID0 setup and make it RAID1). This appeared to work as I could independently boot drive #3 correctly with what appears to be all info intact. But drive #4 wouldn't boot when I tested it. Then the RAID controller wanted to correct the mirror and after it was done neither would boot independently (or together).