AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2004, 05:29 PM
tetsuo666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 2

cant set any multiplier with ep-8k9ai and xp 2400 tb

hello everyone !

i have a epox ep-8k9ai and a xp 2400 tb and i tried to overclock it .as far as i know i should be able to set any mutiplier with this combination but it simple wont work .i tried to set any multiplier from 8x to 16x but when rebooting its every time at the standart multiplier which is 15x .in the bios setup the multi is on the setting i had tried but it dont work.do i need some special bios or something like that to make the multipliers work?
i hope someone can help me

ps:sorry for some errors but english is not my native language
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2004, 06:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 14

The latest AMD chips are multiplier locked. If you have a look over the surface of the chip (top part where the die is) it should be flat and you should NOT be able to see the microcircuits. If you can the it is locked and you will have to do a wire trick. Just search Tomshardware.com

Andy
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2004, 06:59 PM
tetsuo666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 2

yes this is true for bartons and thortons but i have a xp 2400 toroughbred i bought it 3 months ago it shouldnt be locked this way, and my epox 8k9ai board should unlock the multis on toroughbreds as far as i know.
__________________

Last edited by tetsuo666; 5th January, 2004 at 07:13 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2004, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 14

Well as far as I know all 32bit AMD`s are now locked. Have you tried the wire trick? Also try booting @ x9.5 on the multiplier and then change it to what ever you want. My 8KRA2+ (very similar to yours) will only unlock if I do it this way. Good luck

Andy
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2004, 09:28 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The year and week of manufacture should be written on the chip, eg. 0340 where 03 is the year and 40 would be the week number. If it was made after week 39 then the multiplier will be locked.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2004, 11:05 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

It's not so much about week number as it is package type. If you have Z type it will unlock, T type won't.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More than 200 FSB in 8K9AI in the tape EPoX MotherBoards 0 11th April, 2004 09:50 PM
I/O 3.3V naar 3.26V on 8k9ai ??? Kuriacin EPoX MotherBoards 3 5th September, 2003 02:26 AM
multiplier unlocked on 8k3a with a 2400+? Kharn83 EPoX MotherBoards 4 28th May, 2003 01:40 PM
$115 Xp 2400 runs at 2400 good deal? The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th February, 2003 03:31 PM
Epox 8k9Ai Multiplier Question Spaceboy60 EPoX MotherBoards 1 5th February, 2003 03:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0