AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2004, 11:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4

Unhappy "BIOS Flash" Prompt on boot (8RGMI) .... ooops!

Hi all. I purchased this motherboard off ebay and was promised that the board was a working board when it was sent ( yeh I know ). I am using an Athlon XP 2500+ 333fsb and 2 x 256mb of pc3200 elixir mem. On first boot all seemed fine, POST was successful and went to bios loaded defaults. Second boot ok too. At this point I have no drives (not even fd) connected. I made some changes to BIOS settings such as boot order and changing fsb to 166 for a laugh. Save and exit.
At this point I get what looks like a Bios flashing screen saying "Do not power down or reset. Please wait!" So I waited for roughly 30 mins and nothing happens. so... I press reset. Whispering under my breath "but this will kill the system".... well guys I think I've killed the system.
I've tried reseting the cmos and different psu and memory (1 x 512mb of pc2700 crucial). No change.
So what was the bios flash menu. Remember no drives connected.
Please help!!!

Incedentally, what happens is that when you power on the fan's start up but not video activity or audible responses, e.g. beeps.
__________________

Last edited by never; 5th January, 2004 at 11:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2004, 12:40 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Sounds like something went wrong when it flashed the FSB parameters back onto the BIOS chip.

If you have an older (200MHz FSB) chip, then that might be enough to get you up and running again, as it will use a different set of FSB parameters.

Otherwise you might need a new BIOS chip, or to hotflash your existing BIOS to recover the corrupted parameters in the BIOS chip itself.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2004, 02:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
...
Otherwise you might need a new BIOS chip, or to hotflash your existing BIOS to recover the corrupted parameters in the BIOS chip itself.
I have a old Athlon 1.4ghz. But it won't do anything with that in.
What would you suggest is the safest option?

If I wanted to Hotflash it where's the best place to read up about it first. I'm fairly experienced user so I think I can handle doing a hotflash if I have some documentation. Although it sounds fairly straight forward I don't want to ruin another board.

Just reading about it, hotflashing. I've got a Nforce2 ABit NF7 mobo. Could I get away with doing a hotflash by putting the faulty chip in that motherboard?

thanks for your help.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2004, 08:18 AM
Shrekster1980's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 51

alright never

I think you made a mistake buying of ebay.

Do not put the Bios chip in the Abit NF7 Motherboard because it stuffed and you might damage you Abit Nf7 mobo. I think u better buy a new one from address below.

Ordering a replacement BIOS

A replacement eeprom BIOS chip (pre-programmed) can be purchased by sending a cheque for £9.95 made payable to "Actron Electronics Limited" to :-

EPoX UK
c/o Actron Electronics Limited
Unit 1
Enigma Building
Bilton Road
Milton Keynes
MK1 1HW

This service is available for all mainboards under 2 years old.

Please remember to include your mainboard model number and postal address when applying. THIS IS FOR UK RESIDENTS ONLY. BIOS eeproms are usually sent out with 72hours of cheque receipt. Please note that this does not include eeprom removal tool, although these are available from all good electronics outlets throughout the UK. BIOS eeproms will not always be flashed with the latest BIOS, they will be flashed with a BIOS of our choice that is deemed to offer maximum overall successful recovery. It is not possible to order these components by telephone.

When replacing the epox bios, take the old one out, and when u put new one in, put some dental floss underneath so if you need to take it out for any reason, you don't damage it.


shrekster
__________________
Bad Luck? It Never rains, but it pours

Sys 1: P4 3.06 FSB800 @3.127 , Epox 4GEA800I , Melco 1024Mb DDR400 PC3200 (2x512), Radeon 9600xt Pro 256MB DDR, Seagate Baracuda 7200RPM 120Gb x 2, Creative Labs Audigy 2Ex, Creative Megaworks 550Thx Surround sound

Sys 2: P4 2.8 FSB533 @2.897Ghz , Epox P4MKI Via P4M266A + VT8235 , Melco 512Mb DDR333 PC2700 (256x2), Gainward G-Force FX5200 128Mb DDR Pro660 TV/DVI, Hitachi Decstar 80Gb Ultra ATA133 7200RPM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2004, 04:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrekster1980
I think you made a mistake buying of ebay.
Some people might say it's risky buying off ebay, some others would say overclocking a cpu is risky. Each to their own I suppose. Personally I don't mind, if i can get it working then I've paid the same money and got some experience too. Infact it would still be cheaper than retail. Bonus.

I thought as much, as far as the hotflash was concerned. (Although there are people who claim that they have managed to hotflash a rom from a different board. Depending on flash file sizes and rom types.)
Thanks again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2004, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4

Shrekster,
Just to reinstate your faith in ebay. The guy I bought the board off has offered to pay for the replacement chip.
...
Which is nice.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2004, 12:41 PM
Shrekster1980's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 51

thats unusual.

looks like there are a few good people out there after all.

shrekster
__________________
Bad Luck? It Never rains, but it pours

Sys 1: P4 3.06 FSB800 @3.127 , Epox 4GEA800I , Melco 1024Mb DDR400 PC3200 (2x512), Radeon 9600xt Pro 256MB DDR, Seagate Baracuda 7200RPM 120Gb x 2, Creative Labs Audigy 2Ex, Creative Megaworks 550Thx Surround sound

Sys 2: P4 2.8 FSB533 @2.897Ghz , Epox P4MKI Via P4M266A + VT8235 , Melco 512Mb DDR333 PC2700 (256x2), Gainward G-Force FX5200 128Mb DDR Pro660 TV/DVI, Hitachi Decstar 80Gb Ultra ATA133 7200RPM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
EPoX 8KRA2I : can't disable "floppy seek at boot" Vasya Pupkin EPoX MotherBoards 3 18th September, 2003 08:36 AM
Epox 8RDA+ BIOS flash failure "C1" & beeping mcouillard EPoX MotherBoards 3 11th April, 2003 01:31 AM
Cant find "sync" in the under mem frequency in bios"RDA+" T()()L EPoX MotherBoards 3 5th January, 2003 10:06 AM
Asus's "auto BIOS flash." Anyone use it? cloasters OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 29th July, 2002 10:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0