AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2004, 01:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 4

BIOS Flashing by CD drive not floppy

Board 8K7A+

Is it possible to flash the BIOS via CD. My A drive is not working (another story) and I want to flash my BIOS so I can put in a 2600 processor. If I set my BIOS to boot from CD then will I be able to FLash using the shift F2 method
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2004, 09:21 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

In a word, No. The Shift+F2 method only works with floppy disks. You'd have to make a DOS bootable CD with all the required files on it instead, and you'd be doing it at your own risk!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2004, 12:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Posts: 4

low buck

hello

buy a new floppy they dont cost that much.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2004, 12:40 AM
Chilliwilli's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: England
Posts: 216
Send a message via ICQ to Chilliwilli Send a message via MSN to Chilliwilli

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

This CD will give you a choice of boot options include DOS modes wher you could 'cd' to your C drive and run awdflash.exe
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesotes
hello

buy a new floppy they dont cost that much.
Why do i want to buy a new floppy? I already have three...

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2004, 10:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilliwilli
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

This CD will give you a choice of boot options include DOS modes wher you could 'cd' to your C drive and run awdflash.exe
I have tried the UBCD and have to load NTFS dos to see the drives. When i navigate to and run awdflash i get insufficient memory message and it wont let me run it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2004, 11:52 PM
Veky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 269
Send a message via ICQ to Veky Send a message via AIM to Veky Send a message via MSN to Veky Send a message via Yahoo to Veky

Convert one of your partitions to FAT32, flash, then convert back to NTFS.
__________________
Epox 8RDA3+ Pro
AthlonXP-M 2500+ @ 2.45GHz (11 x 225)
2 x 1024MB PC3200 Geil Value
PNY GeForce 6800GT
Seagate 250GB SATA
Tagan 430W PSU
Windows XP SP2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2004, 11:21 PM
daMANiack's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Posts: 39

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Priam1234
Why do i want to buy a new floppy? I already have three...

Hi,

You could try this.

1. Create a DOS self-booting floppy disk with all the Epox bios flashing files on it

2. Edit Update.bat so that the file path reference to the .BIN file to flash and the OLD.BIN to save is correct. You may need to save to a floppy in A:\ if all your hard-drives ate NTFS.

You'll need to boot to DOS to confirm the drive letter of your 1st CD-Rom as DOS will only boot from this.

When you're happy that you have the correct drive letter in 2. above.

3. Open NERO (late version) and select CD-Rom (Boot) (make sure the floppy is in)

4. When happy, select BURN and NERO will create a self-booting CD from the floppy in A:\

5. Store this floppy away so you can repeat when required.

Cheerz
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2004, 11:54 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Why not save yourself all the hassle and use just one of your 3 floppy drives and use the Alt+F2 method?
Or is it just me?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2004, 03:18 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Or is it just me?
It's not you, it's "another story".
Priam1234, What is wrong with your floppy drive? What settings do you have it set to in bios setup?
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flashing the BIOS with USB FDD instead of A: drive? Astralman OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 25th October, 2006 09:37 PM
Problem with floppy drive Rondog General Hardware Discussion 10 7th May, 2005 01:34 PM
flashing bios without floppy? sirtoby EPoX MotherBoards 7 9th January, 2003 06:50 PM
Flashing Bios without a floppy. Buzz_UK EPoX MotherBoards 4 16th December, 2002 06:51 PM
help! cant detect my floppy drive ljohn EPoX MotherBoards 4 5th November, 2002 04:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0