AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2004, 12:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 9

epox answer to the 2.96vdimm problem

i emailed epox a few days ago stating the vdimm problem and its in ability to provide the proper voltage over 2.9. here is there response :


As you mentioned, it is the limitation of hardware design on new EP-4PCA3+
Rev 2.2 motherboard that cannnot increase Vdimm voltage over 2.9 volts.
Becasue, it is for protecting the component of hardware due to increase the
Vdimm too high that is a risky thing. According to that, we strongly suggest
you to set Vdimm voltage in defaults.


Thank you for your interest in EPoX products and contacting our support
department. If you reply ensure to include all previous E-mail text. It will
prevent unnecessary delays and guarantee the fastest possible response.


Best Regards,
__________________
2.8c SL6Z5 @ 3.5 (250x14) 1.58 volts
Epox 4pca3+ V2.2
Swiftech W/C - Lite-On FS020 case 3x120mm fans (384 cfm)
Antec true power 430
1GB mushkin lvl 2 pc3500 (2x512ds)
Western Digital 73GB Raptor
Sapphire 9800n/p bios modded to pro 407/351 (3dmark03 - 6127)
NEC 1100 dvd writer
zip 250 ide
P1100 21" monitor
logitech elite duo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2004, 12:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by tech211
i emailed epox a few days ago stating the vdimm problem and its in ability to provide the proper voltage over 2.9. here is there response :


As you mentioned, it is the limitation of hardware design on new EP-4PCA3+
Rev 2.2 motherboard that cannnot increase Vdimm voltage over 2.9 volts.
Becasue, it is for protecting the component of hardware due to increase the
Vdimm too high that is a risky thing. According to that, we strongly suggest
you to set Vdimm voltage in defaults.


Thank you for your interest in EPoX products and contacting our support
department. If you reply ensure to include all previous E-mail text. It will
prevent unnecessary delays and guarantee the fastest possible response.


Best Regards,
WHAT DO YA THINK OF THAT ????
__________________
2.8c SL6Z5 @ 3.5 (250x14) 1.58 volts
Epox 4pca3+ V2.2
Swiftech W/C - Lite-On FS020 case 3x120mm fans (384 cfm)
Antec true power 430
1GB mushkin lvl 2 pc3500 (2x512ds)
Western Digital 73GB Raptor
Sapphire 9800n/p bios modded to pro 407/351 (3dmark03 - 6127)
NEC 1100 dvd writer
zip 250 ide
P1100 21" monitor
logitech elite duo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2004, 02:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by tech211
WHAT DO YA THINK OF THAT ????
It may be an excuse after the fact. On the other hand, I did sorta predict this. I do see substantial changes in the 2.2 board around the DIMM slots. This may have been to limit the VDIMM. The BIOSs have to be backward compatible so they have to leave the 3.0-3.3 settings in the BIOS, which will only work with the earlier revs.

Also think about it: the latest BIOS implements really aggressive stuff for the memory, so running these tweaks at 3.3 volts may spell death for the board.

All I know is I'm glad I hung on to my 1.1 and 1.2 boards . At least the latter has the bug where I can get 1.60 and 1.7 VCORE.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2004, 03:41 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Wanna cough up that rev 1.2?

BTW, do you still have your 4PDA2+?
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2004, 06:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 9

and here is a second email from epox.


Dear sir,

Sorry about making you confused and inconvenient in EP-4PCA3+ motherbaord, it is becasue the limitation of hardward design that cannot increase Vdimm to higher voltage. The most important thing is for protecting the component of hardware and motherboard's life. Afterward, we will forward to related department to check whether modified manual, BIOS item.,etc. Many thanks for your suggestions and if you still have any problems, please kindly ask to your local dealer/retailer.



Thank you for your interest in EPoX products and contacting our support
department. If you reply ensure to include all previous E-mail text. It will
prevent unnecessary delays and guarantee the fastest possible response.


Best Regards,

=================================================
Technical Support (ICL)
EPoX Computer Co., LTD. (Head office)
E-Mail : support@epox.com.tw
Web : www.epox.com
__________________
2.8c SL6Z5 @ 3.5 (250x14) 1.58 volts
Epox 4pca3+ V2.2
Swiftech W/C - Lite-On FS020 case 3x120mm fans (384 cfm)
Antec true power 430
1GB mushkin lvl 2 pc3500 (2x512ds)
Western Digital 73GB Raptor
Sapphire 9800n/p bios modded to pro 407/351 (3dmark03 - 6127)
NEC 1100 dvd writer
zip 250 ide
P1100 21" monitor
logitech elite duo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2004, 01:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPQQKY
BTW, do you still have your 4PDA2+?
Yes sir! Two Rev. 2.0s 4PDA2+s. One board is outrageous, the other not quite as good, but gets there. This is the rig I am putting my 3.0Cs in that do 243-248 fsb for 3.6-3.72 gig on air. I need a home for the 3700+ unbuffered the rig puts out with XMS3500 at 240, 1:1, 2-2-2-5 at Expert(Enabled-Enabled-Disabled) .

If I relax settings in the BIOS I can run 250, 1:1, 2-2-2-5 with the sticks, I just lose maybe 100 unbuffered. 3600+ still OK, I would say .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2004, 08:38 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Great, how about throwing one of those 4PDA2+'s my way. Mine seemed to be okay at first, but frizzled out on me for some reason, which is why I stuck with the 4PCA3+, but I'd love to give another 4pDA2+ a try. . . . what can I sell to get some cash
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2004, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 9

hey ET do you have any comment on this ???
__________________
2.8c SL6Z5 @ 3.5 (250x14) 1.58 volts
Epox 4pca3+ V2.2
Swiftech W/C - Lite-On FS020 case 3x120mm fans (384 cfm)
Antec true power 430
1GB mushkin lvl 2 pc3500 (2x512ds)
Western Digital 73GB Raptor
Sapphire 9800n/p bios modded to pro 407/351 (3dmark03 - 6127)
NEC 1100 dvd writer
zip 250 ide
P1100 21" monitor
logitech elite duo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2004, 08:10 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

As the email you got came from EPoX Taiwan, ET won't make any comment. This is fairly normal policy within multi-national companies, and avoids the odd issues like the MS toilet.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2004, 02:10 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

A comment is that all of this complaining will possibly lead to the removal of higher vDimm from 4PCA3+ BIOS as unattainable leading to users of both rev 1.x and 2.x PCB's not being able to select above 2.96v. If it is not there to select - the question of the BIOS having no effect will be gone.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2004, 02:24 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'm sure ET is out to make me look stupid.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2004, 03:05 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

See, I told you guys not to frizzle ET's nerves in my thread on the subject, but you keep pushing.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2004, 04:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 79

Looks like rev 2.0 is the magic # ...

you can get one here. Most other places don't keep track of the rev, so you don't know what you'll get http://www.censuspc.com/Merchant2/me...y_Code=MOT0021
__________________
Epox 4PCA3+ rev 2.0
Intel P4 2.4ghz at 3480mhz (12x290 w/5:4 ram div)
Koolance PC2-601BW Watercooled case
2x512meg Corsair pc3500 at CAS 2-2-2-5 (running at 232mhz)
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ 465/400
SB Audigy 2ZS
Kenwood 72x Zen CD drive
Samsung 52x CDR/DVD combo drive
2 WD Raptors in RAID 0
Antec TRUE430 Power supply
Sony G500 21” Monitor
Win XP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2004, 10:17 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Contacted censuspc by phone and they haven't updated their web site. They have only rev 2.2's now.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2004, 10:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 79

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPQQKY
Contacted censuspc by phone and they haven't updated their web site. They have only rev 2.2's now.
LOL ... crap
__________________
Epox 4PCA3+ rev 2.0
Intel P4 2.4ghz at 3480mhz (12x290 w/5:4 ram div)
Koolance PC2-601BW Watercooled case
2x512meg Corsair pc3500 at CAS 2-2-2-5 (running at 232mhz)
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ 465/400
SB Audigy 2ZS
Kenwood 72x Zen CD drive
Samsung 52x CDR/DVD combo drive
2 WD Raptors in RAID 0
Antec TRUE430 Power supply
Sony G500 21” Monitor
Win XP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2004, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 9

well ET i wasnt trying to get on ur bad side . and with that said my final decision to by this board was because it advertised 3.3 vdimm.had they not had that figure and made it 2.9 as you suggest then i would'nt have bought it. so yes your conclusion to the problem would work ,but it would'nt have the same purchasing power.
__________________
2.8c SL6Z5 @ 3.5 (250x14) 1.58 volts
Epox 4pca3+ V2.2
Swiftech W/C - Lite-On FS020 case 3x120mm fans (384 cfm)
Antec true power 430
1GB mushkin lvl 2 pc3500 (2x512ds)
Western Digital 73GB Raptor
Sapphire 9800n/p bios modded to pro 407/351 (3dmark03 - 6127)
NEC 1100 dvd writer
zip 250 ide
P1100 21" monitor
logitech elite duo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 01:03 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Quote:
my final decision to by this board was because it advertised 3.3 vdimm.
Actually, EPoX does not advertise any voltage adjustment ratios, they only state in their web site that they HAVE voltage adjustments, it doesn't say how much. Reviews will say what they have and I haven't seen any reviews on the rev 2.2. The BIOS has the option present for other revs which may allow the voltages.

USA website

Europe website

German website


I don't see anything where it says 3.3v
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit

Last edited by SPQQKY; 21st January, 2004 at 01:09 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 05:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 45

You know all this debate would surely end if someone would come up with a volt mod for our boards......heh wouldnt be the first time I broke out the soldering iron and voided my warranty......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 08:56 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Hi again,

It's not a difficult mod to acheive involving the switch phase for the memory voltage a resistor to ground and a spider near the memory acheive - but for obvious reasons I can't detail it myself.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 02:23 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Whats the regulator on the board? Sounds like the mod is little more than a shunt across a potential divider there, which is easy to do.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still no answer to the age old question... mookydooky Random Nonsense! 21 9th December, 2004 07:10 PM
Epox 8kha+ Boot problem Epox tech please help csonkaa EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th November, 2003 09:32 AM
Answer me a few questions Epox man, PLZ? jimbobaggies EPoX MotherBoards 29 10th May, 2003 04:13 PM
Need QUICK answer to p4 problem BigRed Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 11th December, 2002 07:00 PM
Epox Tech Need Answer to my Q?? Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 2 17th October, 2001 09:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0