AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 2

8KTA+ won't boot, no beeps, nothing - PLEASE HELP!

I recently got a new PSU to replace what I thought was the problem in my old PC. It turned out that I needed a new Mobo too (to replace my ailing Asus A7V). So I got an Epox 8KTA or 8KTA+ (not sure which exactly). I swapped that into the system, and it worked fine first time. I left it on for about 15 hours, installed all my software, everything was fine.

I then left the PC off for about a week, and when I went to boot up, nothing happened. AFAIK, nothing has changed in the PC at all, and it's not been touched/moved. Since then, I've tried everything to find out the problem. All that happens when I pressing the power switch on the front is that the red power LED on the motherboard switches on. No action from the PSU, the CPU fan, the HDD, nothing. I've tried a minimal hardware setup - just the mobo, CPU, 1 memory stick, VGA card, and CPU+fan. Still nothing but the red power LED.
The red power LED doesn't switch off when I press the power switch again, but I'd expect that.

I've tried placing the motherboard on a sheet of paper, to check it's not shorting out against the case (someone else had the same symptoms as this, and that fixed it for them).

What on earth could the problem be? Does the red LED being on mean the PSU is fine, or just that it's providing some power, but not necessarily enough?
I don't have another CPU to test out with, but I will try an alternative PSU tonight (even though this one is brand new).

Please, if anyone has any suggestion, could you post here and let me know. I e-mailed Epox tech support buy they never replied, and I really need to get this computer up and running ASAP.

Many thanks in advance for any help you can provide,

Claude
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 02:37 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Fans typically run from the 12V line, so if you're not even seeing the fan in the PSU operating, it suggests that the 12V line isn't producing any power.

As you're going to try a new PSU, that should help to narrow down the exact problem, but does sound like the PSU.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 2

thanks for the quick response.

Yes, I'm going to try a new PSU, for the same reason you gave. It will be very strange if it's the PSU, as it's brand new.
Could it also be because the motherboard power connector is faulty?
No need to reply, I'll find out the answer by plugging in another PSU. If it starts up, then the old PSU is to blame.
If it still doesn't start up, then.....it could be the mobo's power connector, or something else still.

Cheers,
Claude


Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Fans typically run from the 12V line, so if you're not even seeing the fan in the PSU operating, it suggests that the 12V line isn't producing any power.

As you're going to try a new PSU, that should help to narrow down the exact problem, but does sound like the PSU.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 06:38 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Well, generally the fan in the PSU should rotate when the PSU is fully powered up, regardless of the state of the motherboard power connector!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2004, 07:01 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

8KTA+.
What is the CPU you are using? I'm just curious.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP-8KTA+ dead Allan EPoX MotherBoards 4 5th April, 2005 08:40 PM
EP-8KTA+ cant get it to POST thomastt37 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 23rd August, 2004 09:48 AM
Old 8KTA won't cold boot Jastra EPoX MotherBoards 1 9th March, 2003 04:15 PM
8K7A+ no boot and beeps barbadox EPoX MotherBoards 3 10th January, 2003 03:58 PM
ep 8kta+pro and cpu daffyduck EPoX MotherBoards 6 22nd November, 2002 12:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0