AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2004, 07:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 10

EP-4PCA3+ extra ide contacts

I bought this motherboard "EP-4PCA3+" about a week ago and now i found this forum and i wounder if i have to use raid on the extra ide contacts. Is it possible for me to only use one harddrive on the extra ide contacts?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2004, 10:15 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

RAID is optional, you can just hook up a single IDE drive.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 04:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 10

Jes i have a drive on the extra slot but i CAN'T find it in windows. What drivers or that thing should i use to make it work? All i want is to get it work propperly. please help me
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 05:58 PM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

Enable the controller in BIOS options...
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 06:15 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Load the drivers from the supplied HPT374 driver disk that came with the mainboard whilst following the instructions within the RAID administrators manual for driver installation under your given OS.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 10

Now i have load the drivers from the disk "hpt347" And what am i supposed to do then?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 07:32 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Is this drive listed correctly within the BIOS menu?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 10

yes i got one disk in the extra ide contact and i get it listed when i boot whit the computer. But i still dont find it in windows.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 08:33 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You may have already done this...
Is the drive's jumper set correctly, i.e. master, slave, or cable select?
For example, if it is set as master, is it plugged in to the master connector on the cable?

It's worth double checking this because it easy to make a mistake. My IDE drives are all set as "cable select".
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 09:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 10

I had it on cable select and i changed it to master and now it works thx guys for the help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2004, 10:11 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Good!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2004, 08:04 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

automaton - It might be an idea to start a new thread, you will get more replies that way.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Contacts for Outlook Express bradmax57 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 8 3rd February, 2004 09:47 PM
HELP! epox 4pca3+ rev1.0 & 4pca3+ rev2.0 crazyfied EPoX MotherBoards 8 17th September, 2003 02:17 AM
Extra folders Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 1st October, 2002 08:38 AM
Yay - got 44 extra MHz! Allan Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 4th December, 2001 01:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0