AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 09:29 PM
OlderThanDirt's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN US
Posts: 4

Unhappy 8K7A 2.5V problem?

I recently installed the VIA Hardware Monitor, and it is warning me that the 2.5V supply is too low (it shows 1.56V). MBM5 shows Core 1 voltage as 1.56.

How bad is this? What is the 2.5V supply used for?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 09:40 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

i think its teh AGP voltage, i have one labelled as "3.3v" and its at 1.55
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 10:09 PM
OlderThanDirt's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN US
Posts: 4

I have a 3.3 volt as well - it's at 3.42.
Must be something else. It's labelled as a "Core" voltage, so I wonder if it's internal to the cpu.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2002, 12:43 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Trust me - if there was a voltage that was actually meant to be 2.5v and it was reporting 1.56v - your mainboard would not be operating.

The fact of the matter is that VIA HM is no longer a supported piece of software and using it with chipsets for which it has no support will yield odd results.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2002, 07:21 PM
OlderThanDirt's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN US
Posts: 4

That's kinda what I thought, too, but one never knows.
Do you know what the tolerances are on the voltages MBM shows as Core0 (1.79V) and Core1? (1.56V)
__________________
Epox 8K7A
XP 1500+
256M Crucial CAS 2 DDR
Seagate ST340016A 40G
Antec P303X
Radeon VE
Noname box
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem: Epox 8K7A - Please help! anthonyv EPoX MotherBoards 28 15th February, 2005 02:48 AM
Problem: 8K7A motherboard - Please help anthonyv Hardware Hacking 0 8th February, 2005 06:43 PM
8K7A ram problem ScretHate EPoX MotherBoards 6 15th December, 2002 09:46 PM
8K7A+ and PIO only problem, help!!! madmarios EPoX MotherBoards 15 19th September, 2002 02:06 AM
8K7A+ problem escape EPoX MotherBoards 3 15th May, 2002 05:46 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0