AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2004, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 23

8KRA2+: 1MB of RAM lost with BIOS 23A28

Here's another issue with 8KRA2+ BIOS kra23A28.

I have 768 MB RAM which is 768*1024 = 786'432 KB.
With BIOS kra23A28, the amount of memory displayed at boot is 785'408 KB which is exactly 1 MB less. BIOS kra23828 shows correct amount of memory, 786'432 KB.

Windows XP Task Manager (Performance tab, Physical memory group) also indicates that 1 megabyte of RAM has been lost since flashing the kra23A28 BIOS.

BIOS options Video BIOS cacheable, System BIOS cacheable and Memory Hole are set to OFF.

I have two PC2700 DIMM modules, 512 MB Hynix in memory slot 1 and 256 MB SEC in memory slot 2. I have discussed this issue with another 8KRA2+ owner who uses Hynix PC3200 in single 256 MB module. He has noticed this issue too.

Most of users don't care about those numbers displayed at boot for a short time. But I suspect you will discover the same lost megabyte if you check.
EPoX, I want my memory back!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2004, 12:57 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Quote:
EPoX, I want my memory back!
Flash back to the old BIOS. Some BIOS updates can act differently on the same make mainboard. Some revisions can act differently as well. There are two newer BIOS for my mainboard, but I stick with the one that works best for me. Newer doesn't always mean better, stick with what worked best for you.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2004, 01:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 179

I strongly suspect that the 15-16mb reserved memory has been enabled by default (used to be used for old isa card) look for it in the new bios
__________________
Thoroughbred 2400+ @ 2300Mhz, Abit NF7 2.0, 1536Mb Samsung PC2700 (DDR433)
LSI 20160 Ultra SCSI 3 HBA, 1xMaxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB w/ 8mb cache
3ware Escalade 6410 Storage Switch, Unit 0: [RAID 10] 4x120Gb IBM 7K250 w/ 8mb cache (64K Stripe)
3Com 3CR990SVR97 Server NIC, DMX 6fire 24/96 LT, Hercules Radeon 9800Pro
Windows 2000 SP4


Angels fall farthest...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2004, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 23

My friend who has similar issue has contacted three EPoX support departments in different regions. Here are the answers he has received:

Quote:
Visit the EPoX store: EPoXStore.com stocks all those hard to find motherboard accessories... BIOS chips, heatsinks, cables, and much more! Also find wireless and bluetooth products.
This one is brilliant, isn't it?

Quote:
We had duplicate same situation like you did. Our BIOS engineer will try to fix it.
Something more promising. At least, they have read his message and tried to reproduce the problem.

Quote:
We had duplicate same situation like you did. This reason is that 8/28/2003 code is old code has problem when included many devices. So, BIOS share 1 MB from extra memory to save more devices can detected and save to system main memory.

It is not a bug, and we will not return back cause no share extra
memory will has problem
Looks like this has been done intentionally. But tech support from different regions don't cooperate, and that's bad.
__________________

Last edited by Dethroner; 13th February, 2004 at 11:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 8kra2+ BIOS Dethroner EPoX MotherBoards 1 18th August, 2004 08:42 PM
8KRA2+ New Bios De_Volve EPoX MotherBoards 7 25th June, 2004 10:06 PM
8KRA2+ bios problems Andyddr EPoX MotherBoards 3 6th January, 2004 10:29 PM
8KRA2+/KRA2I new bios Vasya Pupkin EPoX MotherBoards 13 8th November, 2003 11:58 PM
Lost AGP4x setting in 8KHA bios proze EPoX MotherBoards 9 20th October, 2001 08:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0