AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2004, 09:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Posts: 1

Epox 8kta3+ Athlon XP Cpu's

Hello, i really wanna know if there's any way i can run an Athlon XP 1.8+ 2.0+ or more in this motherboard, last bios i flashed says it supports XP/MP.
As far as i know the model Epox 8kta3+PRO, can run them, this both mobos have same specs, same chipset and all.

Im sure that no one tried, but what happens if i flash my 8kta3+ with 8kta3+PRO bios? since they are all same.

Well i hope someone here can tell me the Epox 8kta3+ tweaks for running athlons XP.

Thanks a lot, TribalCult.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2004, 03:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 11

I had an 8KTA3L+ (Very similar) running an Athlon XP 2200+ (1.8Ghz) without a problem. I did have the latest BIOS installed. CPU was properly recognized. I also ran a 1700+ and a 1.2Ghz Duron (at 133*9) all without a problem.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TribalCult
Hello, i really wanna know if there's any way i can run an Athlon XP 1.8+ 2.0+ or more in this motherboard, last bios i flashed says it supports XP/MP.
As far as i know the model Epox 8kta3+PRO, can run them, this both mobos have same specs, same chipset and all.

Im sure that no one tried, but what happens if i flash my 8kta3+ with 8kta3+PRO bios? since they are all same.

Well i hope someone here can tell me the Epox 8kta3+ tweaks for running athlons XP.

Thanks a lot, TribalCult.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2004, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 15

Yep - I also have the 8kta3pro MB with the same BIOS (April 03 I think ?).

Proc is 1800+, running at 2200 Mhz or so - only a couple of Multipliers will work - using x17 at 133 Mhz at the moment (works out at really 2261 Mhz), I thnk only x9 will work as well.

Temp is ok at 42 degC, and has been constantly on since November 03.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2004, 02:54 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

EP-8KTA3+ can run .....

Athlon Thunderbird upto 1.4Ghz and
Duron Morgan or Spitfire upto 1.3GHz
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2004, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
EP-8KTA3+ can run .....

Athlon Thunderbird upto 1.4Ghz and
Duron Morgan or Spitfire upto 1.3GHz

I take it that the "pro" version is the difference then ? As the + only relates to RAID ?

I also remember asking the forum a while back about the discrepancies between older and newer versions of the CPU Suport PDF, but never got a reply - basically the older pdf said that XP2000 were suportable, whereas the newer pdf says not.

Anyway, I took the plunge and it all works fine. (don't take my word though )
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2004, 06:25 PM
FluffyChicken's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 89

Yes, but (s)he's EPOX tech support and that is the offical answer.

You can run them,
I have an 8KTA3+ and you can run the original AthlonXP 1800+ with absolutely no problems.
Make sure you but a 'Palomino' cored version (the original) as I cannot say if the T-bred cores will work.

e.g. One of these
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=29003
Of course they are not in stock so you may have to hunt around or buy secondhand

The "pro" version is actually slightly different.
__________________

Last edited by FluffyChicken; 17th February, 2004 at 10:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2004, 06:31 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

8KTA3/+ supports upto Athlon 1400
8KTA3/+Pro supports upto XP2200 Palamino / T/Bred


There may be a few Palamino supporting 8KTA3/+ (about 1,000 in existence in the open channel), but these are the exception not the rule so the rule of thumb is that they are for Athlon 1400 maximum. The marking of these supporting boards is the same as the others in terms of revision, but their northbridge attenuation in terms of capacitance and resitstance is different due to an ECN carried out in production for a reason.

Asking the question with hope one million times, or saying "maybe" with a hint of hope won't unfortunatley change the characteristics of this old fella.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2004, 10:43 PM
FluffyChicken's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 89

Well if that is true then I have been very very lucky with the Palomino CPU's I have used on the 8KTA3+. I have tried quite a few over time and all have worked no problems. I also believe all the other people I have talked to (and chatted to on the web) that have tried this have had no problem.

EDIT: sorry wrong end of stick about CPU's. you mean boards /EDIT

I do understand that EPoX has to say what you say as the chipset does not officialy support it. (and there is no reason it should have to). But I have heard of no-one having any problems runing them on this board.
a lot of motherboards with the KT133a chipset can run them.
I have one of the older revision boards 8kta3+ and it ran it perfectly even overclocked.
__________________

Last edited by FluffyChicken; 17th February, 2004 at 10:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2004, 08:45 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

It's not about the chipset - that supports the processor no matter what - the problem is the board.

How many times do I have to state this and have it repeatedly laboured ?

Please drop this and hold with the information that I'm giving which is FACT, not hypothesis.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help of Epox 8KTA3+PRO tony-cat EPoX MotherBoards 0 23rd March, 2004 01:03 PM
EPoX 8KTA3 Plus Pro 48-bit LBA Support fluff EPoX MotherBoards 0 17th November, 2003 01:29 AM
8kta3+ and athlon xp Shidash EPoX MotherBoards 9 19th March, 2003 03:26 PM
Epox Tech : 8KTA3 & XP-2000+ SimonG EPoX MotherBoards 17 6th July, 2002 06:38 PM
EPOX 8KTA3 Pro blinky EPoX MotherBoards 3 24th January, 2002 05:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0