AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2004, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 36

Need BIOS for 4PDA2+, Rev. 2.0 that enables partial PAT

I don't post on this forum much anymore as the SA at work blocked the site.

I notice on the 4PDA2+, I see no difference in unbuffered memory scores between partial PAT and disabled PAT. I'd like to see a BIOS to get partial PAT to work on this board.

I have tested both an IS7 and AI7 and the unbuffered with full and partial PAT is insane! I see 3680 unbuffed at 233, 1:1 (with 667 strap and full PAT). Compare that to just above 3700 unbuffered on the 4PDA2+ at 245, 1:1, 2-2-2-5 and full PAT. Abit rigged the BIOS so I can't get above 233 fsb.

At 289, 5:4, 2-2-2-5 and DDR460 I see 3600+ unbuffered! This is at 5:4 mind you. And I can bench 3D here. I can't come close to this bandwidth on any 875P board.

Even at 300 fsb, 3:2, 2-2-2-5 and DDR400 I see 3200 unbuffered. This is with DS sticks naturally. You can enable partial PAT on the Abit boards by running GAT at SR-Enh-A-D-D on the 800 strap. I'd really like to see partial PAT work on the 4PDA2+ to boost bandwidth at 5:4. Currently, full PAT only works at 1:1 running Expert(E-E-D). Partial PAT is Expert(A-E-A) or MAX(A-A-A), where 5:4 is available, but no bandwidth increase over disabled PAT.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2004, 10:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: North Wales UK
Posts: 50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clevor
I don't post on this forum much anymore as the SA at work blocked the site.

I notice on the 4PDA2+, I see no difference in unbuffered memory scores between partial PAT and disabled PAT. I'd like to see a BIOS to get partial PAT to work on this board.

I have tested both an IS7 and AI7 and the unbuffered with full and partial PAT is insane! I see 3680 unbuffed at 233, 1:1 (with 667 strap and full PAT). Compare that to just above 3700 unbuffered on the 4PDA2+ at 245, 1:1, 2-2-2-5 and full PAT. Abit rigged the BIOS so I can't get above 233 fsb.

At 289, 5:4, 2-2-2-5 and DDR460 I see 3600+ unbuffered! This is at 5:4 mind you. And I can bench 3D here. I can't come close to this bandwidth on any 875P board.

Even at 300 fsb, 3:2, 2-2-2-5 and DDR400 I see 3200 unbuffered. This is with DS sticks naturally. You can enable partial PAT on the Abit boards by running GAT at SR-Enh-A-D-D on the 800 strap. I'd really like to see partial PAT work on the 4PDA2+ to boost bandwidth at 5:4. Currently, full PAT only works at 1:1 running Expert(E-E-D). Partial PAT is Expert(A-E-A) or MAX(A-A-A), where 5:4 is available, but no bandwidth increase over disabled PAT.
Hi Clevor, I am sorry that I can't help you with your bios request but I hoping you can help me as you seem to be the only other person with a 4PDA2 rev 2 you have helped me in the past with my Albatron board pev 845 which is still going stong and overclocking well thanks to you, I am having temperature problems with the 4pda2+ rev 2 it runs great and have had some great results but as soon as I run any stress tests the temps rocket 30c increase then straight back down but to run any test I have to have the ACPI thermal sensor disabled or the system shuts down due to the temps rocketing any suggestios I have posted in numerous forums and this one asking for help but nothing also emailed Epox no answer at all since 6th Jan, except my appologies for using your post to highlight my problem many thanks. ps, there is one other person I know with the board same problem.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2004, 07:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 36

Hi Seren. I can answer this question since it's the weekend and I visited the site again but not likely I will visit this site again soon.

You need good cooling; I am using an Alpha8942 with Sunon 36 CFM fan (or I forget). I would suggest a digital temp probe on the CPU so you know the actual temps. I usually use one but rarely see temps above 37-40C with P4s so don't bother anymore.

I don't have any problems with thermal shutdowns, but then I have a 120 mm fan blowing over my ram and twin 50 mm fans hotglued to my Alpha shroud to blow on the mosfets . The 120 mm fan also feeds cool air to my Alpha, which I have sucking with a shroud that routes the air 90 degrees to an 80 mm fan at the back of the case. So my air runs a one-way route out.

You can bet I am stressing my system out: I just got some benches of a 2.80C at 243, 1:1, 2-2-2-5 @ 3.2 volts with full PAT where I netted 3700+ unbuffered. I compared to 250, 1:1, 2-2-2-5 with partial PAT @ 3.3 volts, where I netted 3550 unbuffered. The former beat it by 100 3DMarks. I'm running twin 512 MB XMS3500, my worse sticks even. I finally lucked out on two 300 fsb 2.40Cs and that's next. I got the same 3DMark2001 score running 243, 1:1, full PAT at 3.4 gig on the 2.80C as 300 fsb (3.6 gig), 3:2, 2-2-2-5 on an AI7.

All I can suggest is use good case cooling.

I still got my 845PEV Pro board too!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2004, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: North Wales UK
Posts: 50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clevor
Hi Seren. I can answer this question since it's the weekend and I visited the site again but not likely I will visit this site again soon.

You need good cooling; I am using an Alpha8942 with Sunon 36 CFM fan (or I forget). I would suggest a digital temp probe on the CPU so you know the actual temps. I usually use one but rarely see temps above 37-40C with P4s so don't bother anymore.

I don't have any problems with thermal shutdowns, but then I have a 120 mm fan blowing over my ram and twin 50 mm fans hotglued to my Alpha shroud to blow on the mosfets . The 120 mm fan also feeds cool air to my Alpha, which I have sucking with a shroud that routes the air 90 degrees to an 80 mm fan at the back of the case. So my air runs a one-way route out.

You can bet I am stressing my system out: I just got some benches of a 2.80C at 243, 1:1, 2-2-2-5 @ 3.2 volts with full PAT where I netted 3700+ unbuffered. I compared to 250, 1:1, 2-2-2-5 with partial PAT @ 3.3 volts, where I netted 3550 unbuffered. The former beat it by 100 3DMarks. I'm running twin 512 MB XMS3500, my worse sticks even. I finally lucked out on two 300 fsb 2.40Cs and that's next. I got the same 3DMark2001 score running 243, 1:1, full PAT at 3.4 gig on the 2.80C as 300 fsb (3.6 gig), 3:2, 2-2-2-5 on an AI7.

All I can suggest is use good case cooling.

I still got my 845PEV Pro board too!
Hi Clevor thanks for the reply, I have an Sp94 cooler and TT smart fan 4 case fans Chieftec case, the temps go up in the blink of an eye from 30c to 60c and I have tried 2 coolers same result, I am using ocz 4200 and have had it running 284 fsb (1:1) no crashes but had to have ACPI disabled to do it, do you think it's just the sensor or is the cpu getting that hot that quick, I am about to RMA the board I am getting 60c according to the Epox USDM monitor and speedfan 4.09 and MBM5 the main temp rise is when I run SANDRA memory bandwidth test and I have tried Adata 4000 corsair 3200 and now the OCZ, any thoughts or do you still think just cooling? also had another problem today went to remove the SP94 and cpu stuck to it and I only lifted lightly the socket still works is this common place???? I was alos thinking of getting an IS7 I see you have tried that any good? once again thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 51

yup got the same with 2x 512MB OCZ PC3500 Plat LE DC @ 242mhz 2-2-2-6 at 3.2v on AI7

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D...mem-unbuff.jpg
__________________

Epox 4PCA3+ rev 1.1
Shuttle AN50R
Abit AI7
Asus P4C800-E rev 1.02
Albatron PX865PE PRO2 1.02 beta bios
Abit IC7 15 bios
30GB DDRAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOS error @ boot - 4PDA2+ Jeff H EPoX MotherBoards 3 4th October, 2006 01:07 PM
Bios problems with 4PDA2+ v2.0 FearFactory EPoX MotherBoards 19 12th December, 2004 06:40 PM
EP-4PDA2+ New BIOS QNX EPoX MotherBoards 3 12th November, 2004 01:00 AM
how bout a new 4PDA2+ v2 bios? kidicarus EPoX MotherBoards 3 10th October, 2003 02:16 AM
Where can I find the latest bios for 4PDA2+? Pandur EPoX MotherBoards 3 5th July, 2003 06:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0