AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2004, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Posts: 5

8RDA3+ and Corsair XMS3200 CAS 2 does not perform right.

Pls. help me out here.

See my setup in my signature.

I dont seem to be able to get my memory higher that 200 mhz. This cant be right can it?

Right now I have it running at 2.5-3-3-8 and if I change any of the settings on the memory, the system crashes. The DIMM Vcore is 2.9 and its the same with 2.77V.

Am I missing something here??

There is alot in my CPU I think, but it seems to me that the RAM is holding me back OR?

Thanks in advance.

Great forum bye the way
__________________
Epox 8RDA3+ rev 2.1
Barton XP2500+ @ 3200+ with SLK-947(36 / 42)
2x512MB PC3200 CAS2 Corsair XMS
Sapphire AIW 9800SE @ 9800 PRO
WD 2x80 GB Special Edition in RAID 0 and 120 GB SATA Maxtor as backup
LiteON 811S DVD Burner
Pioneer Slot in DVD
Enermax 350W PSU
Windows XP SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2004, 01:52 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

My Corsair 3500 wouldn't run completely stable above 200 either.
I got some 4000 from them...now at 240 stable, same exact set up I used with the 3500. RAM is KING!

Have you tried relaxing your RAM settings and upping your voltage?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2004, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
My Corsair 3500 wouldn't run completely stable above 200 either.
I got some 4000 from them...now at 240 stable, same exact set up I used with the 3500. RAM is KING!

Have you tried relaxing your RAM settings and upping your voltage?
I am a bit unsure how DDR ram timeings work. About the voltage 2.9 V isnent that about the safest to feed these Corsair?
__________________
Epox 8RDA3+ rev 2.1
Barton XP2500+ @ 3200+ with SLK-947(36 / 42)
2x512MB PC3200 CAS2 Corsair XMS
Sapphire AIW 9800SE @ 9800 PRO
WD 2x80 GB Special Edition in RAID 0 and 120 GB SATA Maxtor as backup
LiteON 811S DVD Burner
Pioneer Slot in DVD
Enermax 350W PSU
Windows XP SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2004, 11:45 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Well the way it was explained to me, Ram's life span decreases as you add the volts, however anything up to 2.90 should last you three years or more.

Timings are really variable! Depends HUGELY on what ram you've got and what speed you running with. It also seems to vary according to your general hardware environment, MB, CPU etc.

If your going for high FSB, I'd start out with OPTIMAL then once you have you best stable O/C, try to tighten it up. Don't be surprised if you don't get far if you've pushed the FSB to it max.

Let us know how you get on!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+, Corsair XMS3200 OK so far! dabaerman EPoX MotherBoards 1 5th July, 2003 08:49 AM
Corsair XMS3200 mental AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 3rd July, 2003 10:17 AM
What memory timings to use for my corsair xms3200 cas 2 on my 8rda+? oqvist EPoX MotherBoards 3 11th February, 2003 09:57 PM
Corsair XMS3200 + Epox 8K5A2 = only 177 mhz cas2 ? cs25 EPoX MotherBoards 30 2nd October, 2002 04:52 PM
Corsair 512 DDR XMS3200 Cas2. RoadhawK EPoX MotherBoards 0 20th September, 2002 10:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0