AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2004, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Posts: 4

4pca3+ serial raid and raid at the same time

hi all,

I am new to this forum and using raid.
I have few questions want to ask.

After I enable SATA raid mode in bios, I found that the normal "CTRL-H" screen disappeared. Then, how could I enter highpoint bios to configure the highpoint IDE?

In addition, what would happen if I load a ghost image of WINXP which have previously installed on a normal IDE harddisk into a highpoint non-raid harddisk. Could it boot up successfully?

THX ALL
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2004, 05:20 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Depends on the BIOS, but a lot of times you can't have two different kinds of RAID running at the same time.

As long as you have the drivers for the Highpoint loaded on the OS when you do the image, you should be able to boot from the drive.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2004, 05:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Posts: 4

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Depends on the BIOS, but a lot of times you can't have two different kinds of RAID running at the same time.

As long as you have the drivers for the Highpoint loaded on the OS when you do the image, you should be able to boot from the drive.
thanks for your help gizmo.

May be highpoint raid would not be possible in this case for my pc. However, could those IDE devices that are being connected to highpoint be detected by the OS?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2004, 05:44 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yes, as long as they are connected to a regular IDE channel, and as long as they were all run as standalone drives, or in a RAID 1 (drive mirror).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2004, 06:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Yes, as long as they are connected to a regular IDE channel, and as long as they were all run as standalone drives, or in a RAID 1 (drive mirror).
thx
I will have a try.

Actually I should have had a try before asking, HAHA.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2004, 03:13 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Depends on how adventurous you are.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP-4PCA3+ and IAA RAID Edition Pleasure EPoX MotherBoards 3 16th April, 2004 02:20 PM
4pca3+ raid 5 problem althes EPoX MotherBoards 2 26th February, 2004 10:59 PM
4PCA3+ and SATA RAID seanus EPoX MotherBoards 6 10th February, 2004 12:49 PM
8RDA3+ Serial ATA & RAID piloteer81 EPoX MotherBoards 2 19th January, 2004 12:50 PM
4pca3+ Raid help utoman EPoX MotherBoards 2 22nd December, 2003 04:20 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0