AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2004, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Harrisburg and Susquehanna University
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to arin

Unlocking the a64...

The current athlon 64's are only multiplyer unlocked going down, we most all know this, but what about unlocked to make the multiplyers higher. Is it possible that in the future a bios modification will allow for this or would the only way possible be from shorting some of the pins (like was such with old pentium's).
Basically, is there ANY chance that these things will be unlockable, ever?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2004, 03:07 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Are you asking the same thing in a different way here?

8HDA3+ Bios upgrades?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2004, 05:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Harrisburg and Susquehanna University
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to arin

Forgot all about that one.... yes and no. I was wondering if they were goign to have a bios upgrade that would allow it. Seems like the chips are locked so I'm wondering if there is some hardware mod that will allow this if software will not.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2004, 07:27 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It will never be possible via a BIOS upgrade. The A64 chips are well and truly locked. You can of course lower the multiplier and/or raise the FSB. I overclock mine in Windows using the ClockGen program.

BTW, I like your photos, very original looking. What type of lighting do you use?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2004, 08:00 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I'm with Danrok on this one agreeing that the chips are a bum to unlock (as in it is not possible - they can only power step multipliers) and that your photography absolutely rocks.

Nice work Arin.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2004, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Harrisburg and Susquehanna University
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to arin

Poopie...

Thanks about the photography. I actually just uploaded about 20 more pictures here:
http://www.arinahnell.com/05-25-04/ <- night photos
http://www.arinahnell.com/05-26-04/ <- VW's
http://www.arinahnell.com/04-23-04/helenadance.jpg <- my girlfriend, center right, dancing.

I mainly use slide film on my 21 year old nikon fg. The night shots are about 5 mins long at f2.8. I use only moon light, ambient light around (usually none) and my vivitar 285 flash with homemade gels over it. They are all REAL photographs and not computer generated.

My goal is to make the real world look fake w/o a computer or darkroom.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2004, 02:29 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I'll take a look at the other pictures shortly - I enjoyed the others immensely.

Multiplier doesn't matter so much with Athlon 64 it seems as we can adjust many elements - Memory bus, HT frequency, HT ratio and also reduce CPU ratio - using all of these elements you will be able to overclock as well as you could possibly dream.
Attached Thumbnails
Unlocking the a64...-gettingfsb.gif  
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pci e unlocking MONKEYMAN Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 1st July, 2005 02:27 PM
unlocking 754 benighted Hardware Hacking 7 25th February, 2005 10:47 PM
unlocking Dragons Gate AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 12th April, 2002 08:45 PM
unlocking the XP buzz991 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 28th January, 2002 02:59 AM
Unlocking the XP Neptune5k AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 17th October, 2001 01:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0