AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2004, 11:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

Well iv ben mssing around wiht my new 8KDA3J and newcastle 3000+ are these any good ?

Im got a max of 2600mhz (not stable) using 1.7v on the stock cooler.

2550 or 2500mhz seems to be stable i havent tested yet. I got a max HTT speed of 280 but its wierd Windows boots @ 280HTT but the cpu is @ 1.2v and a multi of 5.

Can someone help with me this overclocking on the A64's. I want to reach 300HTT.

Also is a 3276/3276 memory benchmark on sandra @ 255HTT 212mhz 3-3-3-8-1T, good ? I cant lower the memory timmings cuss my Samsing seems to hate it. I really need some help here. Is thier some kind of bios i ca ndownload to get higher overclocks ?

More Info is here. http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...1&page=1&pp=30
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2004, 12:01 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

In all of my testing it seems that regardless of memory type, the A64 controller is most happy when doing asynchronous work to be running 3-4-4-11-1T or 3-3-3-8-1T. Lower latencies that can be handled by the memory can't necessarily be handled by the memory controller when the heat is on.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2004, 01:38 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
In all of my testing it seems that regardless of memory type, the A64 controller is most happy when doing asynchronous work to be running 3-4-4-11-1T or 3-3-3-8-1T. Lower latencies that can be handled by the memory can't necessarily be handled by the memory controller when the heat is on.
Hmm, wonder if that would let me sneak past 320? Back in a minute
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2004, 01:43 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I did 316 (133mem max) with 3-4-4-11-1T with some good stability so I think you will.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2004, 02:00 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
I did 316 (133mem max) with 3-4-4-11-1T with some good stability so I think you will.
Not letting me in now, just getting stop errors Having said that I did try to boot at 3.2 GHz first time round
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2004, 07:21 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
I did 316 (133mem max) with 3-4-4-11-1T with some good stability so I think you will.
Was that with the Nanya ram you were using? I'm not getting any stability over 290 at the moment, tried three different sets of ram too, just wondering if the cpu's objecting. MUST get the water cooling on again.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2004, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

SO should i try 3-4-4-11- 1t ? how come running a 310HTT and the emory @ 155MHZ @ 3-3-3-8-1t. I only get 2300/2300 in sisoft sandra.

I thought that Running Asynce doesnt hurt performance. With the 3-4-4-11-1t i got a max of 325HTT but my Sandra score was only 2400/2400 with 96% EFF

Btw i got 325HTT using the 4XHTT frequency, @ 1.7v for the chipset, its wierd if i try to lower the 3x which should be slower thus allowing higher overclock it gets unstable @ high HTT speeds

Here is a pic

http://residentevil33.freeservers.com/images/325htt.jpg
__________________

Last edited by CandymanCan; 3rd July, 2004 at 10:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2004, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 81

I would think using 2t would yield higher oc's and reduce performance. Many people were having trouble getting high oc's because their bios in other mobos did not allow for them to switch from 1t to 2t.

I have also never heard of the controler having any issues with tight timings. I have seen plenty of ocz eb at 3-2-2 at high speeds and bh-6/5 2-2-2 1:1 up to 300 fsb, but that was with very high vdim.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2004, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

No 2T on the CG revision cpu makes the Bandwidth Effincy drop by like 10-20% , 1t is the choice you should use.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2004, 12:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 81

In real world performance in some cases increased due to a large gain in oc stability. But you have to gain quite a bit to make up the difference, so I would assume in most cases 1t would be better.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2004, 04:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 11

i have the J version too

the best OC i have got in performance wise is..

231x10 1.7v 4x HT chipcore 1.65v 2.5-3-3-7 1T 1:1 200Mhz

my specs

8KDA3J
Amd64 3200 Claw SH7-CG
2 @ 512MB Cosair XMS3200LLPT Twin-X

i have tried 133Mhz and 166 Mhz mem with all different timing setting, 2x and 3x HT and I can not get anything stable past 232x10 232x8 it just BSOD winxp.. maybe i should reinstall windows? I didnt when i installed to new mobo and cpu.. upgraded from a nforce2 chipset.. booted right up, just reinstalled drivers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2004, 04:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

Try using 4xHTT frequency when going hgiher. I found that 3x and 2x or 1x are unstable even @ low HTT speeds.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2004, 05:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 11

nope.. that highest i got with 4x HT

on 133 was 240x8
on 166 was 238x8
on 200 was 240x8


so i guess im gonna reinstall windows.. and try from there
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2004, 07:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

Is 1.75v for the chipset to much ? I have a fan n the heatsink.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2004, 04:32 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
Was that with the Nanya ram you were using? I'm not getting any stability over 290 at the moment, tried three different sets of ram too, just wondering if the cpu's objecting. MUST get the water cooling on again.
I'm using some Hynix ES mem at the moment which is part of a cost down DDR 1 excerise for 915 / 925 chipsets - rated at 533 cas 3 but very flaky indeed.

Best Memory for A64 is Samsung originals on TCCC or TCC4 steps - anything like Corasair, Geil, OCZ etc. is asking for trouble at High memory clocks - Sammy TCCC's will do 244 straight clock on A64 with 2.8v at 3-3-3-8-1T all day long on NF3 250Gb solutions at a much better cost - rather have 1Gb of Sammy than 512Mb of fancy heatspreadered stuff. Twinmos etc also are weak due to over zealous SPD for wafer quality - only Apacer rank higher with me but I can only get that in Taiwan usually.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2004, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 284

Great results CandymanCan.
Did you notice the CPU and Northbridge temperatures you were getting.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2004, 09:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

I dunno what the chipset temps were as this board doesnt read them.. AS for the cpu the temps got to 60c thats why i went down to 2400mhz for the time being until my waterblock comes.


Also i noticed that when i take the heatsinks off it rips the cpu outa the socket. People said this was normal but one of the pins in my cpu are slightly bent now.


Btw what are these on the motherboard ? I was fealing diff spots on the board to see where the hot spots were cuss every motherboard has them. And those 4 black things i have circled are very very hot so hot my finger cant stay on them. So i added some small sinks that i had on my Mosfets on my NF7-S.

http://residentevil33.freeservers.co...123-219-02.jpg
__________________
SYSTEM 1

Cpu : A64 3000+ Desktop Newcastle CBASC "CG Rev" Watercooled 285x9 2565mhz 1.7v 4xHTT
MotherBoard : Epox EP-8KDA3J Rev 1.0
Memory : Adata HyperRam pc4200 1x512mb 1:1 285mhz 3-4-4-8-1t
Video Card : PNY 6800GT
HDD : Maxtor Ata 133 7200 40gb
PSU : Antec TruePower 550w

Last edited by CandymanCan; 5th July, 2004 at 09:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2004, 11:02 PM
Finetobe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 525

i have done some memory test on my rig.
Epox 8kda3+
Amd64 3400+ Newcastle
Ocz pc 4400 cas 2.5.4.4.8
all test is 1-1 on memory and 2.5.4.4.8 1T 2.95v 3xHT
with 512mb in dimm1 i can get 280 mhz fsb x 9 and 4300mb/s in sisoft sandra. (prime stabel)
with 1024 mb of memory in dimm1 and 2 i can get 268mhz fsb x 10 and 3990 mb/s in sisoft sandra.(prime stabel)
With 1024mb of memory in dimm 1 and 3 the system is not stabel enough to benc.
I need 9.5 on the multiplier to run the the system at 100% 280x9.5 that will be great.
if i use 6/5 (166)on the memory i can get 295 mhz fsb but only 3500 mb/s in sisoft sandra.
cpu/gpu/and chipset is on water cooling

sorry for my English.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2004, 11:44 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by CandymanCan
Btw what are these on the motherboard ? I was fealing diff spots on the board to see where the hot spots were cuss every motherboard has them.
Those are MOSFETs. They're regulating power to various parts. I'd guess that the two closest to the IDE connectors are supplying the chipset with it's power. Not sure what the ones at the back are supplying power to.

There's also another pair, presumably providing the necessary voltage for the memory next to the two capacitors in front of the RAM slots.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 12:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

Those didnt get hot so i wont bother with them, only the 4 in the pics got really hot
__________________
SYSTEM 1

Cpu : A64 3000+ Desktop Newcastle CBASC "CG Rev" Watercooled 285x9 2565mhz 1.7v 4xHTT
MotherBoard : Epox EP-8KDA3J Rev 1.0
Memory : Adata HyperRam pc4200 1x512mb 1:1 285mhz 3-4-4-8-1t
Video Card : PNY 6800GT
HDD : Maxtor Ata 133 7200 40gb
PSU : Antec TruePower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Succesfull overclock newcastle 3000+ >? the_cleaner_uk The Quiet PC 27 11th August, 2005 12:19 AM
Fun with a 8KDA3J and an A64 3200+ NewCastle... Jeff F. EPoX MotherBoards 6 11th July, 2004 09:39 PM
Just got my Ep 8KDA3J and 3000+ CG rev newcastle need some help overclocking CandymanCan AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 2nd July, 2004 11:30 PM
Got my 8KDA3J and CG rev 3000 newcastle need help in overclocking CandymanCan EPoX MotherBoards 0 2nd July, 2004 09:38 PM
Just orderd a Epox EP-8KDA3J and a 3000+ Newcastle, Have some questions CandymanCan EPoX MotherBoards 7 2nd July, 2004 09:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0